We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Connection Guesthouse
Ranked #70 of 658 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
cancun
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Connection Guest house - great location, no more than 10 minutes walk from Deak Ferenc Square metro, and on the edge of the Jewish Quarter, with lots of bars and restaurants on hand.
Don't be put off by the entrance to the building which houses the guest-house, which is through a very non-descript door on Kiraly St, and up a couple of flights of ugly stairs, but once you get to the first floor, it all comes right. The guesthouse is really the converted first floor of a building. It´s cosy, but clean, efficiently run and with friendly staff. We had room 9 to the rear of the building, which apparently was a plus, as Kiraly St is very lively at night, (at least at the weekend, when we were there) so it can be noisy. Our room was a kind of mini-loft, with a sitting area with sofa and TV, and bathroom downstairs, and the sleepting area upstairs (the bed was very comfortable). There was a kettle and mugs in the room too, as well as a mini-bar at good prices. Wifi was available throughout.
Breakfast (Eur6 p/p, not included in the room price), was good and plentiful, and Lazlo prepared eggs and coffee for us, which was a nice touch.

Budapest is a walkable city, although it pays to plan your target areas, and the Connection guest house is well located and at a good price. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the guest-house, and not facing Kiraly Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    50
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
51
47
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I have just stayed here for the second time. As someone has already written, don't be fooled by the run down exterior - that's quite a usual ex-communist country thing! Inside is stylish and spotlessly clean. The boys are so welcoming and friendly, and the convivial atmosphere spreads to the guests. Breakfast is at a communal table, continental style with a selection of hams and salamis, cheese, fruit, cereal, yoghurt etc. and they will freshly cook your eggs however you want them.

The rooms are immaculate and the showers are good. The back rooms are silent and the front rooms have thick double-glazing so the noise from the street and bars do not really bother you.

They provide a airport transfer service for €20. Well worth it as the guest house isn't the easiest place to find for the first time.

There is free wi-fi and nothing is too much trouble for them. They'll call you a taxi if you need, which is also good as there are some cowboy outfits in Budapest who can really rip you off. The location is excellent - right in the centre of Pest, near many bars and restaurants and just a short walk to the metro and bus stops.

I really cannot recommend this guest house enough. It will always be my first choice when I go to Budapest.

Room Tip: The quietest rooms are in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erasmusthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Service with a capital S
Unbelievable low prices
Perfect staff
Elegant rooms
Reasons enough for me to come back

THE people at Connection guesthouse make you feel at home from THE minute you enter their door !!!

In THE middle of Budapest

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goteed1
Level Contributor
145 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked this guest house for my first trip to Budapest and was so happy that I was able to stay here.

From the airport pick up, to the room, to the breakfasts, I was so very comfortable here and it really made my trip that much more enjoyeable.

I had Room number 8, facing Kiraly Street and a few bars, but the noise never really bothered me. The windows are very thick and if you close them, you won't be able to hear a sound. The room was huge and very well equipped and comfortable. They have a nice minibar with reasonable pricing as well.

The guesthouse is full of old charm and it's very easy to relax here. The breakfast was very good and nice way to chat with other visitors. Service was excellent and everyone who works here went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay.

I really loved the location. It's about a 15 minute walk to the city center, but the neighborhood itself is a great way to get to know the city. I got a much better feel for the city because it was easy to walk around and see how locals live.

I cannot reccommend this place highly enough (As well as Budapest itself). One of the few places I have been that I would stay again in a heart beat. Great value for what you pay. Much better than most of the Brand name hotels I have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justneedreservations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving, we were slightly concerned by the slightly run down look of the exterior - don't be fooled. Once inside it's a lovely, homely, modern and friendly place!

Helpful and friendly staff, nice room, free wifi and nice breakfast (although you have to pay little extra for it)

Overall, a lovely stay :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Overall, really excellent experience here. It's in the trendier part of the city and alot of the tours I did were in walking distance to the guesthouse. Close to Andrassy street which has alot of nice restaurants. Also close to alot of the gay venues. Good thing about this place is that you are allowed to have overnight guests but they have to give their ID to be photocopied at reception is a a pretty good deal (and safer for you). Good gay club is Alter Ego. I heard that Action Bar and Coxx are sex clubs. Not a huge gay scene but decent. Room was really nice...super clean and brand new looking shower. Don't be fooled by the outside which looks rundown...very modern and homely inside. Walking up the steps in the building makes you feel like a local that owns an authentic Hungarian apartment. Only negative was that there was no AC but a little fan. Apparently, the weather was extraordinarily hotter than usual so I picked bad days to go.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room not directly facing Kiraly street...very noisy at night no matter what day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dude_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenzano, Italy
Level Contributor
241 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

how to reach connection guesthouse:
this hotel is in an excellent position: you can reach it in different ways:
nyugati + tram 4/6 (2 stops) + trolleybus 70/78 1 stop - Akácfa utca - (taking both to the flight I arrived at nyugati in 5 net minutes)
(or nyugati + tram 4/6 + 450meters)
or underground with change at deak ferenk ter + red Underground, stop Opera (+250m)
or from the stop MM2 -kossuth lahos ter- trolleybus 70/78 (5 stops and 6 minutes)
the trolleybus 78 also connects the station of kelety (in the opposite sense)
or from deak ferenk ter , by foot, walking along kyrali utca, in about 10' minutes


to visit nearby:
you cannot miss the Opera (booking from 500huf, less than 2 euros)
-Music Academy, Liszt Ferenc tér 8 (third street on the left from kyrali utca)

the panziò has about ten rooms, two toward the courtyard (I believe the room n° 3 and 4), only 2 have shared facilities bath (the room n° 1 and 2), only a single room (number 5)

my room was very clean, including bathroom

you can entering in hotel after having crossed the main entrance (you need to type 24 + key and wait for the answer to the intercom),
I found that the courtyard was decadent and chilling and needs a restoration, but when i made 3 sweet flights of staircases (41 steps in total) you can enter in another world: colored, nice, of good taste and in the hall there is also a computer (in use for customers).

as has been said is really noisy , but nothing of unbearable

the reception was lovely, very kind and helpful and smiling the person who welcomed me and said he was waiting for me (although I rested very little time in the room)

the room is medium-sized, with a bed a little lower than usual (from the floor), with a very good mattress, the set of sheets colored, pillows-extra are available, BUT sheet- above are rough: that's why I am the princess on the pea! (besides this, all is ok)
there is also a little iron table ( that move a little), a little comfortable armchair , a chest of drawers with over a tv (no RAI), a closet with full-length mirror, a fridge-bar, safe (in my room, n° 6), 2 wide windows, with shutters, curtains, high curtain in red microfiber, high ceiling, pleasant paintings on the walls, painting in contrast but pleasant, floor in cured wooden-parquet, a carpet

Bathroom is small-sized but very well arranged, with hair-dryer, the heat-towels, a cabinet under the sink. No problem with hot water
You can open principal door with combination: 24 + key + numbers on your key
there are 2 keys: one for the income door (to turn to right and left many times IF the key make whims) and another for your room

there are several intermediaries who propose the structure, prices are similar, but there are different conditions of cancellation.
I Never was in a hostel, but this seems to be a B&B

nearby trophea etterem (self-service open till midnight) and kyrali cafè, with good ice-creams, cakes and expresso

recommendable? Yes!!!

if i was useful for you.. push Yes

PS la recensione in italiano è ritrovabile su canalblog (fuscomarina) : se volete piu' notizie scrivetemi pure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fuscomarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Broadway Panzio
Broadway Panzio
#34 of 188 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Terézváros
Brody Apartments
Brody Apartments
#19 of 658 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Terézváros
Aboriginal Budapest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#50 of 658 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Terézváros
King Apartments Budapest
King Apartments Budapest
#73 of 658 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Connection Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Connection Guesthouse

Property: Connection Guesthouse
Address: Kiraly utca 41 | Doorbell 24, Budapest 1077, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 658 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Connection Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay friendly accommodation in the heart of Budapest, in walking distance to everything worth visiting. Services include breakfast, private bathroom, refrigerator, cable TV, free internet, 24 hrs reception, safety box and many more. All major credit cards accepted. All taxes included, no hidden extra fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Connection Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing