We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Budapest
Ranked #100 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Value and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

After reading some of the reviews, I was a little bit wary of the noise that some reviewers have mentioned. Although there is some noise it didn't seem to start until after 8am so unless you have had a heavy night it shouldn't cause too many problems. It's a typical European 'Boutique' hotel as in they try to be trendy but also on the small side which is not what 'Boutique' means in say Bangkok on the size of the room. The shower was great, and the room was perfectly clean. Breakfast was typically continental and was available until 10.30 during the week and later still on the weekends. The staff were fine and provided assistance when my wife twisted her ankle. The city is undergoing a lot of work with lots of the roads being dug up including outside the hotel though it shouldn't put you off. A few people have mentioned the For Sale Pub for drinks, the pub is fine and do a fine Ghoulash but is quite expensive it's better to head to Raday St where things are cheaper, a 0.5l beer in Paris, Texas for example is 280 HUF (sun, mon & tues) compared to 700 HUF in FSP. But definitely give a cafe bar on the bottom of Vaci a miss, it's on the left hand side if your going from the market hall it's called something like 'Testi Cafe' and they pray on tourists, if you do wander in insist on checking the menu before you order. You will after ask for a menu as they know you'll probably walk out if you knew their prices and they won't be left on the tables.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waldy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    287
    119
    32
    21
See reviews for
49
377
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

I'm a little hard of hearing and yet, this place is driving me nuts with all the noise. It started last night when I checked in. At three in the morning my neighbors were having a great time and I wanted to sleep. I called down to the friendly staff and complained. Their reply was a bit odd. "I'll try." The noise stopped, but this morning, the noise won't end and it's coming from all directions.

The staff has been very friendly and I've had no complaints about the amenities

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pinkbubblebath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

I just spent one week at the Hotel Zara. After reading reviews, I was a bit worried.......but not for too long. I had no problem with noise, but my room was located at the end of the hallway by the elevator on the 3rd floor. 307 to be exact. The room was small, but incredibly clean. If you are only going to be sleeping in the room, it is absolutely fine. The bed and the huge pillows were extemely comfortable. The breakfast was more than Ok......there was a variety of fresh fruit, breads, bagels, cold cuts, yoghurt, pastries, cereals, juices plus fresh coffee, expresso or cappacino. There were always tables available as well.
The staff were wonderful!!! The front desk staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, always saying hello and happy to give recommendations for places to eat or directions on how to get to places. The hotel is situated around the corner from Vaci Utca, a cool place to walk and shop but not the greatest place for meals. It is a two minute walk to the Danube and the Szabadsag bridge. The Central Market Hall is less than a minute walk. Buses and the Metro are close by and make all of Budapest easily accessible from the hotel.
I would recommend the Hotel Zara for anyone looking for a small, friendly, clean hotel but watch the prices. I got a great deal from hotels.ca which was far less than the hotels online prices.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

We stayed here for four nights after reading reviews and was not dissappointed.Rooms are small but lots to do in Budapest so no need to spend time in your room.It is in a great location just off the main tourist street.We walked to all the main attractions nothing was very far away. Breakfast was very good and staff there to assist you but not in your face even when breakfast should be finished.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

This was our first trip to Budapest. Having stayed in many European cities the Zara Hotel is top of the list. From checking in we were made most welcome and the staff were extremely polite and courteous. Our room was tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. We also noticed a lot of attention had been paid to small details. There was a very nice atmosphere throughout and all praise to the staff. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danubeLondonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

The service at Zara was absolutely superb from checking in to checking out. The room was really nicely decorated, if a little on the small side. Breakfast was good and the location couldn't be faulted . BUT the walls are indeed very thin and you can hear absolutely everything through them and through the ceiling from the floor above it seems.

Also (and this is of course not the hotel's fault!) there is building work going on next door which started at 6.30AM!!! on a Thursday morning- not great for sleeping in.

I would recommend Zara and would stay there again but noise could be a big problem depending on who was next door

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

Great location, very nice little boutique hotel but definitely not for you if you're a light sleeper and I'm not one myself. While I cannot fault the hotel and it's amenities and superb location, it's walls are paper thin. I was woken up one night by the sound of our neighbour actually using their loo and internal doors slam shut, VERY annoying when the hotel is of such a great standard and the service top notch. Being able to rest and recouperate whilst travelling is such an important component to my personal experience, I'll sadly not be revisiting this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliaAmosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#48 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#50 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#82 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,165 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#59 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Budapest

Property: Boutique Hotel Budapest
Address: So utca 6, Budapest 1056, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boutique Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Budapest Budapest**** is probably the best design hotel in Budapest. Free Wi-Fi in all rooms!! The hotel is located in the heart of Budapest, a few meters from Vaci utca, in the midst of the city's best bars, restaurants, most exclusive shops, a few steps from the Central Market Hall, Gellert Thermal Bath and the Danube Cruise Terminal. All 74 rooms reflect the very popular, modern yet elegant style of international boutique hotels. All rooms were renovated during spring 2011 and now feature hardwood floor/parquette and design wallpaper. The newly opened ARAZ Bistro provides full (hot/cold) buffet breakfast in the morning, delicious, international lunch and dinner during daytime and evenings with friendly prices, and cocktails after dark. Underground parking is available, must be booked in advance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing