We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No go area”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #251 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
hemel hempstead
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No go area”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Even the locals don't go out in this area at night. Bed was 50mm thick piece of foam on a wooden box. AC if you paid for it. Rooms on the top floor suffer from a plastic roof which if it rains sounds like you are in a caravan. Shower so small I could not stand up properly. No bracket to hold the shower head.

No cover on the "mattress" cleaning services not up to standard I ended up wth a case of scabies.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    43
    73
    32
    32
See reviews for
23
47
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Atlantic and we could not get out of there fast enough. The neighborhood is terrible. Urine stains all over the sidewalks and the building looking out of our window looked like it had been through WWII. There is a diningroom of sorts, but they do not serve dinner to guests who did not include it in their package. They did not have any ice available at all. The inside of the hotel looks like a former prison with a large cavernous open area in the middle looking down upon the dining area and each floor has prison-like railings all around it so that every sound is heard on every floor at all hours. Doors have old fashioned keys that do not open properly. The bathroom was equipped with towels that were literally shredded. The carpets in the hallways and in the rooms are filthy. A very bad experience all the way around.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Hungary
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

A very good hotel if you're on a budget. Clean and comfortable rooms and friendly staff. The hotel is not in the best area of town, but there's no problem with it either. It is relatively close to the Keleti train station and a few minutes walk to Blaha Lujza Ter, a main intersection with lots of restaurants, shops, metro station and trams. There is one thing to keep in mind which they do NOT mention in any of their ads: if you would like air conditioning in your room, they charge 10 EURO per day! I've never run into that before in Budapest. While their rates are somewhat less than some other hotels of their level, for the small difference in price you can stay in a 4 star hotel in Budapest and their rates include air conditioning. It seems this hotel should at least mention in their advertising that air conditioning in your room will cost extra.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank penz1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our European honeymoon. The staff was very pleasant at the front desk, and English speaking. They were very helpful with giving us directions, booking cabs, and suggesting attractions. And the truly kind part was we had an early morning departure and the staff packed us a little snack for takeaway since we'd be missing breakfast. The customer service is the redeeming quality of this hotel.

The room was neat and clean, but the breakfast left much to be desired. This was our fifth city in Europe, so we were very used to the typical European breakfast. In Europe you can always count on a good cup of espresso--this place served something more like instant mud coffee. There was bread and cold cuts, but the cold cuts were questionable. We ate the breakfast one morning and opted out the other days. You're better off walking two doors down to the little bread shop and stopping in for a bite.

As for the neighborhood, I'm no snob, but even the cab driver told us not to walk around at night here. We were so uneasy that we did not even take the tram that ran in front of the hotel and opted to take a cab EVERYWHERE!

If you are on a budget, you'll get what you pay for with the room--and just travel by Tram during the day and cab it at night. . .Nothing happened to us, no mugging. . .just consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eljayen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I stayed at Atlantic hotel for a week with with two of my med school classmates . We had initially intended to stay for five days but we extened our stay for two more days because of how we felt at home here.

The attendants at the reception are extremely nice and they help you with everything you could possibly imagine. I would like to make a special mention about one of the attendants Attila Buzas who was always there for us with a smile and with the best tips for discovering the city.

I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThakurMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberal, Kansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

The front desk staff at this hotel are awesome. They deserve 6 stars. Unfortunately the location is not so good. It is only a ten minute walk to the edge of the city center, but a scary walk at night. Saw several disturbing incidents. The hotel is clean and you can pay for ac.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alimll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

My family of 4 just spent Easter weekend at the Atlantic in Budapest- we were pleased overall. We found it as part of a vacation package through a reputable company, and it was one of the lowest price choices. Though the neighborhood is a bit run down, the hotel itself is well kept up and the rooms were more spacious than the Ibis in Prague. Bathrooms were fine with good hot showers! The location is excellent for touring- tramline right out the hotel door, or you can walk a few blocks up to a metro station. We felt safe walking at night- the Hungarians are out late, too! There is offstreet parking for a fee, which we used. The hotel staff is extremely nice and helpful- I would rate the service a 4, the amenities a 3.5, and the breakfast a 3. If you go, might be best to ask for a room away from the street as the Gypsy Music Club opposite the hotel was going strong till the wee hours! Be sure to try the Husvar restaurant- within walking distance, and very nice for local food.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buntermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Atlas City Hotel
#244 of 342 in Budapest
479 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#159 of 342 in Budapest
439 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#128 of 342 in Budapest
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#164 of 342 in Budapest
609 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#205 of 342 in Budapest
339 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#137 of 342 in Budapest
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Nepszinhaz utca 55, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing