We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #25 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had been offered a present of a weekend in Budapest, the highlight being a stay in the cool Buddha Bar hotel. But on arriving there, we found out that our room was suffering from a problem and so was unavailable and it was only because the management of the Buddha Bar chose this hotel that we ended up staying there. While we generally do indeed prefer the design-led hotels like the Buddha Bar, we ended up having an excellent stay at the Boscolo. It is completely over the top in its decoration with lots of gilded and painted ceilings, panelled rooms, marble in the lift and so on-not really our scene but it all worked so well that we did not regret missing out on the Buddha Bar at all. The staff were uniformly excellent, charming and helpful, remembering our names almost immediately and trying their best (in excellent English) to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Typical of the service was their sending a maintenance man to sort out our air conditioning at 2000 on a Saturday evening. Not many places would do that.

We ate a few times in the hotel, both in the café and the main restaurant. The meal in the latter was quite exceptional, equal to the best on offer in London, eg, Petrus where we ate earlier this month, but at half the price. The dishes were modern takes on traditional Hungarian dishes and were accompanied by the sommelier's selection of local wines.

The café also was lovely. We ate fresh home pasta for lunch and found it just right.

So, do not be put off by the grand scale of the hotel, it is a delight.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest 'Waterlawyer',

I am pleased to read that you had a memorable stay in Boscolo Budapest. I learned from your review that you were booked originally somewhere else but I hope we were able to prove our service minded attitude and upon your next visit to Budapest, Boscolo will be your first choice.
Let me thank your kind review and please rest assured that you are always welcome in our hotel.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,519 - 1,525 of 3,570 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is located in an historical, eclectic style building, built in the late 19th century. It is close to the metro station, and just in front of the tram stop. Connections with any part of the city are easy, fast, and safe. Breakfast is served in the famous and beautiful “New York Café”, with well restored, painted beautiful ceilings and furniture. The hospitality at the reception was great: very kind personnel, open in answering all our questions, good while suggesting restaurants. We have had an upgraded room: ample, silent, equipped with shower and bath. The quality of the breakfast is on line with similar class hotels, the internal, covered, court is a good place where to relax while listening to the piano music. Our only remarks were related to the spa facilities – probably too small. Also, the new year’s dinner served at New York cafè, despite the quality was very good, ended too early (10 pm). Despite these comments, I really recommend this Boscolo Hotel as an excellent stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baronesiciliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest 'Baronesiciliano',

thank you for choosing Boscolo Budapest Autograph Collection. I was delighted to read that our hotel's ambiance has won over you and our front office team proved to be a great assistance for you finding good places to go. I am sorry to see that the size of our spa area did not live up to your expectations nevertheless I hope you spent there a relaxing time.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The buildling is a wonderful place by itself, peaceful musical atmosphere and sophisticated cousine bring you a hundred years back.
Amazing hotel which can anyone disregard of a sort of a trip enjoy; it will be one of the many impressions about Budapest which you take away with you.

It is not expensive for a moment in a palace, so, it definitely worths its money (even less expensive than I would consider for such a place).

Room Tip: Some rooms are in the building inside the yard which are connected to the main building by corridors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valeria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear Valued Guest 'ValeriaDeriy',

thank you for your time writing this really kind review. Let me thank your praising words, it is my pleasure to read that you really enjoyed your visit in Boscolo Budapest. I look forward to welcoming you back anytime.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We have an amazing time at this hotel.
We were in the new part in the back.
But the main one is amazing as well, it's old but we can still feel the magic coming from this building.
It has a great place in Budapest, it's near everything. We pretty much walked the whole time.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ResponsableFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest 'Lisa M',

thank you for booking Boscolo Budapest and thank you for your time writing your review. I am happy to read that you were amazed by our hotel and you had a great time here in Budapest. Your sincere words are greatly appreciated. I look forward to your next visit with us.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If I ever come back to Budapest will stay only in Boscolo! When I just entered the hotel I was amazed by the luxury interior and staff friendliness. They made me feel welcome and provided with all necessary information about the hotel and local area. The room was spacious, light and clean, with a big bathroom and beautiful lustre :)
Breakfast was for extra charge but it's worthy as it's held in New York Caffe, one of the most trendy places in Budapest.
I also had a chance to enjoy spa with it's swimming pool and sauna. Would also recommend to take some spa treatment as the prices are reasonable and the treatment is great.
Getting around: metro station is just across the street. I took a ticket for 3 days but never used it, you can reach everything by foot. It's only 20 min walk from the Hotel to Danube.

I didn't want to leave this beautiful city...mostly because of the hotel:))

Take a chance and enjoy it!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Valued Guest 'Alexandra495',

thank you very much for your really kind review. It is always my pleasure to read such comments from our satisfied guests. Thank you for your patronage, your kind words on our team and service are highly appreciated.
I hope we can welcome you back in Boscolo Budapest Autograph Collection soon!

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. From the moment we arrived we experienced outstanding service. I had requested them for an upgrade of the room since we were travelling for our honeymoon. On arrival, I was told that we had already been upgraded. So it was a great start after the long hours of travelling.
We were then taken to our room. The room itself was very large and spread across nicely, the bed was supremely comfortable and the bathroom was also very spacious.
The staff was friendly and very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. They also gave us some great recommendations of places and restaurants, cafes, bars to visit since it was the first time for us in Budapest.
The buffet breakfast served at the New York Cafe is one of the most beautiful cafes one will come across the globe. Its opulence is what really stands out. The hop on - hop off buses also stop at the hotel to show the tourists this absolutely magnificient cafe. It also offers outstanding choice and is the perfect way to start your day. We loved this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jalotatushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest 'jalotatushar',

thank you for staying with us in Boscolo Budapest Autograph Collection. I am delighted to see that you really enjoyed your time spent in our hotel. I am pleased to read that our team has lived up to your expectations and you saved nice memories about your trip to Budapest.
Your kind return to Boscolo is always welcome!

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Realised we should have stayed at the Boscolo as we spent three or four days visiting the hotel where relatives had flown into Budapest for a wedding...the reception was actually held in the New York Cafe. This was a truly splendid location for the reception and we had chance to sample the food on other occasions as well.
Hotel has a great atmosphere and the ambience and decor in the NY Cafe is probably one of the best in Budapest. Feedback from our relatives regarding the rooms was also positive so without doubt we will stay here at the Boscolo next time in Budapest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest 'ExpatKL88',

thank you for your time writing this review about your experiences. I am happy to read that you had a nice time in Boscolo Budapest and you decided to stay with us upon your return to Budapest.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 335 in Budapest
7,440 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 335 in Budapest
4,469 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 335 in Budapest
4,938 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $136 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is one of the most grand luxury hotels in Budapest, Hungary. It offers proximity to some of the Budapest area' best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue, and Vaci Utca. We invite you to stay with us and visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa, and impeccable restaurants during your visit to Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing