We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

As a family of 4 we stayed in the Boscolo luxury Residence. It was very clean and modern and had all we needed for the week. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. it was quiet and very well located in the centre of Budapest. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbi r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,424
    672
    201
    69
    49
See reviews for
450
1,769
118
365
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

First of all let my start by telling you that the hotel's common areas are stunning and breathtaking. I stay regularly in five star hotels all over the world and the Boscolo's lobby is truly one of the best I've seen. The New York Café is decked out beautifully and appears almost palatial. The staff are very friendly and obliging. Most requests were handled without a problem.

Now for the bad part -

1) We had two rooms on two separate floors. In one of the rooms the WIFI was non existent, and would not pick up the signal. I had to run off my 3G roaming which will probably cost more that $1000 USD. In the second room, the WIFI was very patchy and at times did not work at all. The hotel's response was a "shrugged shoulders" kind; they were not particularly phased that whilst there I could barely attend to my business commitments and had to routinely sit in the lobby to get the snippets of work I had to do done.

2) Both the rooms were quite dirty. The carpet in both rooms had stains. In one room, there appeared to be menstrual stains on the mattress and we ended up having to put towels down on the mattress. The second room had dirty carpet again, mouldy fittings and what looked like permanent marker on the bedhead which had been removed (unsuccessfully.) The walls also had marks on them. This we thought was unacceptable for a hotel of the star rating and cost of the Boscolo. The sheets were of very basic quality and very thin. There was no mattress protector.

3) We did ask for more teabags in one of the rooms. The first time, we were given two extra teabags by the staff, the second time it was refused and we were suggested to buy more tea through room service. This looked like they were trying to avoid additional expense and frankly every other hotel I've stayed in wouldn't have a problem with supplying a virtually unlimited supply of teabags!

Budapest is a beautiful city and the hotel is positioned well - in my opinion probably not as well positioned as the Four Seasons, but well enough. The staff were friendly, and the lobby/concierge/bellman were all eager to help. The ambience at the New York Café is however better than the food. Room service just average.

Room Tip: One of our rooms had a balcony facing the city. This was pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hari M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Hari M',

Thank you very much for your valued feedback regarding your stay with us. It's my pleasure to see that the building of Boscolo Budapest has won over you and that you consider our staff friendly and helpful.
Please accept my sincere apologizes for the temporarily weaker signal of our complimentary wifi internet, I'm really sorry it caused inconveniences for you. At Boscolo Budapest we consider our guests' comfort as the highest priority thus beside the complimentary wifi connection we provide high speed cable internet in all our guest and meeting rooms, different complimentary wifi networks in our lobby and the New York Cafe and the complimentary use of our Business Center equipped with computers, printers, and cabled & wifi internet as well.
I appreciate you feedback also about the housekeeping issues, I would kindly like to assure you we investigated the problems you mentioned.

I'm glad to see that you liked Budapest and our staff was a good assistance for you and I hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back and provide a stay that lives up to all expectations.

Certainly I'd be delighted to discuss the mentioned issues thoroughly, please feel free to contact me via guest.relation@budapest.boscolo.com.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRAGUE
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This hotel is very nice build, exterior design is real amazing - piece of art. Lobby and check-in is fast and friendly, wallet parking perfect. The New York Cafe which is used as breakfast room for guest is great designed and bring very nice start for every day. The variety of food by breakfast is good but still can be better - for example there is no offer of boiled eggs or semi cooked eggs - which should be in this 5 star hotel. Also missing special food for small children (9-months). Staff is very friendly and work fast. For afternoon offer the New York Cafe real tasty cakes and wide variety of excellent coffee. The prices are reasonable. Rooms and Bathrooms are large. In some rooms is problem with "outside noise and noise from next room" - probably some walls are not good isolated. The bed pillows are extremely hard - but per request the hotel change for soft pillows. Spa with pool is nice relaxation after full day walking through the city. We travel around the world in 4, 5 star and superior hotels and have over 15 years experience. We found in this hotel by our 3 days stay only 2 real negative aspects - one the noise in room - the duty manager immediately change our room. The second negative aspect is the housekeeping - every day was something missing in the bathroom (towels medium size, bath-rope...glass was not clean). Anyway we would full recommend this hotel and hope the housekeeping would be in future better working...

Room Tip: After noise in our room in 3rd floor (noise from outside mixed with noise from next room where was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CATALONIA08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is professional and friendly. The building's exterior, the atrium lobby, and the New York Cafe, where breakfast is served, make you feel like you're staying in a palace. The breakfast buffet is phenomenal! The rooms are good sized, well equipped, clean, and modern. Ditto for the bathrooms. The hotel is also very conveniently located. The trolley/metro is a block away and can take you down to the Elizabeth Bridge, the main train station, Keleti, is an easy walk, the Hop On / Hop Off bus stops at the hotel, and there is a great gyro place and bakery right across the street! Also, a good currency exchange place is directly across the street. You won't be disappointed! Köszönöm!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is in a good location. Currency exchange across the street had the best rates. Hop on Hop Off stops at front door of hotel. Hotel is beautiful; rooms are comfortable, clean, top notch; bathrooms are large and modern. We had breakfast included with our room rate. Buffet breakfast every morning was fabulous--breads, meats, sausage, bacon, eggs, pastry, desserts, cereals, homemade yogurt and jams, fresh fruit....

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank positanobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'positanobabe',

Thank you very much for your kind feedback about your stay with us at Boscolo Budapest. I"m happy that our services lived up to your expectations and I'm delighted that our breakfast granted a great start for your days.

Your kind recommending us is highly appreciated.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a superior room. The hotel is stunning to look at and our room was large and extremely comfortable. The New York Cafe is advertised as the most beautiful cafe in the world and it looks amazing. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is served below the main cafe but still in beautiful surroundings. The breakfast selection is very good.

The room was excellent with a huge bed which was really comfortable. There is free wifi which is useful. There is some noise from trams in the street but it is the middle of a capital city and there is bound to be some background noise.

Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'AMTLondon',

Thank you for your kind words about your stay with us at Boscolo Budapest., I'm delighted to see that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and we are glad to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Budapest again.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limassol
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Boscolo is a beautiful hotel! It is conveniently located near the Metro station and next to one of the stops of the hop on, hop off bus which is a great way to see the city. The hotel staff are excellent, always ready to give information and service with a smile. We had a good-sized room, a comfortable bed, and a large well-equipped bathroom. In other words - definitely the place to stay when in Budapest.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandyLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'sandyLimassol',

Thank you very much for staying with us at Boscolo Budapest and thank you very much for your kind feedback.
I'm delighted to see that you had a nice time with us and that our staff could provide an excellent experience.

With kind regards,
Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
7,158 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,383 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#19 of 334 in Budapest
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11., Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#26 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is one of the most grand luxury hotels in Budapest, Hungary. It offers proximity to some of the Budapest area' best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue, and Vaci Utca. We invite you to stay with us and visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa, and impeccable restaurants during your visit to Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing