We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #24 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel has the wow factor. So did the service. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a junior suite - a wonderful surprise and a beautiful suite. There was an offer on the weekend package for this trip also, and upon checking in, we were given a voucher for special rate on a spa treatment. My partner and I each had a massage, and Susan, the masseuse was excellent, especially as she was due to finish work for the day, but stayed for another 3 hours to oblige. Very much appreciated and brilliant massage.
In the evening, I attended a hen do in the incredibly beautiful NewYork Cafe - what a stunning setting! The food was generally good, but many of us felt it was luke warm and 1 or 2 sent theirs back. My partner ordered room service, a burger, which was also luke warm and he found it disappointing. On this basis, we did not order the breakfast. That said, the bride and groom, who were also staying at the hotel enjoyed their New York Breakfast, which was huge.
We had free use of the spa although the pool was not working all weekend, due to maintenance and on the monday, the sauna was not on. All in all, a fabulous hotel, but perhaps they should look at the food service ... and ensure general spa facilties are available? I would still recommend this hotel though, and check out other Boscolo hotels based on the standard of this one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orchidangel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,983
    548
    152
    51
    32
See reviews for
359
1,427
94
309
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed at the Boscolo for 6 nights for our Honeymoon and we could not fault anything. We were upgraded to a superior room and given complimentary cake on arrival which was a really nice touch.
the room was very spacious and made staying for 6 nights incredibly easy. as other reviews have mentioned the hotel is on a very busy main road but you can hardly hear anything and the beds are so comfy and big.
it was great to have spa facilities to use daily which was included in the price of the stay. we treated ourselves to a treatment offer which was 75min and around £40 . it was very relaxing and reasonably priced.
the breakfasts were fantastic buffet breakfast with everything you could possibly want including bottles of prosecco. one morning there was a live string quartet playing which was amazing.
the hotel itself is incredible - like many other reviews you do have to see it yourself to believe it. the first night we ate in the New York cafe - the food was lovely and not too expensive considering. they also bring you fresh homemade bread and butter to the table which was very tasty. we also had a cocktail one night in the bar - very cool decor with a pianist playing requests. however we only had the one cocktail here as they were about £10 each and there are much cheaper places in Budapest to drink.
the hotel staff were very friendly and knowledgeable - much better than the staff at the tourist info.
we are so glad we decided to stay here for our honeymoon - we felt fantastic in this grand hotel it was like being on the Titanic.
we also loved Budapest - there was so much to see and do and we had plenty of time to enjoy the sights at a leisurely pace. i would definitely recommend going to a thermal spa - we went to Szechenyi baths and it was fabulous.
I will definitely be thinking of coming back here for our Anniversary

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turtles0up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This must be one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. The central courtyard is stunning: several floors of balconied corridors looking down on a beautiful lounge where there is always a live and tasteful pianist. The cafe - famous as Budapest's New York cafe - is one of the most beautiful landmarks in the country, covered in gilt and painting with artfully mirrored tables reflecting the ceiling paintings. The bar is great, the service is excellent and unobtrusive. The bedrooms are incredibly quiet - we were right at the front (with a balcony unfortunately under-used because of the cold) and heard no traffic. Lovely linens and toiletries. Really quite a gem. Many Budapest hotels are on the river but none of them match the historic luxury of this hotel.

Room Tip: In the summer, having a balcony might be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for my birthday. For 4 days I had the best time ever. The hotel is very beautiful, and the reception area has to be seen to be believed. I could have sat there all day people watching.

When we first arrived Tamas the person dealing with us, who had excellent English, greeted us like old friends, He even got the pronunciation of my surname correctly. He had upgraded us to a superior room as it was my birthday, and proudly took us to it, and showed us around it. He had even organised a cake. Great service.

The room was massive, the bed was even bigger, and the bathroom was magnificent. What a bath. Can I say that the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in, and a nice touch is they turn it down in the evening and put a chocolate on your pillow. The housekeeping staff are very discreet, and pleasant when you see them, always smiling and saying hello.

In the evening when we went out for a meal and a walk around, it was raining so the hotel supplied us with umbrellas. They also gave us a map and showed us a number of places to visit. They recommended a restaurant (Bohemia) where we could eat authentic Hungarian fare.

We had a drink in the New York Cafe before we left. An absolutely beautiful place to chill out. The staff were attentive, but not overbearing. It was quite busy, and although a bit expensive, not prohibitively so. We didn't get a chance to eat there but I am pretty sure the food would have been of a similar standard to the rest of the Hotel.

I went to the spa one evening when we had returned early from sightseeing. It has a weird set up with a reception area in the middle, and corridors with subdued blue lighting spiraling out like a wagon wheel. It was easy to get a little disoriented but soon I found the Sauna and Steam Room. Unfortunately the pool was being renovated so I wasn't able to see it. But if you wanted to use a pool the hotel had organised one very close to the hotel and you just had to contact reception. The spa was very relaxing and not too busy considering how many people were staying in the hotel. Again, service was perfect with a receptionist giving you a towel and a locker key. She also gave me directions to the Sauna. If I was being critical, the signs could have been more obvious.

The weather in Budapest was not great, and a lot of things were closed on the Friday (National Holiday) and on the Monday, our last day. But that did not spoil our trip. It gives us an excuse to return to see the attractions we missed this time round.

The last day arrived too quickly as usual. When we checked out we were able to leave our luggage as our flight was later in the evening. We did a bit more sightseeing and then returned to the Boscolo. We went back up to reception to order a taxi to come in an hours time. Tamas, who we had not seen the whole holiday, was on duty, and even remembered our name. He ordered a taxi for us, and told us he would let us know when it arrived.

We sat about for an hour watching the world go by, and then we got up to get the cases. Coincidently, the taxi arrived at the same time and we loaded up the cases and had to say goodbye.

I can safely say that this was one of the best trips I have ever taken and a lot of it is down to the Hotel and its staff. Take a bow. You have done the Boscolo name proud, and I would recommend staying here if you are in Budapest, or any of the other Boscolo hotels that are in other European cities.

My last comment must go to my wife. Thanks for the best present ever. I dont think I will be able to top it, but we will have fun trying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TommyMcAree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Nicest hotel I have stayed in to date! Visited in February for a long weekend with friends.

Fantastic room, spa facilities, customer service and lovely atmosphere and cocktails in the New York cafe restaurant.

Stunning architecture.

Five stars.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yorkshirefoodie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peskykid
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for my birthday. The New York cafe area (where you also have breakfast) is one of the most impressive and beautiful locations I've ever eaten in.

Personally we found the service to be very accommodating and helpful, the bar staff were friendly - we especially liked the cocktails. The room was lovely, located on the top floor corner with a balcony overlooking the rooftops. (By the way the bed was huge and very, very comfortable!)

I stay in a lot of Marriot hotels due to work and this is now one of my favourites - I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peskykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel the staff were so friendly and explained the different things that were available and the best way to get around the city the hotel room was lovely and Spacious. As the weather was bad when we arrived we went to the spa and relaxed in the pool which was very refreshing after travelling. We later went down to the hotel bar and decided to eat in the hotel in the restaurant it was a dining experience the staff were so attentive and explained every dish and various wine the food was cooked to perfection the service was excellent and the atmosphere lovely. I would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing luxury break

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joanLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#14 of 335 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 6,077 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#5 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Address: Erzsebet krt. 9 - 11, Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary New York Palace is the rethinking of the original edifice built in 1894 by the creative ideas of Maurizio Papiri and Ádám Tihanyi D. The building has an eclectic style relying on the Italian renaissance and baroque however modern contemporary interior design has gained ground in the formation of inner spaces creating one of the most dignified hotels within the Boscolo Group. The opulent splendour of New York Palace can be recognized not only in forms but materials as well. The most accented part of the impressive building is the ground floor Café with its 16 devilish fauns and - "El Ashmodai" the ancient figure of coffee and meditation - holding the lantern in such style and propagating the spirituality of the New York Café. All marbles, textiles and furnishings for the Hotel come from the original home of style and design: Italy. Inner spaces are decorated with bronze statues the ceiling with the marvellous original panel paintings of Gusztáv Mannhemer and Ferenc Eisenhut in the halls. Available for guests: 24 hours room service, luxury chauffeur service, baby-sitter service, rent a car, internet access, secretary service, business centre. In the accelerated world of today there is a need for such a place where one can rest & relax and enjoy the beneficial result of various special treatments. The outside world can be totally excluded whilst in the Spa and guests can indulge themselves in treatments promising "eternal life" with the help of professional masseurs and therapists. Situated on the first floor of the hotel, the five conference rooms and our Ball Room are holding the most up-to-date of audio-visual equipment. Appropriate to arrange any kind of, meeting, conference, training program, cocktail parties or business dinner... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Marriott, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing