We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel and Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Ranked #29 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Arligton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Don't get sucked into the tourist trap hotels. This hotel is centrally located to all the best attractions and restaurants. The staff is very accommodating, the hotel is beautiful inside and out, and you can walk out the doors and hop on the tram line that runs through the city. No need to stay anywhere else in Budapest!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,272
    628
    182
    65
    41
See reviews for
421
1,655
109
337
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel staff members are always there for your needs. They greeted me with my name every single time even when they saw me on my way to the New York Cafe or walking by the lobby desk. Detailed service like remembering a guest's name and greeting with the name is true luxurious service .

Check-In: Efficient and professional. My room rate did not include breakfast options. Upon check in, I was asked to add that option, which I did. I am extremely happy to accept the offer.

Hotel Facility: Fabulous and marvelous as you expected from outside and inside and the room including the bath, sink, toilet, etc.

Room: My superior room was very adequate located in the Boscolo Residence side not in the main hotel building. The room was quite however the room temperature was a little bit warm. A bell boy cautioned me so I took his advice to leave a windows/balcony door slightly open. It would have been perfect with the thermometer issue. A rain shower/bath tub is directly facing the bed. A toilet and a bidet are inside a closed door. Amenities of Etro(r) shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, and bath salt were presented welcomingly on the sink top with two crystal-like yet light glasses. 2 sets of extra towels are in a drawer under the amenities. 2 bathrobes were hung by the wall. However, what I didn't see was a bottle or two complimentary water as you would normally see at other hotels. The water from the water faucet is safe to drink. Indeed you are in Budapest. I would drink, but some of you may not. It's your call.
Every evening, there was a turn down service as you would expect.

Dining: One must experience at the World's renown New York Cafe. My breakfast included Hungarian Sparking wine along with house made jam in individually contained mason jars. Service was impeccable. When I was wandering around to look for a spoon, the manager came out and kindly advised me to sit. He came with a spoon and gently and very graciously placed it in front of me in the exactly right place where my fingers would reach. Small details like this is a true example a Boscolo hotel can provide to a solo guest like me. In addition, food is incredibly high quality.
For lunch or dinner, a past dish is a must. Indeed, Boscolo is an Italian managed hospitality. It was such a fantastic choice to dine at the cafe. Pasta was just simply perfect (al dente in ragu sauce) among others.

Service: as mentioned in the introduction, the service was a true example of me wanting to return to Budapest, and this specific hotel over and over again. Every staff member is always friendly and helpful yet very professional. Kudos to all staff members.

Concierge: recognized my stay was around my birthday (1 day after). Yes, indeed the trip was for my vacation. I am an introverted person and do not to speak out loud about my birthday. Yet, being recognized such a subtle way, it would make me smile and feel so wonderfully welcome.

Spa: I didn't use it but I made a quick visit to the facility. Welcomed me with cinnamon fragrance in the air. (although I am not a big fan of cinnamon, this would not stop me from going in there and relaxing if I had more time. Very serene and relaxing feel.

Others: From the foyer to the check-in lobby, there is no ramp but about 6 or 7 flights of steps. As a frequent traveler/global trotter, I tend to carry my luggage around. Although I can certainly handle it easily, it would have been easier and I would have enjoyed pulling my luggage on my departure.

All in all, this is one of a few places that I would like to return! Thanks to everyone who made my stay so welcoming and comfortable.

Room Tip: My room was facing north. It was away from the elevator and quite. If you want to see the Castle si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SamFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Honestly, the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed. The Boscolo in Prague comes close, but Budapest outshines for sure! We were upgraded to a Junior Suite since my bf is Platinum and the place was huge. At least 5-600 square feet. The bathroom alone could fit my bedroom and kitchen at home! Beautiful chandaliers, great service and wonderful spa/fitness area included with room. The Spa had a sauna, steam room, rain showers and a pool along with a very relaxing grotto area. Although spa services were a bit pricey-they did have specials running since we were there over Valentine's day. The cafe downstairs was also lovely-although pricey (lunch for 2 with apps and 1 drink was almost 80 Euros) But breakfast was included with our rate too and there was a ton of food with a large buffet of both European and American style breakfast options. I highly suggest this place at least for a night or so.

TIP-We saw a ballet for 12 Euros a ticket. For some reason the shows at the National Opera House were so cheap!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachesandBrunello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
429 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I really enjoyed the hotel, the amenities and the location. The hotel is stunning and the staff made it a wonderful experience. I highly recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to pamper themselves. The only complaint I have is the breakfast buffet where there was muesli but honestly that was not a big issue.

The New York Cafe is truly wonderful place to have a late night coffee and cakes

Room Tip: I was in room 507 and the view was great! And can never say no to a perfect rain head shower with pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Bomberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYorkPalaceGM, General Manager at Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest 'Peter_Bomberg',

Thank you very much for providing your kind feedback regarding your stay with us at Boscolo Budapest.
I'm delighted to see that overall you were satisfied with our services and our colleagues could go above and beyond to provide a great experience.
I appreciate your feedback considering the breakfast selction as well and I'm sorry to see that not all our service lived up to your expectations.
We do our best to make your next stay with us even more enjoyable.

With kind regards,

Kinga ENGELBRECHT - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband took me to Budapest for our 40th wedding anniversary and we stayed at the Boscolo, this hotel is lovely and clean, the staff are all so polite and helpful and if you have a problem it is no trouble and dealt with straight away. The dining area is like somthing you would see in a palace with paintings and gold ornate figures everywhere, the breakfast was really nice with loads of good choices from continental to scambled eggs, bacon and sauages with fresh fruit etc!! they also have champagne if you fancy some with your breakfast which was nice because we could toast our anniversary in style on the day. The one thing I would say is that in the room they do leave you complimentary tea and coffee, but the tea is earl gray or fruit tea which neither my husband or myself like so it would be a good idea if they left you some breakfast tea in your room and maybe a few more milk cartons as after a hectic day you just want to come back to a nice cup of tea. If every I get the chance I would definately stay there again. I will be 60 next year so if I drop enough hints to my husband you never know he may take me back!!!! One tip if you are staying more than 3 days do get yourself a 72 hour pass as you can use it on all the transport and it is well worth the money as we did loads of sightseeing

Room Tip: The room we had was lovely and to be honest there was no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Boscolo Budapest is a stunning hotel that lives up to its reputation. The building itself is absolutely stunning both inside and out. If you are looking for a unique experience in a city of stuning architecture you can really live it at this hotel. The rooms are spacious, modern and fitted with huge bathrooms with "rain showers" that have the propensity to make you want to stay in there all night!
The New York Palace Bistro on the ground floor is like stepping back in time. It's beautiful gilded walls and frescoed ceilings are out of this world. The downside to this beauty is the price. It appears to be a "destination venue" for other visitors to Budapest so it is quite expensive considering it is the sole eating venue for hotel guests. The satff are not overly fast on their feet either.

The hotel staff are helpful, professional and well mannered and the spa is a great way to unwind.

If this hotel has any downside, it is the vast internal courtyard space that is empty. This could be used to provide a great venue for guests to relax with coffees and newspaper on chaise lounges etc.

Overall, I wouldn't hesitate for a second in recommending this hotel. With this hotel, you are in the centre of everything and get to experience a beautiful turn of the century style that epitomises Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefanok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for three nights, mainly because it looked like a wedding cake from the photos. Inside it was equally tasty. The staff were amazing, very friendly and helpful. The New York Cafe is stunning and a great place to have breakfast. We got upgraded to a superior room, I'm not sure why, I have Marriott Rewards membership, so maybe that paid off. The room was huge, lovely firm king size bed and the blackest of black out curtains. My only complaint is that the spa wasn't the most relaxing if spaces. It's quite small (though looks fabulous) and more than a few people gets quite crowded. The hotel is walking distance from the metro, trams and buses. Getting around Budapest is really easy and it's a beautiful city so makes sure you choose a beautiful hotel to stay at!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,800 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection

Property: Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Address: Erzsebet korut 9-11., Budapest 1073, Hungary (Formerly Boscolo New York Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#17 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#25 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#26 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 5-star luxury when staying in the gorgeous Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection. Our contemporary hotel is located in close proximity to some of the Budapest area's best attractions, including Chain Bridge, Great Synagogue and Vaci Utca. Be sure to visit our serene indoor pool, state-of-the-art fitness center, full service spa and impeccable restaurants during your visit to our luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection Hotel Budapest
Hotel Boscolo New York Palace
New York Palace Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing