We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was ok”

Holocaust Memorial Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.06*
and up
Budapest Card
Ranked #30 of 443 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Holocaust Memorial Center is a national institution established by the Government in 1999. In 2002, it decided to construct the building of the Center in Pava Street, outside of the traditional Jewish quarter, further emphasizing its national character.The Holocaust Memorial Center is one of the few institutions in the world, established by the state, that focuses entirely on Holocaust research and education.The visitors are welcomed into a unique space that was named as the most impressive in Budapest, beside the city's panorama itself by Frank Owen Gehry, one of the leading architects in our time. The modern building is organically linked to the Pava Street Synagogue, an authentic venue that once used to be the second largest site for Jewish worship in Budapest.The Institution is a center for scientific research education and culture. It welcomes visitors with interactive permanent and special periodic exhibitions, experience-based museum pedagogical programs and cultural performances. Guided tours are available in five languages and special, thematically focused tours are offered regularly. A bookshop and a cozy coffee shop contribute to a memorable visit.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

I wasnt that impressed with the exhibit, although I learned a great deal about the Holocaust. If you only have a weekend in Budapest skip it. I wouldnt put this one on the top of my list.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJetsonFromHarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    345
    96
    31
    15
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful memorial that emphasizes the Hungarian Jews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My friend and I have both been to a lot of Holocaust museums so we were a bit skeptical when we entered. However, we were pleased that the museum emphasizes the history of the Hungarian Jews and Roma specifically. It was an interesting and sobering memorial. Not appropriate for young children or anyone who is not comfortable with highly graphic images of World War II.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A very sad place to see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

we went here for an afternoon and was very saddend by the place. it is truely horrific but it is a beautfiul memorial for all those lost. Would recomend a visit but its not for the fainthearted as much of what is showen is brutal.
i wouldnt recomend this place for any one under 12years old

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EMMAabouttheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A bit outside of city centre, very average holocaust memorial centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Since we had been a very good one to Berlin, we found this one a bit disappointing. Just photos, videos and countless texts. Lack of interactive media. If one has already visited the one in Berlin, it's perfectly ok to skip this one.

As the place is a bit outside of town, there were very limited places to eat (although some places for drink). Do eat before you go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kuroshino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Calm,dignified and emotional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

I don't make a habit of visiting the many different memorials which educate us to the horrors of human behaviour so cannot compare this to others.
What I can share is what I felt travelling through this extremely education centre- anger,sadness, bewilderment and bitterness.
The fact that a group of people have suffered so much throughout history culminating in the horrors of the Second World War is incomprehensible . Why? This exhibition does not shy away from the part Hungary itself played in the horrors either.
If you are looking for a quick fix and like to be spoon fed information this is not for you. However if you take time to hear the stories , read the inscriptions look at the photos watch the videos this is an extremely well crafted whole culminating in access to the synagogue.
A thinking persons exhibition housed in a beautifully constructed piece of modern architecture.
This has made a lasting impression on me and I feel better informed for having experienced it, which after all is how one should judge such an exhibition.

Helpful?
Thank Janbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holocaust Memorial Center also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Holocaust Memorial Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing