We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Parlament
Nearby Hotels
$175
$126
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$152
$136
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
$251
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Castle Garden(Budapest)
$505
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$116
$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$149
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$144
$115
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,464)
Filter reviews
2,464 results
Traveler rating
1,884
515
60
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,884
515
60
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparliament buildingjacuzzi and saunagreat hotelfree hot drinksbottled waterlounge areabathroom doorrecommend this hotelhot and cold foodshort walkbreakfast was excellentbreakfast roomthe riverquiet streetreception staffrooms are moderncity break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,538 - 1,543 of 2,464 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2009

A small friendly hotel with a super location for sightseeing, we arranged concert tickets and river trips thought the hotel and the staff could not be more heplful. Hotel was clean and the only complaint was the juice at breakfast was watered down.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inclineski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

You can walk to just about everything you'll want to see (including parliament, Terror Museum, Opera, Basilica, Fisherman's Bastion, all the downtown churches, Chain Bridge, Margrit island, etc.). The Parlament also has a hot tub and a sauna, which is nice after a long walk. There are good restaurants very close by (including excellent but inexpensive vendeglos), and an excellent delicatessen 2 blocks away (on the main drag, just to the left, on the corner). The breakfasts are good, the staff friendly and helpful. All things considered, it’s a good hotel. Some may find the rooms to be small, but this is Europe, and you won’t be spending much time in our room anyway. There is a small and nicely minimalist-modern decorated bar and a reading room, so even if you meet friends, you have plenty of room to do so in the public spaces. There are 2 free internet computers on the main floor, free wi-fi on the main floor, and free cabled internet in all the rooms. All things considered, the Parlament is an excellent choice from which to tour Budapest.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 20minutetourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed at this hotel at July 2009. It could be a nice hotel, but we had some problems with the payment.

As part of the check in process, the receptionist asked us for a credit card as warranty. We gave it to him and a few hours later we found that the hotel charged (or blocked) us more than the agreed price. So it wasn't a warranty... it seemed to us that the hotel decided to charge in advance. We didn't give much importance to this and at the check out we asked another receptionist about this payment. She told us that it wasn't real a payment, but an amount blocking on our account and that the hotel would unblock the difference (our invoice amount was less than this "blocked" one).

After two months we are still waiting for this "unblocking" or refund. I contacted the hotel and they just tell me that the did everything right... But that isn't my bank's version. Accoding to my bank, I only have a charge on the same day we arrived.

I only know for sure that we ended up paying MORE than the agreed price.

Location isn't bad, but it could be better. The hotel isn't very far from the Chain Bridge area, but you will need to walk for a while or get a tram. Streets surrounding the hotel can be a bit lonely, specially at nights.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parlament, manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2009

However this gentleman has been informed about the details of the credit card payment process and it has been proved with all the necessary documents that the hotel did not damage him not even a cent, we have to say thank you to him for this review because now we’ve got the opportunity to share some probably useful information with the future travellers.

What does the authorization mean? When you check in the hotel and you plan to pay with credit card, the hotel will check the validity of your card and block an amount on your account in order to ensure that you can pay your room and extra services costs with this card in order to avoid any unexpected situations at checking outs.

Is the authorization equal with the payment? No. It is only a blocking of a certain amount. You can not spend this amount from your account until the deadline of the blocking. If this amount won’t be used for further payment, your bank will automatically break up this blocking maximum within two weeks.

How much money can be blocked on your credit card? According to most of the hotels’ policies your room cost and some extra % can be blocked which is a guarantee also for your additional consumptions in the hotel.

On which currency will be your credit card charged? The local currency in Hungary is the Hungarian Forint (HUF). The invoices can be made in HUF on the official changing rate that has been published by the Hungarian National Bank which is valid on the day of your arrival. This is of course, a public information, you can to be informed about it.

What will happen with the authorization when you pay your room bill with your credit card?
At the moment when you pay with the authorized credit card the exact amount will be charged from the authorized amount from your account. If it was more than the amount you have to pay finally, the rest will be credited on your account by your bank automatically without any further information sent to you.

Why do you receive a message from your bank that your account has been charged despite of the fact that it was only an authorization? The banks, unfortunately, don’t make any difference between the payment and authorization during the “sms” service. They should have to, it would be a great help for the users to be informed correctly.

Is the usage of your credit card free? Our hotel does not devolve any bank commission to you, but if your account is not on Hungarian Forint you have to calculate with your account holder bank’s changing rate which can be different from the hotel’s one. Unfortunately it can be an extra cost for you. You can avoid it if you settle your bill in cash.

We hope, that these information will help you to feel safer when you use your credit card for payment. Please, do not leave the hotel without clarifying your questions on the spot. All of us are working on making your stay pleasant. Don’t let the misunderstanding make your vacation uncomfortable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Stayed 2 nights in this recently remodeled hotel near the Parliament buildings. It was a great hotel, very clean and comfortable, with friendly helpful staff. The breakfast was really good with lots of choice. It was easy to walk around the downtown area of Pest with the map provided by the hotel. There was lots to do in the city within walking distance. They had a small spa. Do bring your own travel iron if travelling in Europe (if you want the pressed look).

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IzziePEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed for 5 nights before going on to Vienna and Prague. The Hotel is very conveneintly located within easy walking distance of everything, though just outside the main tourist hotspots. Our room was at street level but was quiet and we slept well. There are several Rough guide recommended restaurants nearby and a brilliant cafe in front of the red army memorial and american embassy, where you can sip fantastic hungarian wines and watch the world go by, even late at night.
The streets are very safe although - as everywhere in Budapest - there are some rough sleepers about. The trolleybus (not tram) that runs past the hotel is very handy to take you in 2/3 stops to the opera and an excellent restaurant called Bouchon. The metro and tram #2 are also within 3 minutes walk.
Breakfast was good and fresh, the hotel stylish and very clean and our room was very spacious. The only negative was that the hotel bar was a bit too quiet for our taste!
We found Budapest a great city to visit and without the hordes of foreign tourists that make Prague so unptpealling. English and German are widely spoken, people are friendly, service is good and public transport is brilliant.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lojo0680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews