We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All that an european hotel must be !”
Review of Hotel Parlament

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Parlament
Ranked #5 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Chisinau
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All that an european hotel must be !”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is very good. Situated very close to all main attractions. Just few steps from Parlament and Danube river. Stuff makes this hotel awesome, very helpful!
Rooms are not huge but good , a little too firm pillows though.
There si a very nice restaurant situated close to that hotel and only cause of it i would pick that hotel again - taste again that amazing hungarian local cuisine! Restaurant is Hungarikum bistro. Both hotel and restaurant nearby made my time in Budapest just brilliant!
Truly recomend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiborSzajcz, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear „Santara M”,

Thank you for staying at our Hotel Parlament during your recent visit to Budapest! It is a pleasure for us to read your kind words about our services. I am delighted to recon that our hotel’s central location and your hotel room all have satisfied your expectations and that you had a memorable and „brilliant” stay with us. Thank you for highlighting our team as well! As we believe that the spirit of a hotel is its team I am always glad to receive such comments on our staff like yours! Thank you!

I am happy to hear that the nearby Budapest Bistro restaurant also have met your expectations and you could taste all sorts of local dishes.

We are very much looking forward to welcome you back again in our Hotel Parlament when your travel plans bring you back to Budapest!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,656
    472
    55
    5
    0
See reviews for
231
1,246
66
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Friends raved about this hotel, so my expectations were high when I spent a week here - and I was not disappointed. The public areas were inviting; despite a traditional facade, the feel is contemporary without being stark, and guests sprawled comfortably in lounges and couches. My room was immaculate; not huge, but certainly not confining, though the bed on wheels was sometimes unsettling. The bathroom made smart use of space, and I never felt at risk of banging into corners in the dark, as often happens in hotels. Let me save my highest praise for the staff - without exception, they were warm and welcoming, helpful and kind, well-informed and quick to offer suggestions. I would come back for them alone.

As for breakfast, I was impressed with many options on the first morning. And the second. And the third. And then I started to hope for a little variety. Make no mistake, I ate well and enjoyed it thoroughly, but a little change-up over time would be welcome. The staff were quick to clear used tableware, and the cooks constantly replenished dishes in small batches, keeping everything fresh and hot; they were all pleasant but unobtrusive - just right for morning.

So, a few things I wish I'd known - small, small things: I would have brought my own toiletries; the hotel's all smelled like shaving cream, and there was shampoo but no conditioner. I would have brought a hand towel, especially since soap came in tiny cakes - fine for washing your hands but not so good in the shower - and the towels were not practical for body wash. I would have brought more 'toys'; TV was just so-so - a lot of languages, but mostly news channels (and the English channels in my room never worked; can't complain, though, since I never got around to telling the front desk).

Next time I head to Budapest, I won't even bother checking other options - this one is a keeper!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ayyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiborSzajcz, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear „ayyar”,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on your recent stay in our Hotel Parlament. I am pleased to read that although you have arrived with high expectations you have not been disappointed at all with our product and services.
I am delighted that the style and comfort of our public areas, the cleanliness of the room have all met your approval as well.
I am happy to read that our team could contribute to an even enjoyable stay for you with their informative and helpful service minded attitude. It is also a pleasure for us to hear that you could start your days with a hearty full breakfast and that you were contended with our buffet selection in general.
I would like to kindly inform you that your feedback is highly valued as it helps us a lot to better understand our guests’ needs and being able to develop in order to provide exceptional guest service.

Thank you again for staying with us!
It would be the greatest pleasure for us if we would be able to welcome you back again in our Hotel Parlament during your next visit to Budapest.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a marvellous stay, at the hotel. The hotel provided my wife with a little present of chocolates and drink to celebrate her birthday which was a surprise. The hotel location is excellent with a lot of locations within walkable distance. The are a large range of restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk. All the staff were extremely helpful and the service was excellent.

Room Tip: Room facing the back overlooking the atrium is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiborSzajcz, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear „Malcolm M”,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experiences with us and with the traveler community of Tripadvisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you for such a special occasion as your wife’s birthday and we are more than happy that we have had the chance to surprise her with a little present on your arrival day. I am pleased to read that you could take advantage of our central location and you reached most of the sights you wanted to visit on foot. I would like to thank you for your kind feedback on our helpful and service minded personnel. I am glad that you have been satisfied with our services and we were able to be at your assistance during your stay with us.

It was our pleasure to host you and we would be happy to have the chance to welcome you back in our Hotel Parlament in the near future.

With best regards from Budapest,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was so surprised to get a little box of chocolates for my birthday. It made all the difference. How nice! The room was clean and provided breakfast there without extra charge and the staff seemed surprised when I offered a tip.It is a nice enough area and very well connected by public transport and I cannot think I would want to go anywhere else. It is convenient enough from the airport - no complicated metro changes. The decor is rather dull, black and white photographic images if you like that sort of thing and chocolate colours on the walls but there is a decent range of television programmes and the shower works well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imogen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiborSzajcz, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear „Imogen W”,

First and foremost I would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel Parlament for your recent stay in Budapest. Thank you very much for your kind review and your valuable feedback. It was our greatest pleasure to welcome you for your birthday and we are happy if our little present served as a nice surprise for you. I am glad to read that you have been satisfied with our services and the complimentary breakfast delivered to your room has also met your approval. I am also delighted to read that our central location made it easy for you to get around in the city easily by public transportation.
We are very much looking forward to welcome you back again when your travel plans bring you back to our lovely capital. Please feel free to contact us anytime for future assistance.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I can't understand why this property is categorized as 4 star and gets such high reviews on TripAdvisor.
Had it been a 3 star hotel I would have rated it as an average (3 out of 5). But given it is 4 star - I was greatly disappointed.

Cons:
- location is not really in front of the Parlament as the name would mislead you to think
- the room was pretty small and basic:
--- the bed is on wheels and keeps moving if you sit on it and lean against the wall
--- the bathroom had a shower only (no bath tub)
--- no bath robe
--- there was no coffee quipment like kettle
--- no iron in the room

- the shared wellness area is exgtremely small - can barely fit in 3 people
- breakfast area is small and crowded - you have no privacy because the other tables are so close to yours
- they have umbrellas that you can borrow - but when I needed one they ran out of umbrellas (is it so hard to have a number of umbrellas equivalent to the number of rooms ??)


the only upside is that the free internet worked fine in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elodTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyitamas, General Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear „elodTlv”

thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Parlament for your recent stay in Budapest. We do appreciate your valuable and detailed feedback about your experiences during your stay with us, however please allow me to respond to some of your issues as follows:
- I regret to read that we did not meet your expectations with regards of the location of our property. I would like to call your kind attention though that the name of the hotel does not come from the fact that the hotel is overlooking onto the Houses of Parliament but refers to its closeness to it. I am sure that our hotel descriptions found online and in travel brochures are not misleading with respect of the location as it is one of, if not the most important factor for tourist when choosing a hotel hence we are keen on providing accurate information on it.
- I am sorry that the size and equipment of our rooms also have not satisfied your expectations. As our Hotel Parlament is a 4 star city hotel we indeed not offering luxurious facilities to our guests but the kind of guest service and product that meet the standards of the Hotel Stars Union hotel classification criteria and also, which we do believe are meeting our guests anticipations that are seeking for boutique style accommodation located in the hub of the city.
I am disappointed to read your opinion about the room and the comfort of the bed as well. I would like to kindly call your attention to that prior to your arrival we did not have the information on your request for a room with a bath tub. On the other hand though, we have tried to accommodate all your known requests namely your demand for a non-smoking double room with a queen bed. As on the day of your arrival our hotel was fully booked we indeed were not able to change your room into a non smoking double room that has a bath tub however as I have been informed by our Front Office Manager who assisted you upon your check in we have tried our best and offered you the possibility to switch rooms on the next day.
- With respect of your comment on „ no bath robe” I would like to point out that all of our services are listed in our Guest Directory which can be found on the desktop in our guest rooms. I am sorry to note that you could not find the desired information that we are pleased to offer bath robes to every guest upon request at the front desk.
- I regret to recon your reflection that „there was no coffee equipment like kettle” although I am sure that you could take advantage of our complimentary coffee, tea and mineral water service offered in our Lounge Bar daily until 17:00pm and of our 24 hour, complimentary coffee/ tea service in our breakfast room while staying with us.
- Regarding the ‘missing’ iron in your room I would like to inform you that for safety reasons we do not provide irons in our rooms although there is a separate ironing room that is open for every guest of ours also on a complimentary basis. I am sure that if we would have known about your need for an iron my colleagues at the reception would have happily informed you about the possibility of ironing.
- I am sorry that the size of our wellness area has not met your approval either. I would like to point out that we are offering our wellness services (sauna, Jacuzzi) only as an additional service on a complimentary basis to all of our guests for this reason the size of this area is proportional to the size of our hotel.
- I am reading with regret that our breakfast room was not the kind that you were expecting either with respect of its size and set up of tables. However I truly hope that our rich buffet breakfast could ease your disappointment and you could have a nice start of your days with a hearty breakfast.
- Last but not least I am sorry to hear about the inconvenience experienced with the umbrellas. I would like to inform you that your comment is important for us and we have made the necessary steps to be even better prepared with umbrellas for our guests.

I am pleased to read about your positive experiences as well. I am happy that you have been satisfied with our complimentary wireless Internet.
I would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share your experiences and opinion with us here on TripAdvisor. Despite of this I wish we had been able to have a discussion of your problems upon arrival or during your stay. I am convinced that we would have been able to find solutions for some of them and provide you information about existing services that you were missing.

I hope that despite of the negative impressions you had a good time in Budapest and you were able to enjoy your city break

With best regards,

Reka Patakfalvi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very good service and attention. Very clean and confortable. Wonderful beds.I will go back.
I travelled for business purpose and I used the massage service, great! Is ver well located for having dinner or just walk to relax after a day work.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyitamas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear „rafael m”,

Thank you very much for having chosen our Hotel Parlament for your recent business trip in Budapest. I am pleased to read that our clean and comfortable guest room, our cozy bed and our services have all met your expectations. I am happy to hear that you have had a chance to try out our relaxing massage services during your stay and you could take advantage of our central location as well, which is indeed perfect for a little walk and to find a nearby restaurant for a nice Hungarian meal.
It was our pleasure to host you during your stay in Budapest and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back next time again when your plans bring you back to our lovely city.

Have a nice day and best regards,

Tamas Merenyi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at the hotel parlament in Budapest.

Service was excellent; staff efficient, pleasant and always with a smile.
Breakfast was very generous and tasty.
Rooms were spacious, clean and modern.
The bed was superb! Large, and the mattress was firm.

The location is excellent. It is close to parliament and to most central attractions on the Pest side of the city.

Just a lovely little hotel!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dahoui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merenyitamas, Front Office Manager at Hotel Parlament, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear „dahoui”,

First and foremost let me thank you for staying with us in our Best Western Premier Hotel Parlament. We are very grateful for your kind feedback here on Tripadvisor and we very much do appreciate you recommending us to your fellow travelers.
I am pleased to read that you have been satisfied with our tasty and large breakfast offer, our clean and spacious guest room and I am most delighted about your feedback on our „superb” bed and comfortable mattress. Thank you very much for your kind compliments on our friendly and „always smiling” personnel; I am happy to hear that we could have provided you with an excellent and efficient service during your stay. Thank you very much once again for your valuable feedback.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future again when your travel plans bring you back to our lovely Budapest. In case I can be at your further assistance please feel free to contact me directly anytime.

With best regards,

Tamas Merenyi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,735 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,082 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,269 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,403 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Parlament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parlament

Property: Hotel Parlament
Address: Kalman Imre utca 19, Budapest 1054, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Parlament)
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#5 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#8 Family Hotel in Budapest
#20 Business Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parlament 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Parlament is a delicate four stars boutique hotel in the city centre of Budapest, close to the Houses of Parliament, the river Danube and the biggest shopping mall of the city.Easy to reach with two metro lines which stations are five minutes walking from the hotel. The hotel provides complimentary internet usage for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Parlament reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing