We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queen Mary Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Queen Mary Hotel
Ranked #183 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

The main advantage of this hotel is its location, near the city centre, close to two Metro stations (we used Octogon). Rooms were tidy and spacious, breakfast is served in a small groundfloor room, but it was tasty and abundant.
Downsides are: elevator is miniscule, only two people can get in, and only if they have small travel bags. Also, it is NOT suited for people in wheelchair because, despite the elevator, one must climb a few steps in order to get to the reception.
Another thing: the receptionist spoke very poor English, and was not exceptionally helpful. We made a reservation for a parking space, but he told us that a movie was being filmed on the street and he couldn't give us our parking space. He offered no apologies or alternative solution.
All in all, acceptable for an overnight stay if you want to be close to the centre, and in an affordable, clean accomodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the elevator as possible because its mechanism is rather loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nina385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    39
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
10
36
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful for us. They carried our bags to the room and they helped with pointing us to good spots to visit. The room was comfortable and good size. The only small complaint was the air conditioning was a little weak on the hotter days, luckily a cool breeze was blowing all the time, so windows sufficed. You can't beat the location. Nearby is food, public transport and tourist buses. Also many bars. I would recommend the Bangladeshi restaurant that is on the street behind the hotel and also you must try a gyros while in town! Breakfast was good, but the old man spoke little English, though enough to serve us with a smile.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

we stayed there with a whole group, its was terrible rooms and terrible beds,

Worst of all they gave us a price, when checking in, and when checking out he told us a different price, and we argued about the boss came and started screaming "jude arous" meaning jews out, and then started saying and screaming all antisemit slogans, he only stopped when we said we will call police.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zyllas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

I read that many think of this hotel as being in a bad area. It's actually not that bad, being really close to a major street and just across the street from a 5* hotel. It is placed in the old jewish neighborhood, fairly close to the Opera and within walking distance of most of the tourist attractions and Keleti train station.
This hotel also has non-stop reception, a small but useful elevator, working A/C, minibar, decently sized rooms and good beds that were clean. The bathroom looks a bit rough, maybe it should be redesigned, but had all the necessary commodities. Breakfast was OK, mostly typical buffet. The only bad thing was that the TV only had 4-5 TV stations, all in Hungarian, but then again you're in Budapest and should be visiting the city, not watching hotel TV.
All-in-all this is a good hotel for those on a budget and for those who are looking for a place to stay at night and visit everything there is to see during the day.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that is accessible by elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurVent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastburne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Choose this hotel based on price, location and availability of parking, we were staying in Heviz and wanted an overnight in Budapest to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a good triple room, clean but smelt of smoke as i had not asked for a non smoking room not realising that there was this optiom, however with wimdows and aircon it did smell a lot better! Filled the mini bar fridge with hungarian champagne from the local spar! Breakfast ok! But a total bargain and with 24 hour parking for about £6! When staying in a city where all you need is a place to lay your head this place ticks the boxes!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenRough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

You just can't beat the price for the location, which is why we stayed here. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable, and the facilities in the room were nice. The rooms have AC. The elevator goes to the 4th floor, so if you are on floor five, you have to walk up a flight, no biggie. The breakfast was average with scrambled eggs and sausage, as well as bread/rolls, meats and chesses, yogurt, cereal, and juices. There is no wifi, but they will give you an ethernet cord, so if you need internet, make sure you have that set up (otherwise, internet cafes are abundant in Budapest, I recommend Discover Budapest behing the National Opera House). I felt reception and breakfast staff were polite and helpful, contrary to some other reviews. I would like to see the luggage storage system improved - we had to leave our bags out in the open after checkout/before check in (arrived by night train), didn't seem secure at all, but we didn't have any problems.

If you are a budget traveller, a great deal with no frills here!

Room Tip: Request 4th floor or below if you don't want to walk up stairs to the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blink7589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I considered this hotel because the location was great and the price was affordable. Boy did I make a mistake! The staff members were very rude and not helpful! I was extremely suprised when I came into the hotel the first day and at the front desk I was given the towel that I used because it had a makeup stain! The smell in the room was bad. They claimed that they needed to use a spray to get rid of the bugs on the carpet. I was disgusted to put my belongings on the chairs or shelves. I slept there one night because I was so tired from traveling. The next day I checked out and I lost money because I booked for three nights.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#132 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#158 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#162 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#193 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
District V / Inner City
Budapest Panorama Central
Budapest Panorama Central
#86 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Hotel Elit
#148 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Mary Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Mary Hotel

Property: Queen Mary Hotel
Address: Kertesz utca 34, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Mary Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Queen Mary Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Mary Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing