We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply top!”
Review of Kalvin Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalvin Apartments
Ranked #148 of 670 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Very centrally located, very quiet (due to excellent new windows), absolutely everything provided (ample cooking equipment, toaster, coffee machine, shoe shine and ironing equipment, rack to dry clothes, internet connection (WLAN but bring a cable for better reception), TV - everything you might need during a shorter or longer stay is provided. It is easy to reach the apartment from the airport: take bus No. 200 at the airport, change at the final station into the metro and go until Kalvin Ter. From there, it is only a few hundred metres walk. Behind the flats is a road with many restaurants and there are 2 shops close by which are open until 11 p.m. and 24 hrs.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wodigro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 54 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2008

Had no problems finding this place. The owner is quiet, but really nice. He even did a load of washing for us! The location is excellent, near the metro, around the corner from shops, bars and restaurants and easy walking distance from the markets and the danube. The apartment itself was great, really clean, well renovated and had everything we needed. We got the room with AC and the place was very comfortable. The price for what you get is excellent. The frontage isnt the nicest, but it gives a good feel for what its like to be a local. Did see an elderly neighbour walking around in his jocks one day, but it was a great laugh for us! If you want a hotel with all the convenience of room service etc this isnt for you. If you are after an excellent, great value, really original place to stay, then this is the one for you!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2008

What a wonderful experience Kalvin Apartments was. The lead up to the place initially makes you wonder whether you have chosen right but once you get there and experience the place and the amazing hospitality and service provided, you needn't worry anymore. We had withdrawl symptoms after leaving Kalvin altho we just stayed there 4 nights. The apartment is beautifully maintained and very conveniently located. The staff are wonderful. We ran into a small problem - no fault of the apartments but the local municipal corporation was doing some repair work on the main gas line so hot water service was impacted for a couple of days. Altho we were informed of this by the staff in advance and were not overly worried about it, we came back one evening to find a note of apology and a lovely bottle of Hungarian dessert wine waiting for us from the staff. Would defintely stay here again and recommend it for anyone looking to have a hassle free stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelolust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We loved staying here and consider it an exception value.
The huge high ceilinged studio is spotlessly clean, well laid out, charming and comfortable. The location is great, across the street from the Metro, and a few minutes walk to the Danube, the Great Market Hall and many historic museums and sites. Yes, the frontage and elevators are not renovated but the apartment is wonderful and the neighborhood is very safe, adjacent to the historic center.
Special treat: there is a Delightful small bakery, just next door.

SO glad we didn't let the photos of the Szex Bolt give us the wrong impression. Its not even open in the evening.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank Darinka55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2008

Kalvin Tier Apartments were truly excellent! Very large and spacious, modern, clean and well maintained. 10 nights here made it very difficult for me to return home. In Budapest I would not stay anywhere else. The arrival can be a little daunting as the building is a little run down and the lift area dark however once inside the apartment you will be very pleased

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AllanCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2008

As a 50+ woman travelling on my own for the first time I was a little concerned about the whole experience...when the taxi dropped me at Kalvin and I entered through the street door my anxiety levels rose!

Once I entered the apartment section however I was in another world. The service from the caretaker was fabulous, the apartment fully equipped, immaculate and absolutely secure. Just around the corner is a whole street of restaurants to choose from for dinner. In the same street there is also a supermarket to stock up on supplies for breakfast etc

I cannot recommend Kalvin highly enough. If ever I was fortunate enought to pass through Budapest again it would certainly be my choice of accomodation.

Enjoy the experience...life is too short to be put off by surrounds!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HelenM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

As described before, the entrance to the building is not so appealing. However, once you made it through the elevator you get into a really neat, all furnished appartment with everythng u need. It is just like being at home. I did my grocery shopping and every morning I had my own homestyle breakfast and then I was not back until late at night. The Metro Station is coveniently close and if walking is prefered, Vaci Utca (the main commercial street) is a few blocks away. Overall, a great experience. Gabor and Molnar, the flat managers are very helpful and handy with whatever needs you would have. Enjoy your trip.

Stayed: November 2006
3  Thank delcas123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Kalvin House
#113 of 334 in Budapest
438 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 334 in Budapest
1,547 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,867 reviews
Hipster Hostel
#137 of 670 in Budapest
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalvin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalvin Apartments

Address: Uelloi ut 11-13. | at Kalvin Square, Budapest 1091, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 670 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $44 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalvin Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering 1-room studio apartments with kitchenette and free wifi internet connection in Budapest centre for short and mid-term rental. Main tourist sights and business locations of Budapest are within reach. The neighboring area (Raday Street in Ferencvaros) is famous for its cafes, shops and restaurants. Air-conditioned apartments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kalvin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing