We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will definitely come back”
Review of Kalvin Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalvin Apartments
Ranked #148 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I don't usually write reviews, but I think this one is warranted. I did not have very high expectations coming in, but I was very pleasantly surprised when I first saw the apartment. Though not very large, it was very clean, extremely functional, and the owners are very helpful. The bed is large and more than adequate for two people, and the kitchenette was great for keeping some snacks, drinks, and easy food on hand. There was also a large wardrobe with plenty of hangers, a clothing iron, and ironing board. I opted for a room without AC, but the owners were kind enough to provide me with a fan, and the window opened up allowing for good air circulation, which helps tremendously. The street that the window overlooked is somewhat of a busy street, but it wasn't obnoxiously noisy in my opinion, and the window in our room did have soundproofing. The location was quite good, with a metro station literally 3 minutes away by foot. The Great Market is just a few blocks away, which allowed us to stop by and get fresh fruit in the morning and there was a fantastic coffee house, Cafe Alibi, just a few blocks away. I will definitely book here again the next time I come to Budapest!!

Just one note of caution, this apartment may not be appropriate for people who are handicapped or overweight. There is an elevator in the building, but I'm not sure the facilities meet U.S. wheelchair standards. The shower was not very large, so it may be difficult for larger people to use the restroom facilities in the apartment.

Room Tip: Book ahead!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KPLGlimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Kalvin Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 54 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2010

stayed for 9 nights September 10 and loved Kalvin Apts. Very very clean, felt very safe and close to everything including all transportation. apartment was fully equipped including iron & board, hair dryer, even bandaids! Lots of stairs if you don't like the ancient lift and would have liked more towels, but other than that, not a thing negative to say. Soundproof windows made for very quiet sleeps in an extremely comfortable bed. thankyou for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budapestlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We recently spent 5 nights at Kalvin Apartments. We had visited other cities in Europe on this vacation, renting apartments in each locale. We were so pleasantly suprised at this apartment. It was very spcaious and comfortable, much larger than the other apartments we had stayed in in the other cities. Someone has given a great deal of though to decor and to equipping the suite. The kitchen had everything we needed to prepare meals and properly eat, including nice beer and wine glasses (none of that cheesy hotel disposable plastic stuff). We had a large bed for the 2 of us, a large comfortable kitchen eating area. The suite was very clean and modern with nicely tiled bathroom. There was hand soap in the bathroom and everything needed to wash dishes prov ided in the kitchen. The wardrobe not only had the space for clothing, but also featured iron & board, clothes drying rack, complete shoe shine kit, extra toilet paper and (get this) a box of bandaids! So very thoughtful!

We felt the location to be fabulous. Very convenient to the Kalvin Ter metro station (1 block), a little grocery store across the street and down a bit (very friendly lady working there). The next street over, Raday, featured a number of restaurants where we enjoyed fabulous lunches and even better dinners. Also, the location is just a couple of blocks from the large and amazing Budapest market (including large grocery store in basement) and the Vaci Utca - the major shopping street. We arrived in Bidapest by train and found the metro ride to the Kalvin Ter station short and easy.

We found the apartment to be very quiet. We upgraded to sir condition which was well worth the slight additional cost, as the weather was quite hot while we were in Budapest. Yes, it is beside a discreet sex shop (which is beside a wedding dress store, which is beside an internet cafe) but no one was ever lurking about and we felt very safe in the area.

Our host was most obliging and very pleasant. If we are fortunate enough to be able to return to Budapest - which we hope is soon - we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SandrasTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights. Host Gabor was exremely attentive even lending us a cable for our computer so we could access ADSL. The apartment is very well presented and equipped and is bright airy and roomy. It is located just a short walk from a restaurant/cafe strip and walking distance to many of Budapest's attractions. At about 40 euros per night we doubt you will find better value anywhere. Only downside is that the building it is located in is rather old and run down but don't be put off by external appearances as once inside the apartment this doesnt matter at all. Oh and the bakery next door is fabulous as well.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I can recommend Kalvin Apartments with confidence. I stayed in Kalvin Apartments with my husband for 5 nights. Our room was really big eonugh for two of us, with a kitchen which has everything we need, and furniture to keep clothes. There is even an ironing board and an iron, so we never suffered for wrinkles on our clothes. Everywere is truely spotless, and we enjoyed every single second staying in the room. Although the location is on a relatively big street, the window is double and it completely blocks noise from outside and is very quiet inside. We brought our laptop, and we had the internet access in the room. It is perfectly convenient to go anywhere, and if we will visit Budapest again, there is only one place to stay, Kalvin Apartment.
Last but not least, I would like to thank the owner who helped us while we were there. Thanks to him we had a great time in Budapest.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noriko78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

Our room at Kalvin Studios was a revelation!

The studio apartment is beautifully refurbished in a contemporary style. There is an en-suite shower and wash room, plus a separate toilet. In the living area is a small kitchen area with everything you could possibly need for catering "at home", a comfortable double bed, colour TV and lots of storage space.

It is located quite centrally in Pest on the fourth floor of a rather drab-looking old building near Kalvin Square. The helpful owner is on hand every day to provide information and deal with any queries you might have.

We found it easy to walk to all the major attractions in the city and there is a good selection of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the aparment.

If you're planning to spend a few days in Budapest, you won't go far wrong with this place, and it's very good value, too!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgbiggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Everything you need, a fully refurbed and modernised apartment within a lovely old traditional building with tiled walls and antique lift.

Zsolt looked after us very well and was there when we needed him but we were left to our own devices for most part, which we like. Food and drink was cheap if you went off the main roads, and this was local to all amenities.

Don't forget to visit the indoor market just round the corner, which is bursting with produce, goods, spices, etc, and is fascinating.... Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bayliss5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#62 of 333 in Budapest
1,531 reviews
Hotel Kalvin House
#111 of 333 in Budapest
431 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 333 in Budapest
7,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalvin Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalvin Apartments

Address: Uelloi ut 11-13. | at Kalvin Square, Budapest 1091, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 666 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: $40 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalvin Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering 1-room studio apartments with kitchenette and free wifi internet connection in Budapest centre for short and mid-term rental. Main tourist sights and business locations of Budapest are within reach. The neighboring area (Raday Street in Ferencvaros) is famous for its cafes, shops and restaurants. Air-conditioned apartments are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kalvin Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing