We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aboriginal Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aboriginal Hostel
Ranked #294 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Banff, Canada
1 review
“Friendly staff and great location”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the start of September. Was a bit hard to find, but the directions i had been given via the website were very helpful when coming from the train station.
The staff there are very friendly and the lovely Polish girl who works there is also an excellent cook! If she offers to make you breakfast or dinner (for a very small price) then i would highly recommend it :-)
The beds are comfortable and the common area is clean, cozy and a great place to relax and chat to other guests.
Would definitely stay again and id recommend this hostel to everyone!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    4
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
4
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I loved this place. It was a bit difficult to find and a little scary at 2am but it was doable. We got in on a bus from Vienna and found our way through to the hostel.

The staff was very friendly and we found some good friends there at the hostel. We felt it was fairly well located near major roads and districts.
Waffles with Nutella in the morning changed my life.

We rented bikes and toured the whole damn city so you should do the same. Hit the bridges at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsjared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londrina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The facilities are great, the environment is friendly and you are never alone! Plus, the staff cheers up everyone to get to know each other.
I just loved to be there, and I have no doubts where to stay next time I go to Budapest =)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenaMendes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Don't know where to begin, simply the best hostel ever. Everything you need, want, and don't need.
I stayed in three rooms of this hostel throughout my stays. They were all very compforatble and some with nice views into the street. The rooms are all arranged to be near (but not so near as to be disturbing) the central common area and kitchen space.
There was always a great vibe in the evenings as everybody came together after their day exploring Budapest, often as a result of a hostel organised social night (drinks out, hungarian meal, etc).
Hostel staff were all fluent English speakers (most of them native speakers) and friendly great people. Happy to go out of their way to get information for you and/or make you feel at home.
They had hundreds of films which people could watch in the evening spread out across sofas and been bags, or you could sit around the table and enjoy the unlimited free tea/coffee while chatting with the other guests. There was a very large kitchen you could make use of too, along with store your food in a cupboard/fridge etc.
Can't rate this place highly enough. The staff were just fantastic, great people. Prices were ridiculously cheap, even for eastern Europe. Met some very nice people in this hostel and have only fond memories of my stay.
There was free wireless access, and even two computers you could use if you didn't have a laptop. Lots of books board games and the like to amuse yourself with too.

Room Tip: Ask the staff, then see for yourself, they're happy to help and give you a tour of choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samt_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Definettely my favorite hostel so far in Europe, it really feels like home there, not such a big chain hostel so its a perfect place to meet people, free breakfast is super, they even serve fresh waffle for breakfast. The staff, Wayne, is super nice and informative. Wifi available also in the room, but we can use the computer for free and there is skype too!! So, yeah very recommended and it surely quite cheap, for less than 10 euro you can have it all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niantiaulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

This hostel has the idea of how should a hostel be. A living room with TV, some puffs laid on the ground, a guitar, all in a very cozy place.
The included breakfast is good enought for me (I'm a night guy, so hungry at the morning) - bread, jam, butter, coffee, granola, milk. Some people might think this not not enough, but anyway.
Free wifi is good, it works even in the rooms. There are some pubs and clubs around, most at walking distance. Showers and toilets in enough number, so no queues. Good! Towels available for free.
I recommend every traveler to come here and check it! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intini170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Amazing hostel in the -Pest (east) side of Budapest. Every member of the staff is friendly and kind on so many levels. From helping you to schedule/find things to do around Budapest to joining us for pub crawls and movie nights, to cooking a delicious Hungarian themed dinner. Everyone feels like family quickly within the first hour. Nice and clean dorm rooms with spacious private lockers. Clean facilities, and common room. I honestly dont know if I would have enjoyed Budapest quite as much as I did without the AH. I met so many new friends in the social and open common room, or over the free breakfast. My only complaint I can say at all, is that the signage out front is kinda small and easy to walk past, and that I have to leave this great and friendly place. A definite stop for social backpackers and anyone looking for a great time in Budapest for a night or a week.

Room Tip: The 6 bed dorm was my only option when I first checked in, but I continued to stay in this room, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caleb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
4,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#96 of 342 in Budapest
5,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aboriginal Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aboriginal Hostel

Property: Aboriginal Hostel
Address: Brody Sandor utca no. 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 655 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Number of rooms: 23

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing