We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly stuff but bad hotel!!!”
Review of Dominik Panzio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dominik Panzio
Ranked #135 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Bad points: The room was dusty and the beds were very tiny and hard as rock. We think our beds had flees, as we woke up with some marks. The room will make you stay out as much as possible.
Bathrooms are at the end of the hallway and even thou we see the cleaner everyday, they are quite dirty, so we couldn’t shower for the 2 nights stay. They are used by anyone so their cleanliness will vary by the degree of civilization I guess.
There is free wireless access to internet but only near the reception.

Good points: The members of stuff from reception were very friendly and helpful. We really liked them. The bus stop is very close to the hostel (this is not a hotel), a 2 minute walk. The hostel is close to the city centre. You only have to take bus 7 or 173 and it takes about 10 mins to the city centre.

We do not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londrina_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Dominik Panzio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 120 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2009

The room will make you stay out as much as possible. Small, ancient windows, smelling of cleaning agents but clean enough. The beds are hard as rock, but I've slept incredibly well on them.

Bathrooms are at the end of the hallway. They are used by anyone so their cleanliness will vary by the degree of civilization of the other guests.

There is free wireless access to internet but only near the reception (there is also a computer for those without a laptop). There is no wireless signal in rooms or restaurant.

The breakfast is basic and it's the same every day...but it does it's job.

The stuff from reception was really friendly and helpfull. A great kudos from me.

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
Thank curious_traveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

This hostel is a clean, comfortable place to spend a few nights. All rooms are private, and the bathroom facilities are shared. The bathrooms are cleaned every day rather vigorously, along with the rooms. All the staff that we met were very friendly and the front desk is very helpful around things to do and see in Budapest, which is rather a lot! The location is not too bad, although it is a fair walk to the river. It is however close to a metro station which is at Keleti train station, a short walk away. The breakfast is nothing special but does the job. There are communal fridges on each floor, and none of our stuff was removed (but naturally this depends on whoever is staying in the hostel at the time). Noise levels at night may be loud, but again this depends on who else is staying at the hostel, and at its price Dominik Panzio generally attracts budget, younger travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ryan_knapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Cash was stolen from my locked room while I slept.

The money was counted on the evening before I went to sleep and by the next morning it was gone.

Scarey that you can't even sleep in a locked room without someone ripping you off.

This was reported but the hotel said there was nothing they could do......

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller76London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Friendly and mostly helpful staff.

My room was what you would expect for a cheap place to stay, however, the bed was quite uncomfortable (could have done with a decent mattress or at least some more padding). It was a good size for a hostel, shared facilities are clean. Breakfast was decent enough, cold meats, rolls, bread, jams, 4 types of cereal, coffee, tea and fruit juice.

There can be quite a lot of noise at night as there is a youth club or some sort of social club as part of the church that the hostel is next to. There's no bar that's really nearby so bring a book!

Location was very convenient, there's a bus stop 200m from the hostel that is two stops away from Keleti station. All tourist guides will warn you against about hanging around for a train in Keleti station but you need not worry if it's for a bus. Four buses run from the hostel to Keleti station (5, 7, 173 & 973).

Unfortunately on two of the nights coming back, there were prostitutes standing on the corners of Chazar Andras Utca (the hostel road name) but there wasn't any trouble. And there were a few homeless people sleeping on the steps of the church but they were harmless and they don't understand anything else except Hungarian so they leave you alone.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JeanBlanc1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

very nice hostel, for people who don`t want to spend a lot of money. it has 3 stores and the rooms are big and full of light. the view from the room is not extraordinary but you don`t need that if you`re planning to travel through the city a lot.
it`s located near the main train station (keleti) - a 5 minutes walk. you can reach the streets of the center of the town by foot (10 minutes) or by bus (2 stations or so). anyhow, the danube and main sightseeings are not that close ... you need to go by metro for about 6-7 stations or walk for 30 minutes. but that`s a nice experience as well, since you can see al the important shops throughout the stroll and a very beautiful boulevard - one of the oldest in budapest (Andrassy Ut).
the stuff at the reception is not over friendly but they are always there for you. so if you have any questions don`t hesitate to ask because they will save you a lot of trouble and time.
the rooms are clean and the bedsheets are changed every 4 days. the bathrooms are shared and the shower rooms are on the corridor. that didn`t mind us at all since there are about 2 bathrooms and 2 shower rooms on each floor and they were never crowded.
breakfast included - very good food.
perfect hostel for couples and groups of young people who don`t ask for a lot of pampering. BUT i want to say that i went there with my parents, who are in their mid 50s and they also loved it. so i guess it depends on your standards. if you`re looking for some fancy place or some Hiltonish stuff better avoid Dominik.
but for hostel lovers, i believe you won`t regret booking a stay here. I know i didn`t :)

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bilutze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I stayed in this hostel for 4 nights with 8 of my friends and had a great time. It is located slightly outside the town centre but with a quick bus link to and from Astoria (which we could always walk to after a night out).

The man at reception was really friendly and arranged for taxis to collect us at the airport upon our arrival and this was a reasonable rate. He also phoned a restaurant for us one evening and made a reservation on our behalf.

The hostel has free internet which we found useful to pass the time when waiting for the rest of the group to get ready. There is also a supermarket within about 5-10 minute walk (you'd never find it on your own, but just ask at reception).

The beds are not very big and not very comfortable and whilst other members of my group found it difficult to sleep, I was fine! There were 4 showers on our floor (2 for men and 2 for women) and I tended to only use one as the other looked a little unclean.

I wouldn't recommend this to anyone other than as part of a cheap student group or for a one night stop over. If you're not planning on spending much time in your room then it's perfect!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lewlewlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Korona Panzio
#185 of 332 in Budapest
470 reviews
Rila Hotel
#248 of 332 in Budapest
88 reviews
Bai Panzio
#71 of 191 in Budapest
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hungaria Guesthouse
#142 of 191 in Budapest
54 reviews
Irini Panzio
#72 of 191 in Budapest
8 reviews
Gellert Hill
Hotel Bara
Hotel Bara
#139 of 191 in Budapest
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dominik Panzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dominik Panzio

Address: Chazar Andras utca 3, Budapest 1146, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #135 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range: $22 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dominik Panzio 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dominik Panzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dominik Panzio Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing