We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel”
Review of Atlas City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlas City Hotel
Ranked #243 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Stayed at the Atlas Hotel in Budapest over the weekend of the 30th August 2007.
The hotel is situated 15-20 minutes walk away from the Danube River, the surrounding buildings are a bit shabby looking. But do not be put off, the hotel is clean and tidy.
The lobby of the hotel had a 24 hour bar, payable internet access and a seating area.
We stayed in room 815 which was on the top floor away from the street/tram side.
The room was clean and tidy, it was made up of 2 single beds a TV, large wardrobe and Bathroom.
As you leave the hotel,turn left and approximately 3 doors down is a little bar. It's a local bar, but the atmosphere is very friendly and the bottled beer is only 80p.
They also do snack food which is very reasonable £1.50 for chicken and chips.
We also found an all you can eat restaurant within 5 minutes walk from the hotel, unfortunately I cannot remember the name.
Again you come out of the hotel and turn left, walk along the road until you come to the junction with the casino.
Cross over the tram line keeping the casino behind you. Walk down the side road until you come across the main road called "RAKOCZI UT" The restaurant is along this road on the left hand side.
If you can find it using my directions, its well worth it.
£10 pound for as much food and drink as you can eat.
We had a great day out at the outside Spa on the Buda side of "Szabadsag Hid" Bridge.
I hope this helps.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Smudger0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Atlas City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 545 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2007

Thought hotel was ok. Not massively central and a bit of a trek to go anywhere. Ok service with very good (and cheap!!) bar. They did do everything we asked (including booking cabs when we wanted to go out). However not great at recommending restaurants - although we found this hit and miss anyway.

Rooms themselves were large, clean and pleasant although shower was a bit odd and could be better. Recommended for those that just need somewhere to crash really or have a car.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justarover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

The first impression appeared to be one of a generally tidy looking hotel, once inside however the bar, restaurant and reception area are all within 40ft of each other, so the communal areas got very busy during peak times as seating was at a premium. During breakfast some guests had to eat in the bar area due to lack of tables and seating in the restaurant.
The room we stayed in was a comfortable size but basic. The air-conditioning was no better than a fan, the bathroom was dark and dingy and if you wanted to watch TV you’d better brush up on your Hungarian, ours only had one channel, the local news? All of this was made worse by ever present aroma of un-flushed toilet on the floor we were staying on.
The staff we encountered were on the whole fairly un-happy looking bunch with smiles and pleasantries few and far between. The hotel is a good 30 minutes walk from the Danube and town centre and stepping out of the hotel you got the impressions that it was in one of the poorer parts of the city. Although we didn’t encounter any trouble during our stay, the hotel employs security guards at night and one was observed being actually intimidating and confrontational to some of the guests while we were there.
It’s basic, in an unpleasant part of town and quite a distance from the centre, if you’re intending on staying here go with an open mind, very open.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTBman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

First, be very wary when booking hotels through the travel agencies located in Vienna's various train stations. I booked and pre-paid for what I was told was a 3 star hotel in one of Budapest's desirable neighborhoods. Turns out, the hotel is in one of the seediest parts of Budapest and relatively far from Deak Square.

The hotel is surrounded by old decaying buildings and is itself a dreary and stinking establishment - but you wouldn't guess that from the picture they show you of the hotel's exterior. The carpets are threadbare and there's a bad stale smell inside the hotel. The rooms are no better than dormitories with furnishings that are way past their useful life. Also, the air-conditioning did not work in one of the rooms they gave us initially. I was told the room faced a park - it turns out it faced their parking lot! While the bathrooms are tolerable, they're lit by a single 25W bulb and there's no provision to hang a towel or a change of clothes inside the bathroom - no soap dishes or shampoo holders either!

I had paid 325 Euros in advance for 3 nights. We checked out after our first night and sacrificed our payment for a better place that was cheaper and 5 mins from Deak Square.

Stay clear of this dump!!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2007

When I first saw the price for this hotel I thought there was either a mistake, or it would be a complete dive, however I have to say I was not let down.
While I wouldn't say it was a palace, it was totally adequate for the price.
The reception staff were helpful and the bar prices were very reasonable for a hotel.
Having read other reviews, it would seem the rooms vary somewhat. Our rooms (we had 3), were basically furnished but were clean and very spacious. Each room was booked for 2 people, but in fact had 6 single beds in each, although there was still plenty of floor space. Despite the multiple beds in each room I was glad we had separate rooms so that we had adequate bathroom time/towels.
The location wasn't too bad, but the walk from the metro got a little tiresome after a while.
I was woken one night by another group making noise in the corridor. The price clearly attracts stag/hen parties and large groups of young people (as we were), and so I wouldn't recomend this hotel to someone looking for a quiet stay.
The trams can wake you up in the morning, but there are shutters on the windows to block this out.
On the one occasion I got up for breakfast I wish I hadn't bothered though!
In conclusion, if you were looking for somewhere cheap to stay, in particular for a large group, and want an acceptable level of comfort and cleanliness, then this is perfect. Just don't expect complete peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

,Our stay at the hotel Atlas was for one night only to celebrate our wedding anniversary, for a low cost hotel we found the room comfortable, although the air conditioning did not appear to be working, staff were friendly and the breakfast was adequate. The main problem with the hotel was the fact that we were there over the weekend and it does appear to be a very popular place for stag groups
in the main it wasn't too much of a problem and one large group at the hotel which happened to be on the same flights as us were particularly friendly, but they were one of at least 3 groups there. We were trying to have a drink in the bar before going out for our evening meal and it was made very unpleasant by a rowdy group one of which tried to trick us into thinking the bar was closed using a fake
notice. when we went to ask at reception how long before the bar would be open they didn't know what we were talking about and we were
made to feel really stupid. It must have been a huge joke for the stag group but not so for us who were also trying to celebrate a special occasion..As an inexpensive hotel it is good value, basic but clean rooms, friendly staff and within walking distance {about 30mins} to the touristy part, but I would advise a midweek visit. All in all I don't think it is a hotel we would return to.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

The hotel looks very modern from the outside and inside. The rooms were large and were very comfortable. I paid an extra 10 euros a night at reception and upgraded to the Jacuzzi room. It was a much bigger room than the standard room, which my friends stayed in and worth the money. The rooms had a TV with BBC World Service, Euro sport and CNN (English speaking channels) and German MTV if you wanted music.

A few reviews mention that the bathrooms smell of sewage – I did not notice this in my room and after speaking to guests neither did there rooms.

Breakfast was your typical Bread rolls, ham, cheese, jam, sausage, scrambled eggs and cereal etc. The bar was a typical hotel bar with no noise after midnight. They had 2 security guards, who were not that big, but I was told were ex special forces and took no nonsense from any one breaking the silence rule. The bar was quite cheap around £1 for a bottle of beer or £1.60 a pint of Heineken. The bar next door to the hotel (heading towards the metro stop) was much cheaper at 68p a pint of local beer and a double vodka and coke for £1.20. It doesn’t look that nice from the outside but we (2 couples) had a great time in the place and they have a drinks menu in English on the wall.

There were a couple of stag do’s staying on the Saturday night and a few American students, but most of the guests were couples and families in the hotel. Any load noises were dealt with immediately by hotel security.
.
This hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the nearest Metro station. It is located in a residential area and is situated in a typical Eastern European inner city tower block area. You don’t have to worry as we walked up and down the road at all hours and never felt unsafe. It can get a bit noisy with the trams running up and down the road, but they stop at 11pm and never woke me up in the morning when they re started.

The Otton Etterem is mentioned in an earlier review. We went up there on the one night to eat and the food was amazing value for money and a bottle of house white cost about £2.50 (it was actually nice wine as well). I would say that most people staying in the hotel had been up there for at least one meal. Leave the hotel to the right (opposite way to metro station), walk for 5 minutes until the next road junction. The restaurant is on the opposite side of the road and is down stairs.

We enjoyed Budapest and the hotel so much I’m going back again in September!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank welshboy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 333 in Budapest
350 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#246 of 333 in Budapest
218 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#210 of 333 in Budapest
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#125 of 333 in Budapest
546 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 333 in Budapest
492 reviews
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
#188 of 333 in Budapest
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas City Hotel

Address: Nepszinhaz utca 39 - 41, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $40 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Atlas City Hotel is located in Budapest city centre, adjacent to the Grand Boulevard, only 600m away from Blaha Lujza M2 red metro station and a 15-minute walk from Keleti Pályaudvar, international railway station, near pubs, restaurants and popular public areas. Atlas City Hotel’s spacious, well-equipped rooms, all with adjustable air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms, are ideal for individual travellers, groups and business travellers alike. There are non-smoking rooms. The hotel has enclosed secure parking facilities for guests arriving by car. The popularity of the Atlas City Hotel is due to the highest level of service, homely atmosphere, central location in Budapest, as well as our competitive prices. The staff’s goal is to satisfy our guests’ needs and we sincerely hope to win your approval, and welcome you at the Atlas City Hotel Budapest in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlas City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing