We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of Atlas City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlas City Hotel
Ranked #244 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed May 20, 2010

We were booked into Atlas by an agent and were a bit worried before arriving. The hotel fit our needs perfectly. We were on a stag do. The place is cheap and cheerful. We walked down a fairly quiet street to the main high street in 5-10 minutes. We found everything we needed there.
We used triple rooms to cut costs a bit. I recommend this hotel for people on a budget. It's perfect.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sammy1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    98
    153
    101
    98
See reviews for
78
137
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bath
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2010

There was alot of construction going on on the second floor, mainly around rooms 215 and 213!?
The furniture was very sub-standard, especially the beds and light fittings. also the mini bar fridges didn't work very well. the breakfast was like something from a tramps soup kitchen!!! The area around the hotel is like beirut back in the eighties! be careful out there!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fathertedbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2009

This hotel is located ten minutes walk from a busy Metro station and tram terminal, and about 5 mins. away from the Keleti train station. From there it is one metro stop to the Great synagogue and two to the Parliament. So it is not centrally located, on the other hand the neighborhood is generally quiet, although the tram on the street does start running at 6 AM.
We had a large room which was a converted apartment, since we were traveling with our 11 year old. The breakfast was decent, but not outstanding. The reception staff was very helpful.
There was nothing special about this hotel, but we had good value for the price we paid.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mth_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The Atlas is reasonable value in a city which is becoming more expensive very quickly. Our double room was large and reasonably furnished except for lack of shelves or counters, particularly in the bathroom and no hairdryer. The back rooms are quiet and there is a spacious bar/lounge area downstairs. Although trams run outside the hotel, it's a 10 minute walk to transport to take you to the city centre.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dianagray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

Location rather out of the way- it is a 25 minute walk to the 'town centre' the rooms were fine for the low price. Watch out for the rather dismal 'cooked breakfast' and steer clear of the sausages, a good vet would have them barking/moo-ing. Dont let the receptionist order you a taxi, the taxi will arrive, the driver will go into reception and they will discuss how much they think they can get away with charging you! Make them put the meter on! However...............as a value hotel, go for it if budget is your priority.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ladiesman217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Noise from the street is a little bit disturbing (especially when you're trying to sleep). Can't spend time in the hotel, because there is nothing to do... but a bar at downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HESSUJoensuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

we came to this hotel with an open mind as we did get a good deal when booking. when we arrived we were a bit disappointed though as we had been told it was in the city centre however it was about 20 to 30 mins walk to the actual centre. it is worth going into the main area at night as there are not many good places to eat near the hotel, its about 5mins to the metro station though. the area around the hotel is very shabby and i was glad i was with a group as i dont think i would have felt very safe alone here. there were also a lot of vagrants in this area and the hotel told us to be careful with handbags etc. we stayed for 3 nights and only ate breakfast at the hotel one morning as it wasnt that great. the bar however was very cheap and stayed open til late. our room was quite clean but a little noisy because it was at the front of the hotel and there is a tram line directly outside in the street.

budapest itself though is a lovely city and we would return, however not to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snorklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#132 of 333 in Budapest
328 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#246 of 333 in Budapest
202 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#190 of 333 in Budapest
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#135 of 333 in Budapest
513 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#159 of 333 in Budapest
459 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#209 of 333 in Budapest
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas City Hotel

Property: Atlas City Hotel
Address: Nepszinhaz utca 39 - 41, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Atlas City Hotel is located in Budapest city centre, adjacent to the Grand Boulevard, only 600m away from Blaha Lujza M2 red metro station and a 15-minute walk from Keleti Pályaudvar, international railway station, near pubs, restaurants and popular public areas. Atlas City Hotel’s spacious, well-equipped rooms, all with adjustable air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms, are ideal for individual travellers, groups and business travellers alike. There are non-smoking rooms. The hotel has enclosed secure parking facilities for guests arriving by car. The popularity of the Atlas City Hotel is due to the highest level of service, homely atmosphere, central location in Budapest, as well as our competitive prices. The staff’s goal is to satisfy our guests’ needs and we sincerely hope to win your approval, and welcome you at the Atlas City Hotel Budapest in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlas City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing