We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel”
Review of Atlas City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlas City Hotel
Ranked #243 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed July 28, 2009

Noise from the street is a little bit disturbing (especially when you're trying to sleep). Can't spend time in the hotel, because there is nothing to do... but a bar at downstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HESSUJoensuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
There are newer reviews for Atlas City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 545 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2009

we came to this hotel with an open mind as we did get a good deal when booking. when we arrived we were a bit disappointed though as we had been told it was in the city centre however it was about 20 to 30 mins walk to the actual centre. it is worth going into the main area at night as there are not many good places to eat near the hotel, its about 5mins to the metro station though. the area around the hotel is very shabby and i was glad i was with a group as i dont think i would have felt very safe alone here. there were also a lot of vagrants in this area and the hotel told us to be careful with handbags etc. we stayed for 3 nights and only ate breakfast at the hotel one morning as it wasnt that great. the bar however was very cheap and stayed open til late. our room was quite clean but a little noisy because it was at the front of the hotel and there is a tram line directly outside in the street.

budapest itself though is a lovely city and we would return, however not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snorklebum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

+ Really, really friendly stuff! :o)
+ Air-contioned rooms
- rooms were sooo dusty and dirty! We stayed there with 10 months old baby and we couldn't let her on the floor at all. And also if you self are allergic, don't book a room from here! *Jaiks!*
- Surrounding of the hotel was also really untidy. Only the centrums of Buda and Best were beautiful and well-cared so maybe this hotel is just located too far from the centrum.
- A long way (almost 3 km) to the centrum and also to the metro stop. So we had to walk a lot anyway even we used a lot of metro.
- Don't expect very delicious and diverse breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ripirii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2009

Beware of this hotel for a lot of diffrent reasons,1 not in the city center,2 a fare walk 2 metro,3 area around hotel is poor and i wnt walk around after 6 on your own.Says hotel more like a hostle.The staff very helpfull with directions and questions.we would come back to Budapest but diff area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blade123Athlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

8 of us stayed here early march'09 for a Stag Do. For what we needed it for it was fine. I wouldn't have liked it if i had come with my wife for a weekend though. But for those looking for reasonably cheap accomodation and don't mind too much what it's like or where it is then go for it.

It's a bit of a walk into the centre. I'd say about 30 mins, apparently you can get the metro, but we just got taxi's (always marked ones, never unmarked).

In terms of a stag do location it maybe wasn't up there with others, just because there doesn't appear to be a central drinking area that other cities have. We founfd ourselves getting taxis from bar to bar. Still had a great time though. Heard some horror stories from other stag do's staying at the hotel about having to removed by bouncers and forced to take out £100's to pay for drinks. We're a sensible lot and didn't have a single problem

Would i go with my wife? No

Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
Thank chrisgarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2008

Reception Staff very friendly.
Room and bathroom very poor on cleanliness!!
Be warned... do not use the 'safe' in the room as it can be removed (with all your personal items in it!!!)!
It is not that near to the main centre you need to walk about 10 minutes to get to the Metro to get a train into the main drag.
Area a bit iffy...

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

I currently stayed at the Atlas Hotel in Budapest, Hungary. I was travelling around Eastern Europe with a tour group and this was one of the hotels we stayed in for 2 nights. It was a lovely hotel to stay in with very nice employees. They were really helpful in changing our money, giving us directions and helping us get a taxi to our airport at the end of our trip. The rooms were delightful and very pleasant and clean and a very good size, with 3 beds in some rooms although there was only two of us staying in the room, plent of space for us to move around. The 24 hour bar also went down a treat as with us being on a tour group of just over 20 people, everyone was up for a good time! The hotel was a bus ride away from the main heart of Budapest were there was many of beautiful sights to see. I would recommend this hotel to others travelling to Budapest and would definately stay there again if i was ever to return to the country.
Sarah, 20, Liverpool, U.K.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank xsarahx07x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#128 of 332 in Budapest
350 reviews
Atlantic Hotel
#246 of 332 in Budapest
218 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#210 of 332 in Budapest
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#124 of 332 in Budapest
546 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#160 of 332 in Budapest
492 reviews
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
#188 of 332 in Budapest
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlas City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas City Hotel

Address: Nepszinhaz utca 39 - 41, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $43 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The three-star Atlas City Hotel is located in Budapest city centre, adjacent to the Grand Boulevard, only 600m away from Blaha Lujza M2 red metro station and a 15-minute walk from Keleti Pályaudvar, international railway station, near pubs, restaurants and popular public areas. Atlas City Hotel’s spacious, well-equipped rooms, all with adjustable air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms, are ideal for individual travellers, groups and business travellers alike. There are non-smoking rooms. The hotel has enclosed secure parking facilities for guests arriving by car. The popularity of the Atlas City Hotel is due to the highest level of service, homely atmosphere, central location in Budapest, as well as our competitive prices. The staff’s goal is to satisfy our guests’ needs and we sincerely hope to win your approval, and welcome you at the Atlas City Hotel Budapest in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atlas City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing