We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel Swing City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Swing City
Ranked #275 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Felixstowe
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I booked this Hotel for a one night stay while visiting my Dentist for Root Canal Treatment, thus I wanted a quite hotel where I could relax after treatment. That's exactly what I got.

The registration was quick as I had pre-booked. My room, although dated, was clean and with an outside temperature of 39C the room was quite warm, until I switched on the Air Conditioning (a bonus in my view). Whilst the Hotel is on one of the main streets of Budapest the room was relatively quiet, with the occasional rumble of the trams passing by.

Breakfast was simple and plentiful and checking out was also quick and simple.

Looking at some of the reviews on here I was mildly surprised at how lucky I was and considering that this room with A/C and breakfast was £20 for the night - bargain.

If you expect a Hotel to offer the facilities of the Ritz or the Savoy then that's where you should book, but don't expect to pay £20. I am a firm believer of "You get what you pay for" and in this case I think that I actually got extremely good value for my money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philamey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    48
    42
    52
See reviews for
24
62
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Bad breakfast, dirty rooms (including food on the floor), smelled bad, rude receptionists, area seemed unsafe, bathroom dirty etc. Can't really say anything good about it.. Cheap, but isn't even worth it.. Hotel didn't have it's own bath, gym, restaurant or pub, atm etc, which were mentioned as services... Asked to use air condition of the room because it was off, answer was that you don't need to use it yet... DON'T BOOK IT!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FinTravelFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed for a seven night sightseeing break. If your travelling light it takes about 45mins to an hour on public transport from the airport. Bus 200E to Kobanya Kispest then the metro to Ferenc Korut, a five minute walk from there and only 320HUF!

Although the surrounding sex shops and bars make the area feel a little seedy i did'nt encounter any trouble or feel threatened in anyway.

Room 51 was large with high ceilings and windows opening into a court yard balcony. The basic room was cleaned daily and fresh towels were a plenty.

Fresh continental breakfast consisted of local breads, meats and cheeses. Fresh coffee and toasters plus juices, cerials, jams and yoghurt. Breakfast staff and cleaners always had a smile.

Daytime reception staff extremely helpful. Catch a tram directly outside the hotel, or within easy walking distance central market hall or "Raday Utka" foodie streets. Bakeries and supermarkets are also not far away.

Great value for money (don't forget 100HUF per night government tax) Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank memento_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Me and my partner spent 6 nights there and it was super for our needs : location, a bed, bathroom, somekind of breakfast and 24 h reception. The location and prices are great and their wi-fi is super ! At least in our room and almost worth the price alone. They do not clean the rooms every day, but then again, who changes bedsheets every day at home? Got new towels whenever we wanted and the ppl working there are very nice! And yes, the bed is hard :) NOt too good standard, but it was just what we needed for our time there.

Room Tip: Get near the wi-fi hot spot! And a room away from the street probably :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2012

dont believe the pictures, hardest bed I have slept in, no remote for the T.V, no lamps, no kettle, random pieces of furniture with little use. broken shower head and faulty sink plug and damp in bathroom and bedroom. also the staff were probably the most unhelpful and unwelcoming people I have ever come across. shouldnt be called a hotel, more like a bad hostel.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Rooms were not bad bud there was a bit dust all over the furniture and floor.

Location is excellent, trams are across the street and is a big avenue with everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Luna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2011

They got bed bugs, so i cant recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harri v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Thomas
#221 of 334 in Budapest
58 reviews
Rila Hotel
#245 of 334 in Budapest
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel
#247 of 334 in Budapest
214 reviews
Hotel Gloria
#237 of 334 in Budapest
217 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#209 of 334 in Budapest
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Swing City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Swing City

Property: Hotel Swing City
Address: Ferenc koerut 19-21, Budapest 1094, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Swing City 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our three-star hotel, which is situated within the heart of Budapest, on the main boulevard, offers our guests a pleasant stay with its friendly atmosphere of intimacy. We ensure closed parking place to those guests who arrive by car. All of our hotelrooms are air-conditioned and equipped with shower, lavatory, television, telephone, mini bar, and safe box . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Swing City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swing City Pension Hotel Budapest
Swing City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing