We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“returning guests”
Review of Leo Panzio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leo Panzio Hotel
Ranked #125 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“returning guests”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here 6 years ago, and on our travels again,
and because of our good experience we came back.
Paul at reception was still there. as efficient and helpful as before.
Our room big, a tad dark, but a good view.
Whist not Leo Panzio's fault, there was major earthworks outside.
This also made getting around more difficult.
Highly reccomended.

Room Tip: Room 8 is still great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    109
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
102
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Leo Panzio hotel's location is unbeatable and we found it exceptionally good value for money. The rooms are beautifully warm (this was important as we were coming from 36 degrees in Sri Lanka to 6 degrees in Budapest!) with ever so comfy beds. Spotless bathroom with a super power shower! Everyone was incredibly charming and went out of their way to please - i was so touched by the lovely lady who gave us breakfast each morning and went out of her way to see that i had my coffee the way i like it - it's those little things like that which make a hotel that much more homely and somewhere we will always return to. We couldn't recommend this place more highly. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay a memorable one - never fear, we shall be back! Mandy and Suresh Mudannayake

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel tucked away in a magnificent old building with a restored vintage elevator. Get off at Ferenciek Tere metro and the entry to the hotel is right there. Staff were friendly and we were able to check-in early, at 9.30am. Comfortable beds, clean room. Great location, the mall on your doorstep and the river a couple of blocks away.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thomasofaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Allington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was small, warm and staffed by friendly people who made it their job to feed us with loads of very useful data, nothing too much trouble, breakfast was continental style but very nice. Rooms were a little dark with poor lighting. The hotel room on the front was noisy due to massive amount of work being done on the subway and metro. Additional because of that work there were several homeless people encamped outside the hotel, but to be truthful they were neither intimidating nor a nuisance at all. Would happily stay there again in the future.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We just stayed 6 nights and were very pleased with the overall value. The rooms were spotless and ours (#8) was spacious with a great view. Our friend stayed in a single room which was a lot smaller, but it was still clean and good value.

We always looked forward to being greeted by Paul who made our trip complete! He was professional, friendly and helpful. We would absolutely stay here again if we re-visit Budapest.

Room Tip: #8 was great! Very spacious and great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoshiEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
589 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We chose this hotel for its unbeatable location almost in front of the Gellert Hill in Budapest, next to Elisabeth's bridge. It is located at one of the main streets of the city, so you might want to remember that you will need to use the air conditioning most of the time. Windows are very good and they block the noise but when you open them the noise is very very loud.
The hotel itself is located in an old building when the locals live. The hotel (14 rooms) occupy the third floor of the building. The floors are very high - I'd say about 3,5 meters high. You will need to use an old elevator to get there. There are not many such elevators still left in old buildings.
The rooms are spacious and equipped with new furniture. There is an old TV set, and almost only with Hungarian channels (only CNN in English and no channel to watch the Euro 2012 matches). There is also a mini bar/small fridge.
Just opposite the hotel you will find a 24-hour shop (Match) with food and drinks but remember that in Hungary the sale of alcoholic drinks in markets/shops is forbidden between 10 pm and 6 am (as in Spain).
Breakfast is basic, nothing hot to eat except toasts :-) You can choose between cereal, muesli, one type of saussage, cheese, some tomatoes and peppers, jam and Nutella (also coffee, tea and juices included).
All in all we enjoyed our stay. From Leo Panzio you can reach many places on foot, and the metro station "Ferenciek ter" is just under the building :-)

Room Tip: Only rooms 1 and 7 do not face the street and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Małgorzata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitman
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We have stayed here several times and are always satisfied. The staff is very helpful. The facility is very clean. After you get use to the entrance it is great.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 334 in Budapest
848 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#130 of 334 in Budapest
523 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#53 of 334 in Budapest
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
1,469 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 334 in Budapest
705 reviews
District V / Inner City
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
#35 of 334 in Budapest
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo Panzio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo Panzio Hotel

Property: Leo Panzio Hotel
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 2/A, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leo Panzio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LEO Boutique Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in downtown Budapest in the heart of the business and shopping area. The Hotel is equally suitable for businessmen and tourists looking for central location and elegant furnished rooms. The hotel is close to Vaci utca, the main luxury shopping street, where upscale stores, romantic restaurants, and many old historical buildings can be found. The CORSO (promenade) on the bank of the Danube is a two minute walk. The ships and buses also leave from there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leo Panzio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo Panzio Budapest
Leo Panzio Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing