We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean & convenient option in Pest”
Review of Leo Panzio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leo Panzio Hotel
Ranked #125 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“clean & convenient option in Pest”
Reviewed November 3, 2007

My wife and I just returned from a week spent at the Leo Panzio in Budapest. The small hotel was perfect for us, affordable, comfortable, conveniently located in central Pest, and clean. We had a room overlooking the major downtown artery, Kossuth Lajos and the square Ferenciek Tere; however, traffic noise was not a problem and we were able to sleep in undisturbed as we got over jetlag.

The room is cozy, as in small, reminding me of some smaller rooms I've had in Japan. The queen sized bed filled up most of the main room, with just a couple feet of space on either side of the bed and then a desk, small refrigerator, and tv cabinet at the foot of the bed. Both the room and bathroom were nice and clean.

The hotel is nicely situation in central Pest, with the metro stop immediately outside the hotel, the touristry pedestrian walking street Vaci Utca a half block from the hotel, and the Danube a couple blocks away, with direct access to Buda via the Elizabeth Bridge.

The staff was very helpful, proactively asking if we needed any assistance setting up reservations and offering their input on plans that we shared. The desk was manned 24 hours a day, so coming and going is completely at your own schedule.

  • Liked — friendly / proactive staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank billforshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    109
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
102
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

Leo Panzio was perfectly located for our trip purpose, which was city weekend getaway for young couple. Very short walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping and public transportation. But the hotel entrance is bit difficult to point and large backages are terrible to carry upstairs. Staff were nice, but still even in Hungary the breakfast selection is normally much larger. But, but you get what you pay, good for budget traveller.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria_bj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

Look no further. Leo Panzio is a wonderful place to stay in Budapest. With the proper research, I have always been pleased with the highly-rated hotels and inns I have found on TripAdvisor. Leo Panzio was no exception.

This hotel is located within a large office/apartment building in central Budapest. No need for taxis, you can walk to just about everywhere from the hotel. As other reviewers have indicated, the outside of the building appears foreboding, as does the entrance. An ancient, but functional elevator takes you up to the hotel on the second floor. Here everything changes in appearance. The hotel is modern, well-lighted and clean. The rooms look new and are spacious. I found the staff very courteous. They went out of their way to be helpful. Breakfast is served in a small dining room and was quite good. To my surprise the hotel had high-speed wireless, for which there was no charge.

There is much to see and do in Budapest. The Leo Panzio was quite reasonable. Take what you save on accommodations and spend it elsewhere. You will have a great time.

  • Liked — Great location. Excellent accomodations. Friendly and helpful staff.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DoctorPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
são paulo, brasil
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

The entrance of the building it is located is scary, even more if you're arriving late at night (1h00 am in our case). But from the inside, it is very nice. The staff is friendly overall, specially the old lady that serves the breakfast (excelent, by the way), and offers you some "toasts" (certainly the only english word she knows). The room is very good, large and clean, renovated. The bathroom is excelent (best bath in my long 3-week trip in eastern europe). And the location couldn't be better: in center, next to a subway station. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — bath
  • Disliked — entrance
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank preá
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Just had 4 nights at the Leo Panzio and can highly recommend it. Don't be put off by the entrance which looks a bit seedy. Great location and even though we were on a busy street, the double glazing worked well. Just across the road from the metro and walking distance to most sights. A warning, if using the underground. One ticket only covers one line and you cannot transfer to another line on the same ticket. We found out the hard way!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldtraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Good location. Close to most attractions and easy access to public transit for those more distant. The room was clean and comfortable. It may have been a bit cramped, but made up for as the price was substantially lower than other hotels in the area. This is in a classic old Budapest building with wide stairs should you not want to wait for the lovely, but a little slow old style elevator. Staff was friendly and helpful and spoke good English. It has been a couple of years since my visit, but a friend went there a few months ago and was similarly impressed. This is my first choice whenever I return to Budapest.

  • Liked — Location and architecture
  • Disliked — somewhat small room
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank twotips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

We stayed 4 nights in June at the Leo Panzio, and were pleased with the accomodations and the price. Rooms in Budapest are pretty expensive, so a nice double room, including breakfast, for only 89 Euros per night, was a good deal! Our room was clean, the bed comfortable, and quiet when the excellant dual-paned windows were closed. The staff, especially Pál, was very helpful and we were able to use our laptop in the lobby with free WiFi. From that location, we were able to get anywhere in the city easily, and we found good restaurants nearby. We were able to use a credit card, as you can in most hotels. Breakfast was simple, but certainly adequate. The elevator is really cool!

  • Liked — It's a good value.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MayDayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#76 of 334 in Budapest
848 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Hotel Pilvax
City Hotel Pilvax
#130 of 334 in Budapest
523 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#53 of 334 in Budapest
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
1,469 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#42 of 334 in Budapest
705 reviews
District V / Inner City
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
Gerloczy Rooms de Lux
#35 of 334 in Budapest
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo Panzio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo Panzio Hotel

Property: Leo Panzio Hotel
Address: Kossuth Lajos utca 2/A, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leo Panzio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The LEO Boutique Hotel enjoys a fantastic location in downtown Budapest in the heart of the business and shopping area. The Hotel is equally suitable for businessmen and tourists looking for central location and elegant furnished rooms. The hotel is close to Vaci utca, the main luxury shopping street, where upscale stores, romantic restaurants, and many old historical buildings can be found. The CORSO (promenade) on the bank of the Danube is a two minute walk. The ships and buses also leave from there. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leo Panzio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo Panzio Budapest
Leo Panzio Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing