We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casati Budapest Hotel
Ranked #8 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've just returned home after 4 nights at the Casati and thought it was a great find. Loved the hotel décor, staff were very friendly and helpful and we thought that there was quite a good choice at breakfast for such a small hotel. The location, a very short walk from the Opera House with a Metro station and a bus stop for all the main hop-on/hop-off routes, was excellent and very close to plenty of bars and restaurants in the evening.

A few very small niggles stopped me giving the hotel 5 stars. There were no drawers whatsoever in the room and only a very small wardrobe, which wasn't too much of an inconvenience for a summer visit when we were travelling very light, but I think it would have been annoying if we had been visiting in winter with lots of bulky warm clothes to store. The only mirror with a plug socket near to it (for my hair straighteners!) was in the bathroom and like many British people I refuse to plug any electrical appliance into a bathroom outlet, so that made getting ready to go out a little awkward. Finally, the tiny shower screen was completely inadequate for stopping the bathroom floor getting wet and slippery and really needs to be twice as wide as it is.

On balance, there are far more good things than bad about this hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to go back there if I was returning to Budapest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Xenos,
In the name of my staff, let me thank you for writing your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding to your stay at Casati Budapest Hotel. We are happy to read that all in all you had a great experience and would recommend our hotel to other visitors coming to the city. Special thanks for pointing out our location in the cultural hub of Budapest, nice décor, friendly and professional staff, as well as the wide range of breakfast - we hope you had a glass of sparkling wine too! Thank you for your notice regarding to the lack of drawers, we will try to figure out some solution for the winter season. We hope we can welcome you back soon at Casati.
Best regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    228
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
666
79
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tas, Aus
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Casati is a great hotel. Very stylist and comfortable with helpful staff. Its in a brilliant location on a quiet street but close to bars and restaurants. The breakfasts was good and the room spacious. Would definitely return here and recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear DitaMcP,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind feedback regarding to your recent stay at Casati Budapest Hotel. Great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us, and you were satisfied with our central location, artsy design, delicious full buffet breakfast and spacious room. We are glad that we could give you all the information needed.
Did you also try our relaxing Finnish sauna, massage service and fitness room?
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at Casati.
Kind regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

not to be put off by the construction work nearby and a few homeless men around, the Casati is in a good spot with regards to getting around all the main sights of Budapest.
The rooms are a good size and nice and clean, the only negative was the cupboard space in room 25 only 1 shelf. The Internet was a bit difficult to connect to in the beginning but once connected it was fine.
Breakfast is fine for a couple of days but gets a bit dull after a while.
The rooms have ac but weren't that effective, unless our just needed maintaining

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Louise S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding to your stay at Casati Budapest Hotel. Our location is indeed superb, close to the main attractions and transportation junctures. We are happy that you liked the spacious and clean room. We are sorry to read that you were not totally satisfied with our buffet breakfast, we will try to widen the selection. Thank you for your notice regarding to the AC, we will definitely maintain it this week. Please come back soon and try the difference.
Kindest regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

First of all, this is a COOL hotel. You immediately get the artsy vibe when you walk in the door! We were welcomed, offered a beverage and given brochures for our stay. Loved the style of the room with the separate bathroom and safe. Great location near the Opera House which is a stop for the tourist buses. We walked just about everywhere and there was much to see and do in both directions. Don't be fooled by some of the sadder looking buildings, this is a city under construction and it's lovely! Great breakfast in a really COOL (yes I said it again) room. Didn't check out the bar but it was nice to know you could get a drink 24/7 if you wanted one. The internet was not compatible with my Kindle but there is a wine bar right down the street that has free wifi. Our main problem was that the room was so stuffy. Even when we had the A/C turned up high, it just didn't cut it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauralikesthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Lauralikesthebeach, In the name of my colleagues, let me thank you for your kind feedback regarding to your recent stay at Casati Budapest Hotel. We are delighted to read that you had a great time with us right from the arrival. The design of our hotel is truly unique, the interior was created by a group of Hungarian artists - did you know that there are different paintings in each room? Thank you for your notice regarding to the AC, we have already checked and repaired the system. We are lookng forward to welcoming you soon again at Casati.
Kind regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a 4 night stay after reading good reviews at Tripadvisor, and we are glad to say the good ratings are well deserved. Couldn't have hoped for a more helpful and friendly staff, and their advice pointed us in the right direction several times. The hotel is better located than we imagined, and there are numerus good resturants nearby. Places like Menza, Klassz, Faustos and Trofea are in a short walking distance, and the ruin nightclub next door to the hotel (Ankert) was a great place to end the evening. We stayed at the hotel the last weekend of july, and had a great experience at Hungaroring during the F1 grand prix. We are not custom to tempratures between 35-40'C (north-Norwegians as we are) so we found it hot as h.., but the aircondition at the hotel worked just fine to keep us comfortable in the room. We found the room modern, quiet (facing the backyard) and clean. Comfy beds and a safe big enough to house a laptop was appreciated. The only dissapiontment we had during our stay was the lack of WiFi-connection. The signal was strong the first night, but completely gone the other nights. Otherwise we had a great stay at the hotel, and would go back the next time visit the beautiful city of Budapest. Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phanzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Phanzi,

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your kind feedback regarding to your 4-night-long stay at Casati Budapest Hotel. We are pleased to read that you were fascinated by our hotel and the city. Special thanks for pointing out our superb location, artsy room and great services. I will pass on your nice words to my helpful staff, they are always doing their best at work. Thanks for your notice regarding to the poor internet connection, our WiFi network was overwhelmed in the end of july, but we have already repaired the system. We truly hope we can welcome you soon againt at Casati!
Kindest regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely staff, great location, rooms fine but Internet very inconsistent and not generally compatible with IPad or IPhone. Hit or miss connectivity all during the stay, great value otherwise. Near Opera House and walking distance to major attractions,

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acieu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Acieu A,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor regarding to your stay at Casati Budapest Hotel. We are glad to read that you had a joyful stay in Budapest. Special thanks for pointing out our central location near the main attractions, welcoming and professional staff as well as the nice and spacious room. Thank you for your notice regarding to the internet connection, we restarted the system. A compimentary business corner is also available in our hall 24/7. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again soon at Casati.
Kind regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel at the last minute not realising what an unusual place it is. Every part of the hotel is stylishly artistic with incredible attention to detail. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable, and the staff friendly and welcoming (starting with a refreshing welcoming drink at check in). The bar was a nice place for a reasonably priced drink and the breakfasts were good quality with a good range of food. Luggage storage was offered to us without asking. It really has everything you could want from a hotel plus its own unique style (I would love to see some of the other rooms). I just wish we had booked more than one night there!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fyrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabor E, General Manager at Casati Budapest Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Fyrish,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback regarding to your recent stay at Casati Budapest Hotel.We are pleased to read that you liked the unique style of the spacious room, the wide range of breakfast, as well as that you enjoyed your time in our modern, colorful bar. I will pass on your kind words to my great colleagues that will motivate them even more. We truly hope that you can come back soon and spend more time with us - feel free to choose between the four room styles: Classic, Cool, Natural and Heaven in advance!
Kind regards,
Gabor Erdos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,788 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,030 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 334 in Budapest
2,210 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#12 of 334 in Budapest
2,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casati Budapest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casati Budapest Hotel

Property: Casati Budapest Hotel
Address: Paulay Ede utca 31., Budapest 1061, Hungary (Formerly Hotel Pest)
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Business Hotel in Budapest
#32 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casati Budapest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casati Budapest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing