We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matrjoska bisztro

Matrjoska bisztro
Ranked #58 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Russian, Eastern European, Central European, International, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

What a lucky find..we just happened to be passing by thought it looked nice and decided to eat. It was by far the best meal we had on our 4 day trip. Everything we ordered was delicious, from the fabulous caviar starter to the most delectable sweet delights..Yummy! and the wine was great too. The service was excellent the waiters were friendly, helpful and all their recommendations spot on. All in all a great night for a very reasonable price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 348ElizaW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    131
    19
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
oscar1995
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Beautiful food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were staying in the hotel next to the restaurant and on our first night went into the centre to eat and then stopped here simply for a late night drink sat outside on our return, the staff were friendly and the menu looked nice so we opted to eat here the next night. What a find !!! the food was fantastic I had the fish of the day and my husband the belly pork with king prawns all were top notch, with starters and 2 drinks each it was about £30 !! would have been £100 in a restaurant of that standard in my home town.
Staff were friendly and taught me kosonom "thank you" in Hungarian, so Kosonom to all the staff for our best meal in Budapest.
Our only disappointment was we wanted to eat there again the following night I even chose what I was going to eat but it was shut as it was Sunday !! :-(

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oscar1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“OK food - terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We went to Matrjoska Bisztro a couple of times. The food was quite good in terms of taste, but we got indigestion both times which suggested it may not have been that fresh. However, the service is very hit-and-miss. We ordered a bottle of white wine, but were given a glass. We ordered one glass of red wine, but were brought two. We ordered bread, but it never arrived, even after a reminder. We asked for water, and were given one glass to drink it from. We complained to staff, but they responded with rudeness and aggression. We noticed other customers were waiting a long time to get served, and they seem to serve on an ad hoc basis, not in terms of which customers arrive first. It's pretty dead by 10pm, and closed by 11pm. We decided we'd never go back there again - try the SKS Caffe restaurant at the far end of the same street: cheaper, better food and excellent, friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent Russian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed across the street at Hotel Palazzo Zichy. Went to the bistro for dinner after reading good reviews. Started with caviar and both my husband and I had the duck and asparagus. We would have returned for dinner our last night in Budapest which we always save for the restaurant we enjoyed the most dinner during our visit but unfortunately the restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday. We'll just have to save the vodka tasting for next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quality food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Palazzo Zichy in the same square as Matrjoska and dropped in to the bistro for lunch one day. The restaurant was nearly empty. It is new, nicely designed, with a Russian-inspired menu. Our waiter was very friendly and a pleasure to talk to.
The food was very good and good value for money. When traveling, we make it a practice to try different restaurants for each meal so we only ate here once. However, if Matrjoska were in our home town we would be regular visitors.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fellwalker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matrjoska bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Matrjoska bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing