We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable!”

Hungarian State Folk Ensemble
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.43*
and up
Hungarian State Folk Ensemble Performances in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hungarian State Folk Ensemble - regarded as one of the best in Hungary, was established in 1951.Its aims were to collect and play authentic folk music and to preserve the Hungarian folk dances and traditional costumes of Hungarian-inhabited areas by putting them on stage for the public.During the more than five decades of its existence, the Ensemble has achieved its aim by revitalizing the culture of the Hungarian people. Their rich and colourful repertoire entitled the Ensemble to be regarded as one of the top touring groups in the world. It has performed in 44 countries across four continents and won the admiration of an audience of more than seven and a half million people. In the last few years the Ensemble encountered special interest in the United States and Canada - which was illustrated by their fourth invitation to undertake a three-month coast to coast American tour in 1994. They have also toured the Far East and Western Europe. The Ensemble consists of 30 dancers, 14 members of the Gipsy Orchestra and 5 members of the Hungarian Folk Orchestra. The choreographies are all based on authentic dances, some of them were collected in isolated villages with dance elements dating back hundreds of years. The extraordinary folk music that inspired Liszt, Bartok and Kodaly is put on stage by both the Folk Orchestra and the world-famous Gipsy Orchestra. The 5 members of the Folk Orchestra play authentic, traditional instruments and perform Hungarian folk music at its highest artistic level. The famous Gipsy Orchestra plays both dance accompaniments and performs alone. Their rich repertoire includes folk music which inspired Hungarian and international classical composers such as Liszt, Brahms, Kodaly and Bartok. Aside from its performances around the country and abroad, the Ensemble gives approximately 90-100 annually performances in its Corvin square theatre, in the Budai Vigado.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyable!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I went to the folklore dance show to celebrate our anniversary. The show included a variety of dances from different Hungarian regions, the dancers were passionate, energetic and a joy to watch and the traditional attire was all very lovely and colourful. We completely enjoyed this insight into the local culture.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alana-the-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    27
    9
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Performance at Place des Arts in Montreal, Qc, Canada”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

beautiful choreography by a genius, faultless transitions, no visible hiccups, punctual, emergetic.
It was nice to have CD's and DVD's available.
Would have liked to get a program explaining the different dance and music styles.
Would have liked an opportunity to meet the performance backstage afterwards, but a guard told me there was no acces to the backstage unless I was to meet a particular member of the group, which was not the case.
I hope this group can be part of the Mondial des Cultures, held every August in Drummondville, QC, if it hasn't already.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Performace! Not to be missed!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

What a delightful performance and well worth the money. The dancer's were exuberant and very skillful. A treat not to be missed! The dancers were enthusiastic , skillfull and very energetic with beautiful traditional Hungarian costumes performed in a beautiful theatre that was easy to find; about 7 minute walk from Danube River.and dancing. Really worthwhile! The price was reasonable and the production professional.
The theatre website was fabulous as well to work with. We were a large group and they went out of their way to accommodate us in everyway. All of us really enjoyed the performance and would highly recommend this performance to anyone visiting Budapest.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mariburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I am glad I did not listen to some of the reviewers! This was outstanding . The dancers were young, energetic and talented. The musicians were talented and performed classical and local music with no written music and to perfection. We could not have asked for more. It way surpassed anything I or 5 friends expected.

Helpful?
Thank harthamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CAlifornia, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Major disappointment”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I'm not sure who was representing the Hungarian State Folk Ensemble in tonight's performance, but they were really not good at all. The DVD that was playing on the screen outside the auditorium both before and during intermission showed a wonderful group. That was not what was performing on stage. These 12 dancers were aging and exhibited very mediocre technique. I am a choreographer and specialist in folkloric dancing and I know of which I speak. The performance was terribly repetitive, lacked energy and personality and variety. The musicians were somewhat competent but lacked any performance flair. The female vocalist sounded and looked exactly the same in every song. Since others have remarked upon how good this show is, and the DVD playing showed skilled performers, I wonder if the fact that it was October meant that the first string performers were gone and we were getting what appeared to be about the fourth string. Sad… I was really looking forward to this evening.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Joan5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarian State Folk Ensemble also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarian State Folk Ensemble? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing