We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical, average”
Review of Hotel Bara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bara
Ranked #139 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Typical, average”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We spend several days in Eastern Europe, staying in three hotels during that time. The Bara was the least of the three-but was adequate for sleeping, which was what we needed the room for, and was relatively inexpensive. Our biggest concern was the lack of air conditioning, which in late July became somewhat of a problem. Opening the windows at night provided some relief, but since there was no ventilation, it was minimal. Our room was basic. Two beds, two chairs, a dresser. There was a TV but it did not work. I'm 6'3" and the shower was very small for me. The bed was nice-on the hard side, but good. I liked the large, feather pillow. The duvet took some getting used to-there was no top sheet. The entire hotel was not handicap accessible. We had a significant amount of walking and climbing stairs in order to get to our rooms. The elevator was only large enough to accommodate two people at the time. There was secured parking under the hotel-the gate was kept locked at all times, and a staff member opened it when you needed to leave. The breakfast was probably a typical Eastern European meal, certainly not American. Macaroni and cheese with hot dogs on the buffet? We also ate at the restaurant one evening. We were the only people in the restaurant, but it took quite a long time for us to receive our food. When we got it, the food was fine. One of my pieces of luggage did not arrive at the airport with me, but the staff helped with the situation, even going to the extent of calling the airport and inquiring about it. I found the staff pleasant, some people spoke better English than others, but one of my traveling companions was fluent enough in Hungarian that it did not matter. Here's the bottom line. If you are used to a Hilton, a Holiday Inn; any of those luxury or semi-luxury places, you will NOT appreciate this place. If you are satisfied with average accommodations typical of Western Europe, things will be fine. Simply don't have high expectation compared to hotels in the US. Were I to return to Budapest during a different season, I would be perfectly satisfied in staying at the Hotel Bara.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    27
    74
    31
    30
See reviews for
27
56
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Stayed at the hotel Bara for four nights with my wife and elderley parents on a sight seeing trip to this beautiful city. Alarm bells began to ring when the taxi from the airport dropped us off at the hotel Bara, but looks can be deceiving. Not this time. The hotel is very basic & uninviting, & in our experience the majority of the staff were unhelpful. i.e. We came in one evening & asked for drinks at the bar (20 minutes before the bar was due to close) & were refused. The barman then proceeded to close the bar while we stood there! Breakfast was very poor every morning with a very limited choice. We got all our help & advice from the hotel Charles just over the road, The staff here were more than happy to help with our queries, even though we were not staying there. They also had an excellent restaurant in pleasant surroundings, & they served drinks until midnght. (Hotel Bara bar closed at 22:00, & no evening meals were available during our stay). We bought Budapest cards from hotel Charles which allowed 72 hours travel on trams, buses, & the Metro system, which we found to be an easy way of getting around the city. Rooms at the hotel Bara are basic. One good point however, is the location of the hotel. It is on a regular bus route into the city centre & provides easy access to the Metro.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zedbee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Berkshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

We didn't expect much; we were only staying for one night and it was cheap BUT, there's cheap and there's Hotel Bara. After a route march and climbing many many stairs both up and down we eventually reached our room. There was a tiny lift that made several "disturbing" sounds and was just a bit bigger than a telephone box. Room for one and one bag only.

The room was very basic and I don't think it has seen a paintbrush since the Russians left in 1990; the sheets were clean but that's it. The TV didn't work and you had to use the key to lock the door on the way out and to secure the door from the inside for overnight. No tea or coffee making facilities. Could have easily been a Barracks or Hospital or Prison in a former life...and the Bar closed early.

It's a long way to the other side of the Elizabeth Bridge where the City Centre begins. The road is noisy and in constant use by all manner of traffic. The location is not enhanced by the Mambo Club strip club just a few yards away. Okay if that's what you've come to Budapest for but not for us.

In short, think Backpackers in the middle of nowhere and then deduct 3 stars. That's about what we got.

  • Liked — The Exit and there was some natural light overlooking a building site and many roofs
  • Disliked — The Hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timetraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis Minnesota USA
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2008

This is a great little hotel with a great big plus in service. Attila, the person at the front desk for most of our 2 day stay was so helpful. He spoke and understood English quite well and never seemed impatient or stressed. He answered all our multiple questions and gave us good advice. The room was very adequate and comfortable. No air conditioning. With the window closed there was zero street noise. A nice buffet breakfast was included. Not in the main area but easy transportation. Must buy bus/metro tickets in advance, not available on bus. There is a lovely restaurant down the street, a beer garden next door and a shopping mall within reasonable walking distance. There is a bank about a block away also. JUDY

  • Liked — the value and the front desk person Attila
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Our flights were delayed by a few hours getting to budapest and even though we weren't expecting 5* comfort, getting into the room at 2am was a real disappointment. We had booked a double room but had twin beds with a large gap in between them, the decor was very uninviting and even though we were not facing the road you could still hear cars driving by and more importantly almost every other guest stomping around their rooms. Not wanting to bother with changing rooms at that time in the morning we left it and managed to change to a double the next morning.
The double room was much more comfortable but being on a main road meant that we did not get a good nights sleep for the 4 nights we were there. The hotel is way out of the main city centre and even though we didn't mind walking the first couple of days it got a real drag after a while.
We were very pleased to be moving on after 4 days.

  • Liked — relatively cheap
  • Disliked — The Noise!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Newport123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and hated it.

Rooms were basic but clean. Didn't mind this too much, but what I did mind was the rudeness of the reception staff.

They did very little to help with enquires.

Whereas the hotel across the road to the Bara (Hotel Charles) couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

Avoid this hotel and book a room at the Charles hotel instead.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2008

The Hotel was very clean, rooms were adequate, warm and the shower was excellent. Thin walls meant you could here pretty much any noise in the near vacinity. Breakfast was ok but different, none of your bacon and eggs.
Quite a walk into the city although its down hill, a bit of a struggle on the return, it is on a bus route so not to bad. Staff very helpful, Hotel ok but if a special occasion, worth spending more money

  • Liked — It was warm, good shower
  • Disliked — A bit out of the way
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellersunited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Atlantic Hotel
#246 of 334 in Budapest
213 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#159 of 334 in Budapest
473 reviews
Hunguest Hotel Millennium
#192 of 334 in Budapest
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
594 reviews
Hotel Gloria
#238 of 334 in Budapest
216 reviews
Hotel Classic
#262 of 334 in Budapest
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bara

Property: Hotel Bara
Address: Hegyalja ut 34-36., Budapest 1118, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Gellert Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bara 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bara Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing