We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh...my...God!”

Victor Apartment Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Victor Apartment Hotel
Ranked #213 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Romania
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh...my...God!”
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This hotel is awful! I booked it because it had a cheap price for convenient location, but... this kind of deal (almost) always comes with strings attached!

What was satisfactory:
- the price
- the distance to metro
- the proximity of West End mall

What was bad:
- the building has a distinct ghetto feel
- the furniture is old, the bathroom is scary and barely functional
- while the old receptionist's English was minimal, his bored attitude of "take it or leave it" was annoying

What was unacceptably bad:
- the breakfast is a bad joke (quantity and quality wise)
- the street is noisy and/or the walls are made of paper! there is a bus station exactly in front of the hotel. The noise of the electric bus doors was so loud (especially early in the morning when I desperately needed sleep) that for an instant I thought the damn bus has the station on our hallway!
- the so called "hotel parking" is an even worse joke. It's just a narrow alley that they call parking. You must consider yourself lucky not to scratch anything.

I would never go back to this hotel. I'm sure there are other decent hotels for the same (or a little more) money to make your stay pleasant. The city of Budapest is wonderful and it's a shame to stay in a 1 star hotel rated otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bono-The-Fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tullamore, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2009

I booked this accomodation because of its location and access to loacal transport. I wasn't disappointed in this respect but the room we had was dingy to say the least. The lights in the hall didnt come on until you were half way down which was a bit scary at first. The room was basic to say the least. The bedclothes were well worn and faded. The tv was a 14" portable set with 1 english channel. Breakfast had to be pre ordered the day before and was minimal to say the least. If you just need a bed for the night then accept it for what it is. I reckon a 1 star would be more accurate...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaygeeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casteau
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2007

Asking for an apartment or a room for 2 adults, a 16 year old and an infant, we have got a confirmation for a triple room in this three star hotel with 24 Hrs reception, guarded parking, Breakfast included, Money Exchange, room service, Laundry, Sight seeing, rent a car, fax,, pets allowed, transfer service, shower, satellite TV, air condition, phone, minibar, cooking facilities,, microwave oven, Hair drier, internet connection, room safe and 110 V outlet too (or so the webpage stated)...
The sad reality brought us into a small smelly room where maximum two persons could breathe normally, with bed sheets which looked and smelled like if 90 years old ill people were intensivelly using them untill death. I leaned over the window and saw that only some of the rooms were having air conditionning equipment hanging out the windows, but I didn't hear any working at all. Our room didn't even had that equipment installed anyway and the August temperature was not promising any chilled dreams. While checking-in, the receptionist (an old sleepy person which managed to give us the impression that he might understand some words in english) made it clear that it's compulsory to fill-out a sheet of paper with some choices for the next day's breakfast and he also warned us that the breakfast was to be served in the room at any preffered time, wether we liked it or not. After getting settled down a bit, we discovered that the pictures that we have seen on the hotel's web page were made by a photo magician who made the rooms look bigger and a lot of detailes were also missing in reality (green plants and paintings/pictures hanging on the wals, bedside night stands, lamps, decent curtains, a vaze with flowers, air condition control panel...). I feel the urge to mention again the smell! Terrible, horrible... It made me think of everybody's sake and I ended up "sleeping" in the car, leaving more air for my son, wife and nephew.
Of course, the "guarded parking" was only a fenced yard with a locked gate, where you could see, hear and smell the dripping pipes from bellow the building forming an artificial small lake, possible source of infestation. Anyways, next morning I woke up and went up to my familly, right in time to receive what it looked like a few food articles taken fugitively from a shop in the neighbourhood. Next, I only remember taking my familly away as soon as possible, after making desperate efforts to have another old receptionist understand that I want to pay and get away from there.
So remember: if you want to experience a hell of a smelly and sweatty night, being charged as for a nice three-star-hotel-room, go to this... place and don't blame me for not warning you all!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cleanliness and smell
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Objectiv_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Wien
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2007

Had working aircondition, fridge and cooking facilities, tv. Good public transport, underground station and busstop nearby. Also westend shopping center.
Good for the price, 3-star in London is much worse.
Not all rooms have balcony, NO WLAN (wlan was the main reason why we chose this hotel).
Did not accept credit card, Hotelname is "judith" on breakfast order sheet. No hotelname outside on the building.

  • Liked — A/C, Balcony, fridge, galley kitchen, good public transport
  • Disliked — no WLAN (although they claim to have it), only accept cash, communication problem with concierge. not interested in helping guests
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drummergirl04
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2007

This hotel was absolutely horrible. The breakfest was awful, the beds weren't comfortable and it was far from clean...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank drummergirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

This apartment hotel was rated a three-star hotel when we booked it. If you are looking for a three-star hotel, do NOT stay there.
The hotel might have been awarded its three stars on account of the amenities it lists (e.g. microwave, coffee maker, equipped kitchen, blow-dryer, in-room safe, etc). However, these appear to be a sham. We found that the safe didn't work, the microwave would have had to be moved to be connected, the mattresses sagged badly, and the entire equipment was old, worn and cheap, to name a few inconveniences.
Room service was bad, actually virtually inexistent. We could tell that someone had been to the room and emptied the garbage, but the room was not cleaned. Our towels were not changed even once during the entire time of our stay of eight nights (even when we put them on the floor). (We do not mind reusing towels, but we would have liked to have them changed when we put them on the floor as we assumed is the custom in a three-star hotel.)
Also, our reservations were confirmed for a rate in euros, but the hotel could allegedly not charge credit cards in euros. The cost for our room was thus converted from euros into florint, the Hungarian currency, at an unfavorable rate. We felt that this was not honest.
If you don't mind if a place is shabby and old as long as the price and location are alright, this might work for you. The hotel's small en-suite rooms are old, everything (furniture, towels, linens, dishes, etc.) is cheap, and the building style dates back to Hungary's pre-EU times. Breakfast is included in the rate, which could be considered an advantage. The hotel is located close to the metro stop "Lehel tér", and there is also a bus stop in front of the building.

Helpful?
5 Thank Freiburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san juan, pr
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2005

We (2 persons) stayed at the Victor Apt hotel during april, 2005 for three nights. Got the room earlier than check-in time after an overnight train from Prague, which was very good. The room was as offered/expected, no air cond but was not necessary; kitchen and everything else in working order, very clean, good size for 2 persons, lots of storage space. Beds were bunk-beds, with foam mattresses but my back had no problem with that. Very quiet, our room was in the back of the building on the 5th floor. The bathroom was somewhat cramped, had a problem with the exhaust, smelled a little and I hope it was ours. Front desk accommodating, speak english, bkfast generous: they give you a list to choose from when arriving. The lobby and halls need a little work though, they look old, used and stark. The neighborhood is very urban, middle class, looks safe and clean, 5 min walk to the Lehel ter metro station, a bus stop just in front. Westside city center 3 block away. Would stay there again.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
15 Thank Pitias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#95 of 334 in Budapest
5,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victor Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victor Apartment Hotel

Property: Victor Apartment Hotel
Address: Victor Hugo utca 25-27, Budapest 1132, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Victor Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Apartment Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing