We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal for your money”
Review of Veritas Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Veritas Hotel
Ranked #238 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I was packpacking in Budapest with my sister so I was looking for something cheaper with breakfast. This hotel is situated just 3 minutes away from the metro station, to the center it takes 10 minutes by metro (line 2, red). Eventhough we booked the smallest room, there was plenty of space. Our room was clean, room service wasn't exellent, but it was OK. Breakfast was normal, enough food even for the "late" ones, pleasant stuff. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I would not recommend rooms 201, 301,..., because they are situadet just next to the elevators and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peanutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

Convenient location (nearby the Keleti trainstation and only 5 stops from Budapest center), but the service is rather bad. Towels didn't get cleaned during our 3 day stay, and when we asked for new towels eventually and new toilet paper, the receptionist wasn't really responsive. He just left and apparently did it and walked off without saying a single word, really weird.

The room itself was ok but a but cramped for two people and not cleaned properly. The shower head was dirty and didn't work properly (it fell down all the time) and there was a strange smell coming from the toilet, that also didn't flush properly.

The breakfast was pretty nice, with scrambled egg and some fresh melon in addition to the normal breakfast stuff.

The personel was pretty strange, grumpy and non-communicative. I don't think I'd come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S Maria Magdale... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Having stayed at the Veritas a couple of times before, I had some expectations. This time, some were met and some were not.

The location of the hotel is convenient, a couple of minutes walk from either tram 1 or metro M2; the latter brings you downtown in about ten or to Keleti station in a couple of minutes. Be aware of the early last trains though, at about 23:30; after that night buses or a taxi are the only options. The area itself has a convenience store that's open late and some pubs as well as the stadium, but not much more than that.

My experience is that the Veritas' staff is quite helpful, and although many have only a basic command of English, they do their utmost to help. Checking in and other procedures were therefore painless. However, the really early checkout time of 10 AM is a minus that is out of line with other hotels.

This time the room was on the top floor - an attic room with a double bed that was really small. During my previous visits I've always enjoyed larger rooms than this - being one person I coped, but I do hope that this room isn't used as a double despite the double bed. The storage space was also quite limited. Upon arrival the room was acceptably cleaned, but with room for improvement (which hasn't been so the previous times): Shower head lying in the shower, some hair and dirt here and there as well as a couple of other issues. Nothing big, but a slight disappointment.

Breakfast is rather good, and includes the possibility of enjoying it outside. The choice of dishes is OK, as well as the choice; the only minus being only one or two kinds of bread.

In all, my previous stays were better than this most recent one, but nevertheless I enjoyed the stay and would come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tvmtvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a lovely hotel.
Very clean and the staff were very polite and helpful.It is a bit out of the way from the main city centre, but the metro was just 5 mins walk away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billiejean39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

If you want to go to a show at the Papp Laszlo Arena, this hotel is ideal.
It has parking both in front and rear, private, and garage.
There are two elevators.
A Subway station is at 100 m.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaby_stec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Very good position near Ferenc Puskás stadium and nearby metro station.
Good rooms, good breakfast, private parking. Veritas Hotel is proper for people who want to visit Budapest in 2-3 days.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camelia_balan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Ok hotel, with quite good location, three metro stops from Deák Ferenc tér (central square) on the red line. The service was good, but breakfast is poor.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nightfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
1.8 mi away
Szonyi Hotel
Szonyi Hotel
#129 of 334 in Budapest
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hid Hotel
Hid Hotel
#223 of 334 in Budapest
117 reviews
1.7 mi away
Matus Hotel
Matus Hotel
#217 of 334 in Budapest
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#245 of 334 in Budapest
192 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lucky
Hotel Lucky
#259 of 334 in Budapest
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#115 of 334 in Budapest
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Veritas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veritas Hotel

Address: Mogyorodi ut 8, Budapest 1143, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #238 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $48 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Veritas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Veritas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veritas Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing