We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Budapest
Budapest Bike Tour
177 Reviews
from $32.30
More Info
from $31.10
More Info
from $64.50
More Info
from $25.30
More Info
Reviews (588)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveler rating
189
80
15
6
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
80
15
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wave pool margaret island family ticket thermal pools adventure pool margit sziget free lockers changing rooms massive complex fantastic pool kids and adults pool side wave machine a great place to spend great fun water jets whole family
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Palatinus has it all - the space, the fun slides, the beautiful and various pools, half day tickets, amazing ice coffees, good and affordable easy meals, children friendly and thermal. Open all year round but perfect for the summer. Go early if you want a lounge chair, they go fast!

Thank CelineP206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went there hoping for a good day, we paid the (higher) weekend price, only to know just 2 outdoor pools were open - one of which was a swimming pool, and 2 indoor pools were open. All of the other outdoor pools/areas were closed, but they blatantly charged the full fee!! We had visited Széchenyi thermal bath earlier in the week, and we thought we would get at least half the number of baths/saunas here as it was approx half the price - we regret going here. Should have paid the higher price for Széchenyi. If they have closed 80% of the pools, don't know how/why they charge the full fee. The quality of the pools is also really bad - they seem to use "A LOT" of bleaching agents. The smell of it hasn't gone away after 2 days! Disappointed. Never going back. Go to Széchenyi - definitely definitely worth the higher price.

Thank sindhunagquantel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I Visited the week after the summer season so some of the pools and the slides were closed but that suited me as it meant there were no crowds and I had the 40m pool all to myself. The thermal pools were lovely and warm and the fountain was beautifull. On top of this changing are was spacious and exceptionally clean. I highly recommend.

Thank HelgaJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We only went to the Palatinus STrand as an afterthought because our two daughters were deemed too young to go to the famous thermal baths at Szchenyi and the Gellert (the recommended age is 14+; ours are 13 and 10). We are so glad we did! This outdoor lido was amazing!

Set on the tranquil Margit Sziget (Margaret Island), which is an easy bus or tram ride across Budapest, the Island is a lovely place to visit in itself, with calm, leafy and picturesque walkways and virtually no traffic.

Once we’d navigated the changing facilities (we’d not paid for a private changing booth, just ordinary changing but were guided to the private ones anyway by our cashier, only to be turned back by another member of staff on arrival!). However, the changing facilities were new, modern, well-designed and well kept.

We then stepped out onto one of the nicest lidos I’d ever been to! It basically comprised six different sections: Water slides; a wave pool; thermal pools; the Adventure Pool – a pool with lots of seats, water jets and even a lazy river; and a pool which is more like an ordinary swimming pool but also has water jets.

My daughters were very happy to learn that the water slides were very quiet indeed, with probably only a dozen or so other people using them! As a result, there was virtually no queuing at all and we were able to have multiple turns! One fly in the ointment: the young staff who were supposed to be supervising them were not really doing their job. The young woman at the base was keeping watch, but the young man and woman at the top were either staring into their phones or chatting and not watching at all. Later my wife told me they were replaced by two young women – one busy doing her homework while the other was trying to have a nap! Clearly this needs to be sorted out because this is an accident waiting to happen – especially during busier days!

The wave pool was also really entertaining. At certain times, a siren would sound and then an announcement would be made in Hungarian and English that the wave pool was starting. Lots of people then rushed over to it and we were then treated to a good few minutes of frantic waves battering us around. However, it can get quite busy and you have to watch out for the people either side of you.

The Adventure Pool was also good, with lots of under and above water jets to experience, many of which can massage you as you sit on the seats. At certain times the lazy river is switched on in the centre of the pool and you are pulled around. This is also great fun – but there seemed to be no warning about when it was going to happen.

We also spent a short spell in the thermal pools and the other large pool – but our preferences were the ones I’ve mentioned above.

Overall, a very enjoyable day out, especially when the outside temperature is 32 degrees! I would strongly recommend at least a half day here, away from your hectic sightseeing schedule. Then round your day off with a relaxing walk around Margit Sziget and a meal at one of the small snack bars dotted around the Island.

Thank Mr_Zed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Very good place for visiting with geothermal steam bath. Some pool were closed under construction, but in general very good experience.

Thank RetsetA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Margaret island is wonderful, and this only added to the experience. The pools are the biggest in Budapest and it was roughly a fifth as busy as the main pool you'll see on here. The wave pool and slides are losed out of season, so bear that in mind. Nonetheless, a great day, cheap and fabulous location! There's a cocktail bar on site that we heard good things about, too. Recommended.

Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2018

Palatinus strand is an massive complex of pools, baths, and even water slides on Margaret Island.

Although you'll find it under lists of Budapest 'baths', it is not a traditional bath experience. It is much closer to being a Hungarian water park.

You will find lap pools, wave pools, heated pools with built in, underwater benches, and even several waterslides! It's a great activity for a hot summer day, especially with a family.

1  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

Really liked this set of thermal pools that are super convenient to get to by tram and bus being right in the center of the city. The large outdoors pool was very clean and the water just perfect temperature. The indoor pool was very large so there was plenty of room. I went at the end of the day and it was not crowded at all. Note they do not provide towels and it costs $15 to buy one but I dried of in the sun very quickly so it was not a problem. Interesting changing room that is very large and with no separation of the sexes, but when in Rome..... Overall highly recommend this set of thermal pools.

Thank louiscfl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

An excellent place to take kids with multiple pools, slides and activities. There were few loungers available so ensure you get there early.

Thank TVD316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

We visited on a weekday. Pretty quiet , you pay and get a wristband. In the changing rooms you use any cubicle to change , no extra cost for locker or to use a cubicle.
You can take a small bag into the pool area as there are small lockers again free to use and operated by your wristband.
There are lovely warm thermal pools inside and out for adults only. Plus a pool for lane swimming and another large pool for adults and children, also an inside and outside pool for younger kids. We loved it here and it's a nice way to relax after sightseeing.
Loads of free plastic loungers. Places to get fast food, alcohol and ice cream.
The whole place was really clean, lots of locals and all shapes and sizes. Very unpretentiousness and relaxing.

1  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews