We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Detailed information” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Jewish Museum (Nemzeti Zsido Muzeum)

National Jewish Museum (Nemzeti Zsido Muzeum)
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.83*
and up
Private Jewish Budapest Walking Tour
Ranked #97 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Detailed information”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We took the extended tour which included the synagogue, memorial garden and the museum. Enjoyed the synagogue but the tour seemed a bit rushed. Beautiful architecture though. Then decided to browse through the museum but were stopped by an elderly gentleman who wanted to give us the tour. He explained each dislay in as much detail as we liked and we learned a lot about the jewish culture, holidays and tradition. The tour concluded with graffic images of the holocaust and given that our guide is a survivor himself, we really appreciated him taking his time and sharing part of his life. So this really was more than the ordinary museum tour. Thank you.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mattalicja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    49
    27
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Its too expensive”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Too expensive. Prices of all jewish museums in Poland, added together, will not create price of ticket for this one. Cracow, Warsaw, Łódź, u will see much more for no money.

Helpful?
2 Thank Grzesiek O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manitoulin Island, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Jewish museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Guided by Eurama
Very interesting and informative .
Very old and beatifully preserved artifacts
Ist time in a Synagogue

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pearlymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Worth a quick visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Not a huge museum, but it is conveniently located next to the Synagogue on Dohany Street, on the site of Theodor Herzl's birth. It has what you would expect in a Jewish museum. I, and several people I was with, were very affected by a display of a dress and drum covers made out of prayer shawls.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RivaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
“Check out the archives”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

While the museum may not be anything out of the ordinary, the Hungarian Jewish Archives, located in the same building, in the Dohány Street Synangogue offer fascinating pieces of personal history (http://jewish.hu/view.php?clabel=zsido_leveltar) The Family Research Center is also located near by at Wesselényi Street 7. Multilingual, trained staff helps in collecting the genealogical data.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Jewish Museum (Nemzeti Zsido Muzeum) also viewed

 

Been to National Jewish Museum (Nemzeti Zsido Muzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing