We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place from which to explore Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This small hotel was a great place to have as a base to explore Budapest. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful with our requests about the city. The wine bar/restaurant on the ground floor was a perfect place to have breakfast and then unwind after a busy day of exploring. Public transportation was close by and convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mep51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 519 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

At the quiet end of the Buda castle area in a beautiful area sits this near perfect hotel. Its owners' eye to quality in every area is remarkable. We parked right outside in the secure castle parking zone. We were greeted by and served for 3 days by professional staff for which nothing was too much trouble. Our designer room was excellently equipped. We ate breakfast and dinner here. Each meal was delicious. The lamb I had was the best I have had since leaving the UK. The wine list leads you through some really interesting and unusual Hungarian wines and of course the knowledgeable staff can guide you. We shall go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahammari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Here are my positives about this outstanding hotel situated on Buda Castle Hill:

(1) Inexpensive for a hotel with great location and a 4-class feel
(2) Its attached restaurant is very good and very reliable.
(3) Its location by the Castle in Buda gives us a really exclusive feel about our stay in the city - above the hustle and bustle of Pest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I may like this hotel the best of any hotel in which I ever stayed. It is unique in its decor, with each room artistically rendered with an incredible eye to detail, down to bathroom fixtures and L'Occitane toiletries. My grown daughter and I stayed here two nights and three days in mid June and it was a place that we looked forward to returning to each night after our meanderings around Buda and Pest. In fact, we loved the food so much that we ate two dinners and a breakfast here--not usual for us. We like to experiment. The restaurants that are not evidently catering to tourists are few on Castle Hill, but the one where we ate the other night turned out to be also owned by the same company. It had a different decor and menu, but the same high quality. The Hungarian wines are amazing and both the hotel restaurant and Pest Buda (the other restaurant) provided a wide selection. Waiters were knowledgeable and guided our selections. We found that all spoke sufficient English to make communication easy. They were polite and attentive.
The staff at both restaurants and the hotel were what really made the difference. They not only were kind and helpful, but took the time to talk to us. The weekend manager felt like a friend by the time we left.
If I ever get back to Budapest, there is nowhere else I would stay.

If you want to be in the thrum of things, this may not be your choice, but the quiet of the Castle area after the tour buses leave was a perfect cap to a day in Pest.

Room Tip: Each room is different. Look at the website and pick one that suits your style. We had the "Sca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have been traveling for 3 weeks and WOW our room is the Best!

Designer decorating, bathroom with power shower....but best is the helpful owner and staff who answer our questions in English......get reservations early as there are only 11 rooms...no smoking hotel with luxury bedding and AC.

added bonus...great restaurant and wine, beer specialties with several generations of same family owner.

If you like birds singing in the morning while you enjoy breakfast.....this is for you! We will be back!!!!!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tashta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

First of all, Budapest is amazing! Don't bother wondering, just go. I stayed on both 'sides' Buda and Pest. And they are both wonderful. Baltazar is on the Buda side, and is great because it's on top of the palace hill, views everywhere you go. It's like an oasis, but a very groovy one. Great design, service, and experience. My room had a wonderful huge painting of women at market as the headboard to the bed. The bathroom was all marble and laid out well. I ate a few meals at the restaurant, and all were delicious. The service was also really impressive. Everyone was helpful & welcoming. You can't go wrong! Plus, if you love walking, the walk over to Pest is great, down through a park and across the bridge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cori c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I traveled to Budapest without a previous hotel reservation. By chance, we stopped to have lunch and loved it so much (food was great as well as service) hat we inquired about the possibility to stay over. They had one room left and decided to stay. The staff were all super helpful and also spoke great English which of course is always a plus. Definitely be back next time we travel to Budapest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,322 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,910 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 334 in Budapest
1,438 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,389 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel

Address: Orszaghaz utca 31., Budapest 1014, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda , Várkerület
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: $105 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltazár Budapest is a family owned urban resort located in the World Heritage hystoric city center of Budapest, the Buda Castle, within close range to all important sites and neighborhoods of the town. Centrally located, yet in a relaxed World Heritage neighborhood, surrounded by protected landmark buildings, important sites, national monuments, museums and the finest gastronomic establishments of the city.Baltazár is an "institution", a gastronomic hub: hotel, grill, winebar, winestore. Smart luxury design boutique hotel with 11 individually designed casual, yet luxurious rooms and suites with a strong focus on gastronomy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Baltazar Budapest - Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing