We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and nice Guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fanni Budapest Guesthouse
Ranked #68 of 191 Budapest B&B and Inns
Corsico, Lombardia, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet and nice Guesthouse”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The first impression before you enter can be quite bad, since the guest house is located in a old building.
But, once you enter the Fanni Guesthouse you change your mind! Everything is really clean and recently renovated.
The room (number 3) is small with 2 bed,a desk with a chair and a clothes hanger, on the contrary the bathroom is quite big with a big shower.
The mattress are really thin but are ok for me since i slept like a log after the long days i spent walking across Budapest.
The best part was the owner, Marton, a young guy, really friendly and helpful, always willing to give you some advice about the city but also to have some nice conversation.
There is also a small kitchen so you can have breakfast or store something in the fridge, (there are no pans or gas stove).
The location is really well served, in 10-15 minutes walk you can reach the center, or the metro station / tram stop. Several bus stops 100 meter form the Fanni Guesthouse but i never used it in 5 days.

The only odd thing was that you have to ask for room cleaning (they tell you that the first day), so just don't be shy and no problem at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    15
    5
    6
See reviews for
5
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Usually the word "guesthouse" causes a negative proposition- of a dirty packed up place that is about to crumble.
We were completely surprised by the Fanni Budapest Guesthouse – from the airport transfer that we pre-booked to the stay at the place itself. The place is clean and well taken care of. The owner, even though it was late at night, welcomed us with a complementary drink.
The rooms was spacy and well lit, private shower and toilet were clean with hot water running well and clean towels. Beds were simple but comfortable. The room was facing an inner courtyard, but was silent in the morning and the curtains were good enough to keep the light out.
The place is well located near the Kelety Train Station (Eastern train station) and is easily accessible by public transportation.
For a sleep over in Budapset – a clean bed, hot shower at a good location, I highly suggest the Fanni Budapest Guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the guesthouse for three nights in August. The guesthouse is located in 10 minuntes walk from Danube and can be considered as located in the city center. The owner Marton was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean and fresh, so we really enjoyed our stay.
Pillows were a bit funny and unusual but we were so tired after daily walks around Budapest that we didn't find them uncomfortable after all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asu1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 days for just over 100€. Remember it's a guesthouse and not a hotel, but it is nice, simple, quite large room, clean and calm.
During my stay there were 35+++ degrees and the place have no aircon, but it is in the backyard and therefore my room (3) was quite comfortable. The bed on the other hand was HARD, but since I had a doubble room alone, I put both mattresses on the top of each other and slept like a baby.
The hosts are 100% serviceminded!
Budapest is a large city with good publictransport, easy to navigate. The hostel can be reached from both metro 3 and bus 7 and 7A. For the metro it is a bit to walk since the place is in between two stations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AK S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
No photo provided
Planet Holiday Apartments
#177 of 334 in Budapest
4 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Hotel Elit
Hotel Elit
#145 of 334 in Budapest
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#137 of 334 in Budapest
518 reviews
Esprit Hotel
#13 of 191 in Budapest
109 reviews
Terézváros
Broadway Panzio
Broadway Panzio
#38 of 191 in Budapest
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fanni Budapest Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanni Budapest Guesthouse

Property: Fanni Budapest Guesthouse
Address: Rakoczi street 61, Budapest 1081, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 191 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fanni Budapest Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fanni Budapest Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing