We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Aszu Etterem

Aszu Etterem
Ranked #47 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: What can you expect at Aszu? We strive to be what we set out to be: a purveyor of modern cuisine that understands it's sources, while gazing out from Tokaj upon the world. Where the wine list offers numerous special selections exclusively to our establishment. Where service means painstaking attention to courtesy in every detail... Where the artistically carved and gilded wooden interior plays an integral part in the concept, that will make your evening an unforgettable experience. Have our efforts been crowned with success? Come and see yourself! We will be expecting you!
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were not terribly impressed with the food in Budapest so we were even more happily surprised by our meal at Aszu Etterem. Wonderful patio in the center of town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Vauled Guest,

It is always a pleasure for us to read such kind feedback. All the team is very happy for you had a great time with us! We sincerely hope, that there will be a second occasion for us, when we can prove again the quality, which will be beyond your expectations! I can't wait to meet you again!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,028
    376
    97
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great dining experience with traditional Hungarian food.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a Sunday night and sat outside. Even though it was busy, the service was quick and efficient and our food came quickly. We had the boar cheek and catfish on the recommendation of the waiter in order to try something completely different and the boar was amazing. They also had a large wine list and the Hungarian wine we ordered was really nice.

It's more on the expensive side but we felt it was worth it for the experience. Would recommend trying this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TBs_gone_wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your opinion here!
We are all very delighted that you had a great time with us! Guest satisfaction is our greatest reward - Thank you!
It would be a pleasure to host you again at Aszú Étterem!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant with nice food”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We decided to eat here given another restaurant we wanted to try was closed on Sunday nights. While the price for food is quite expensive ($25-$30 for main) we thought we would treat ourselves.

We ordered the boar and catfish main meals. The catfish was fine although lacked a little something. The boar however was delicious. We were given bread and they continued to ask if you want more throughout your meal which was a nice touch. We also were given a little paste thing which was delicious with the bread.

Service was good and waiters were nice to recommend dishes and wines. For two mains and a bottle of wine the price for two people was about $100.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rbbenno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your praising words. It is very nice to read that you had a great time at our restaurant.
Our aim is to provide excellence for our guests in every way. The staff will be happy to hear that you have appreciated their work.
I am looking forward to meeting you at Aszú Étterem, on your next trip to Budapest!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Creative Hungarian Cuisine”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My friends picked this place for dinner, and it was a great choice. The restaurant is very pretty inside, service was excellent, the was staff friendly and polite. I was curios about the food - seeing the prices on the menu. Nice surprise! Ok, the portions are rather small, but the culinary experience was worth the money! Very Hungarian in essence, but presented very creatively; you get this feeling that the food here is handled with care, knowledge, and love.
Well done Aszu, I will definitely go back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Csahos_Fenevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I am so grateful to read such a kind feedback! It is our greatest reward to read that you were totally satisfied with all the services which we provided for you. We strive to provide excellence in every way, as quality is our first priority. Thank you for pointing out our beautiful interior design.
We would be all very grateful, if you gave us a second occasion to host you, when you are next in the city!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelieveable!!!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was the best dinner we had on our trip to Budapest. The interior is ecclectic and beautiful. The staff was extremely professional, attentive, and gracious. The menu was creative and delicious. But if you enjoy unusual combinations of foods, you HAVE to go out on a limb and try this dessert: Lemongrass sorbet with stawberries and Blanched white slivered asparagus. I know I know, but you have to eat it to believe it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Etterem, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your experiences here!
It is always a pleasure to read such a kind review, your praising words made the whole staff very happy! Your satisfaction is the most important for us as it is our greatest reward! The chef will be very grateful, that his work has been appreciated. Hopefully, we can greet you again in the Aszu Etterem!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aszu Etterem also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Aszu Etterem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing