We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful experience”
Review of Aszu Restaurant

Aszu Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 3,459 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: What can you expect at Aszu? We strive to be what we set out to be: a purveyor of modern cuisine that understands it's sources, while gazing out from Tokaj upon the world. Where the wine list offers numerous special selections exclusively to our establishment. Where service means painstaking attention to courtesy in every detail... Where the artistically carved and gilded wooden interior plays an integral part in the concept, that will make your evening an unforgettable experience. Have our efforts been crowned with success? Come and see yourself! We will be expecting you!
Reviewed June 11, 2013

A modern Hungarian restaurant, with a wonderful and friendly service that welcomes you. A simple but elegant interior. The restaurant offers a very peculiar menu with some alternative combination of ingredients, but the food is excellent. Their "Duck liver cream with goat’s milk and white asparagus" was simply delicious. They also offer a very good selection of Hungarian wine and the personnel will advise you of the best combination for your food.
I really recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BP_EatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are all very grateful that you had a great time with us! Reading such a kind feedback is always are greatest reward. We can't thank you enough for you so much appreciated our work. I can't wait to host you again at Aszú Étterem!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,446 - 1,450 of 2,119 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

The restaurant was only open a few days when we were there. The menu is Hungarian, the staff and sommelier are outstanding. We do not know Hungarian wines but recommendations were made that suited our dinner and not from the highest price end of the wine list.There were four of us, each had separate dishes and all acclaimed them to be outstanding. This is not to be missed for high end dining in Budapest

2  Thank dick6645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your praising words!
I was delighted to read your kind thoughts about our restaurant. I am glad, that you were all in all satisfied with the service we could ensure you. On the other hand, I am sorry if your friend received one of the dish lukewarm. Quality is our first priority, and this is not the true reflection of the high standards we are very proud of. Hopefully you will return to us when you are next in Budapest!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Or first evening in Budapest. We were walking past this on our way bak from Margaret Island and liked the look of it. When we got home we searched online and realised it had only just opened but the initial feedback had been good so we booked. We were keen for a Hungarian experience.

The restaurant is beautifully appointed. The table and glassware were all in immaculate condition.

The menu is sold as a modern twist on classic hungarian dishes. To start we both had the duck liver cream which was very rich but beautifully balanced. Then we had the wild board cheeks which were amazing and the catfish - again a lovely light dish. To end I had he specialisty desert which was a sort of chocolate trifle with custard, very sweet but delicious. We tend to drink a glass of champagne when out for a special meal. There was not champagne on the menu but instead a selection of mainly Hungarian sparkling wines which were really lovely.

We spent 79 euros which included 3 courses each as well as two glasses of sparkling wine and a bottle of mineral water.

The only thing that we did notice that was slightly unusual was the average age of customers seemed to be over 50, not sure why this was.

The service at the restaurant was exceptional. The staff were knowledgable and attentive. I would definatly recomend this if you are after a special meal out and want an experience which is linked to traditional Hungarian tastes but with modern presentation and service.

    • Service
3  Thank JSter83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It is lovely to read such kind feedback! I am very pleased that you were so totally glad with every service we could ensure to you. Our chef and the whole team will be happy when I pass them your appreciation. Thank you for pointing out our outstanding wine selection too!
It would be a pleasure to host you again, when you are next in Budapest!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were at Aszú on its 3rd day. The staff were very friendly and it felt like they had been working together for a while. We liked the openness of the design and the menu. Many of the high end restaurants nearby require a set menu or fixed number of courses. Here we we free to do as we liked.
That made ordering food easy. Not having an in depth knowledge of Hungarian wines made that part harder so we let the excellent staff choose for us. The pairings not only enhanced the food, the variety and the details about each wine taught us about Hungarian wine.
The food was outstanding. The cream of goose liver (or something like that) sounded funny but was delicious. My wife's fish was best of the trip.
Get in soon, I expect that reservations will be hard to get very soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank HBGsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your praising words. It is very nice to read that you had a great time at our restaurant.
Our aim is to provide excellence for our guests in every way. The staff will be happy to hear that you have appreciated their work.
I am looking forward to meeting you at Aszú Étterem, on your next trip to Budapest!

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On our last night in Budapest, we ate dinner at ASZU a lovely place that we learned was new on the Budapest restaurant scene. We had a chicken souffle for an appetizer along with wonderful, house-made bread (cheese bread and a dark bread filled with black sesame seeds). Our main courses were a lamb on lentils and steak on potato puree. One of our friends had a chicken dish. The dishes were a wonderful blend of flavors and the chef was creative. The presentation was beautiful and the service was excellent. We decided to order one dessert for the four of us - dumplings made with cottage cheese with strawberries and sour cream ice cream. However, the owner insisted we try the chef's take on a traditional Hungarian dessert, Sponge cake dessert plate noble. I can't describe it except to say that it was super and if you have the good fortune to go to Aszu, remember to to save room for this house specialty. All four of us enjoyed the ambiance and the charm of the place as well as our wonderful dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Janet1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anita S, Owner at Aszu Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your positive words. It was nice reading that you loved the interiour. I was also delighted to read your kind thoughts about the meals. We will pass your kind feedback to our staff, they will be happy that their work has been appreciated.
It is our goal to make our guests feel as pleasant as possible and we can see this from your feedback. Guest satisfaction is our greatest reward - Thank you!
We would be delighted to host you in the future.

With kind regards,
Anita Sipeki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aszu Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Aszu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing