We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food. Excellent service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Evidens Bistro

Evidens Bistro
Ranked #174 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: A restaurant in heart of the city center where wonderful catering according to the old school can be presented. Where they cook in front of the guests. Where regulars need only to think of what he would like to eat and the chef already cooks it in the open kitchen. Where foreign guest see why the Hungarian catering and cuisine is the best. Where the elegance of the inner city is accompanied by affordable Hungarian reality. This is the place where the answers to all questions are yes and where meal is also a real event. In Evidens we can find perfect tastes, ample portions and state-of-the-art kitchen technology. Are you looking for a long time for the restaurant that you can enter and you feel like everything in its place, the atmosphere of the place, real serving in capital letters and the cuisine is exactly the way you like it. Because it is EVIDENT this way.
Alamo, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food. Excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Evidens Bistro last night. Our group had the stuffed cabbage, pork tenderloin and lamb filet. The food was excellent and portions generous. The wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable. We highly recommend it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    211
    89
    46
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Walked in off the street yesterday at mid day looking for lunch, and hoping for some traditional Hungarian favorites. Very large menu, staff was extremely attentive, no language problems. My wife had chicken breasts with dumplings(?) and traditional paprika gravy. It was wonderful. I had the stuffed cabbage, I was expecting one or 2 cabbage rolls and sauerkraut, what I received was two cabbage rolls, a pork cutlet, a grilled sausage, and lots of kraut. The combination of flavor sand textures was outstanding, I had some of everything, but could not eat it all. My wife and I could had shared my plate and walked away full. Prices were fair comparable to other establishments along the same neighborhood. Wonderful!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tour Manager was right.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had a weekend in Budapest in advance of a Danube cruise. Recommended by the local Tour Manager, this restaurant more than lived up to our expectations; the staff were most attentive, no language problem, food was excellent and inexpensive - added to by a very competitive exchange rate for the Euro. The restaurant was beautifully presented; crisp white table linen and sparkling glasses and cutlery. Other restaurants we tried near Le Meridien, where we stayed, came nowhere near - worth the walk to sample the delights of this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and welcoming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Recommended by the staff at Hotel Parlament for good Hungarian food, we really enjoyed the pepper soup and main courses, so much so that we returned 2 evenings later for our final evening in Budapest. The staff were really friendly and we felt genuinely welcome. Our only advice would be to have a light lunch ;)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Birthday Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our concierge at the Le Meridien in Budapest. The staff were SO friendly and helpful, and they totally suprised my mother who I was traveling with and it was her 75th birthday. The food was delicious, and the portions were very large. The waiters super friendly attitude and smiles combined with the food would make this a favorite if I was to go back to Budapest.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank staceylevasseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evidens Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Evidens Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing