We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising tucked away treat”
Review of Zeller Bistro

Zeller Bistro
Ranked #12 of 3,116 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: Hungarian home-style nouvelle cuisine, bistro ambiance. Limited seating, reservation required.Our Opening hours:Tuesday to Saturday: 12-15;18-23/ Sunday and Monday: closed
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Surprising tucked away treat”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

As you enter through a plain door and down a few steps in to the little bar, it's very unassuming. However, once seated the atmosphere is pleasant, the staff attentive and food delightful.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GaryKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,470
    649
    191
    29
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great quality family run restaurant”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This restaurant was simply great. We arrived without a reservation however; the staff were very accommodating in finding my girlfriend and i a table straight away. They explained their dishes and allowed my girlfriend to try their red wines which were made also as part of the family business. Upon arrival we were given some elderflower wine as a complimentary drink and at the end if the meal some cup cakes. The food was excellent and the atmosphere was very warn and friendly. The staff were excellent and the food was amazing. For the quality of food and service this place is mega cheap. I would recommend to all visiting budapest as it is easily accessible.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile de Madère
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We were a group of 14 French people...”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

... and we had a fantastic experience at ZELLER BISTRO. The originality of the place, the sympaty of his owner, the kindness of the whole staff, and the excelence of the food is one of our greatest memory from BUDA-BEST ! Thank you for such an enjoyable lunch ! We shall come back !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coralain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple restaurant with excellent food”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Zeller, Hungarian for celery, is the food we ate at during our week in Budapest and 75% less costly than the more expensive places we ate at which were not as good. We only wish we had eaten here more than twice.

Family or romantic date, you'll be well taken care of here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Dinner”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My partner and I dined at the Zeller Bistro when in Budapest on Oct. '13 and had a wonderful experience there. The staff were very attentive and pleasant, the food and drinks were delicious and very reasonably priced, and the atmosphere was just gorgeous. We would definitely return next time we get to visit beautiful Budapest. Recommended wholeheartedly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dantad1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeller Bistro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Zeller Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing