We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food okay service terrible” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savannah African Restaurant, Cafe & Music Club

Savannah African Restaurant, Cafe & Music Club
Ranked #2,403 of 3,044 Restaurants in Budapest
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Leeds, Uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food okay service terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We chose to go here because it was close to our hotel and we were tired but the experience was pretty disappointing. We were the only guests in there, the boy working behind the bar didn't seem to have a clue what he was doing and looked terrified when we ordered anything. Half the things we ordered they didn't have and we ended up drinking warm fizzy rose which I don't think was supposed to be fizzy! There was definitely some dodgy wiring and no ambiance (most of the time there was some terrible Disney programme on the TV and no music). The food when it came was actually ok but I definitely would avoid this place!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelScrabble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    3
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
503 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience in a long time!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had the misfortune of making a reservation here due to the fact we were given a gift voucher by friends for this restaurant. As locals of Budapest, we thought we'd give it a try. When we phoned to make the reservation we were told there would be a function with a set menu being hosted that evening so we had a choice of either settling for the set menu or choosing to have our own selection from their menu.

When we got to the restaurant, which is tiny and lacking ambience, we walked into the function proceedings which was most uncomfortable (we felt like gate-crashers!) and were ushered to a table for 2 in the dead centre of this function. We were then told that the set menu was our ONLY option. A menu for 6000Fnt.

We ordered "South African quality" wine which was not served in wine glasses. The first courses followed which consisted of measly cold deep-fried fish bited with a pathetic salad and luke-warm soup which was so spicy, your larynx started closing! No flavour whatsoever.

Once that was cleared, we were given plates for the mains. These were cold, oily/greasy and wet so we had to ask for another set! The mains then arrived which was a platter-like affair, and again, mostly luke-warm or cold, lacking-in-flavour un-African bland food. I'm South African & can make claim to some knowledge of African cuisine, and this is not it!

Needless to say we walked out, but before doing so had to pay 4000Fnt for 2 glasses of wine and a half eaten meal. If we did not have our voucher, we would have been charged 14000Fnt!!!!! An utter disgrace!!!

Do yourselves a favour, go eat elsewhere! Budapest is a city rich in cullinary culture - enjoy it by NOT going to Savannah

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Does not represent Africa”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Tried East african food. Sheer disappointment. I understand it is owned by Nigerians ... so may be stick to only West African and even more specific to Nigerian food. Otherwise a great disappointment. Ordered for Injera ... but what was served was some other thing which is not even close to Injera.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joewins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We had two fine rice based meals for about 1500 Forints (£4.50). The more expensive meals are 2-3000 Forints (£6-9) so it's really good value. The décor is bright and colourful, just what we needed on a very rainy day. The European football on the TV didn't add to the African vibe. The service was friendly, our waiter even talked me out of ordering a side as I would have enough with the main meal (he was right).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good Jollof”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We had a lovely african meal at the savannah, the prices were very reasonable and the food was very tasty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savannah African Restaurant, Cafe & Music Club also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Savannah African Restaurant, Cafe & Music Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing