We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base for exploring Budapest.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gifferson...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Budapest.”
Reviewed May 16, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Large, elegant Buda apartment located between Gellert Hill and Castle Hill near to Elizabeth bridge and ten minutes walk from downtown Pest. Well serviced by 19 and 41 trams. Very helpful and considerate host. The refrigerator was stocked with milk, bread and breakfast requisites on arrival. Quiet area close to Danube and Rudas Baths, not to mention all major sights on Buda side. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely place in a beautiful city”
Reviewed May 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

If you want a great place to relax after a hard day of exploring Budapest this is it!

Enormous rooms, a fully equipped kitchen, art on the walls, music and television and 2 bathrooms. We enjoyed the luxury of Marcus Levin's apartment in the Buda part of the city. A mere stones throw from the Danube river.. Public transport around the corner when needed and easy to reach by foot when crossing the Elisabeth bridge from the Pest side. The Danube looking magnificently beautiful in all kinds of weather so best come and enjoy!
Special thanks go to Mark Rimmell, the British extraordinary octogenarian on the same floor, who's amazing collection and stories kept us listening (and drinking ;) for hours. Thanks a bundle for entertaining us Mark! All the best to you and Sophie too... 'Till we meet again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoPlaces6...
1 review
“A confortable and well down flat to stay in Budapest”
Reviewed December 23, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

The location is great, near to the buses, tramways and undergrund. The flat has two nice bathrooms and the kitchen is well seted. There is a good heating and easy to use. Marcus is just wonderful and help so much to enjoy the stay. The conception of this flat is a bit english and a bit hungarian. I wish I will be able to come again.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2017
Thanks I do hope to see you again thanks for a great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H
Summerland, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A luxurious apartment in a lovely part of the city”
Reviewed June 25, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We visit Budapest regularly and mostly stay in the inner city, which is usually noisy but has the cafes and shops and easy public transport. It was a nice change to the Buda side which is quieter and less frantic. The apartment itself is facing an inner courtyard and the noise you get is from the residents. Although we never met Marcus (who lives in England), he was in many ways the most attentive host we have ever encountered; through his emails, instructions and arrangements, and above all, his art that fills the apartment, we felt we have come to know him. Inside the typically dark and somewhat rundown building, the apartment itself is completely updated, bright and spacious with high ceilings. The kitchen is modern and extremely well equipped, the two bathrooms are luxurious.
The apartment is close to several of Buda's famous spas and the newly rebuilt Castle Gardens, through which you can easily ascend (by lift and escalator) to the historic Castle District. There is also a new gallery, musical events, souvenir shops and a superb new restaurant (Bazaar Eclectica) - no doubt there will be many more. But there is a shortage of grocery stores and cafes nearby, and you would have to walk across one of the bridges or take a bus to do some real shopping. (The grocery store in the adjacent building was closed or under renovation, and the shop in the new Gardens is an expensive convenience store for the bus tours.
One of the real bonuses of staying in the apartment was meeting Mark, who lives on the same floor; he is a delightful English expat retired from the movie business and he has turned his place into a set cum props room. On the whole, he and Marcus have made our stay the most memorable we had in Budapest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amenities and location
Liked least: Not enough shopping or cafes nearby
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2016
Peter thanks for the lovely review, and no doubt see you again, it was a pleasure corisponding with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJJ100
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - location and ambiance”
Reviewed May 3, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We love this part of Buda (Tabán) and our stay there, in this wonderful apartment, was an extremely enjoyable one. The location is conveniently located: tram and bus routes operate nearby and the Castle District and the V. district on the Pest side can be visited with ease. It is also within a 10-15min. walk (along the embankment) from Batthyány tér, with its connections to the underground and HÉV - though a tram ride can also get you there, if preferred. As the owner's Budapest home, the apartment is in excellent condition throughout.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
filmex
Budapest
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“A perfect and safe environment..Perfect location.”
Reviewed April 19, 2016 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at Marcus apartment with my two girls 9 and 11 years old..It was the perfect venue on the Buda side surrounded by parks on three sides and the Danube on the 4 th..It helped that my uncle Mark lives nearby .
A quaint elevator means no trudging up the stairs with cases
It was a short walk to the Elizabeth Bridge and to the Chain Bridge...Also easy access to the Castle District..
I thought the kids might be bored but there are so many places to see even a childrens museum close by ..There is a river boat ;ok a river bus to a place for eating and relaxing..Get on and off like a bus...
I cannot recommend the facilities more highly .Parquet floors with two bathrooms .A kitchen with granite tops and a great sense of space.and light...
The shops , restaurants and cafes are mostly accross the river only a short walk..but only minutes away is a grocery store for the basic necessities..
The whole area has been renovated in the last three years with almost no traffic but a wonderful pedestrian street to the Neo classical Varkert river promenade.which leads you to the fernicular railway up to the Castle..
My uncle Mark who lives close by was a great help too..
For people of any age this is a great find and wonderful value for a mum on a limited budget..
The area has a great choice of health spa baths..almost next door is The Rudacs and about 10 minutes further to the Gellert ..
The trams. The Metro and the buses travel at all hours and it is safe for walking in the night time..
Enjoy Budapest ..This apartment made our stay so much more than just a short break..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the modern apartment
Liked least: Leaving !!!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annekam81
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The apartment, attention from owner, and location were all the best we could have wished for!”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Beautiful and unique apartment. It felt so large that we kept getting lost in it the first couple days. Perfect for three of us to have separate beds and spaces. Five or six persons could be quite comfortable. Artist owner Marcus supplied much information and arranged for us to each have a set of keys. He arranged for his neighbor Mark to meet us and give us the keys and a terrific orientation to the neighborhood. At the end, Mark arranged our taxi to the airport and was up at 3:45 AM to be sure we got off OK. We loved the location beside the Danube and near tram and bus lines, great restaurant Tabani Gosser a block away, and the fish treatment we had at the spa downstairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and attention from owner.
Liked least: The ensuite bathroom had a shower, but main bathroom had tub but no shower.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing