We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cakes and chocolates”
Review of Choco Cafe - CLOSED

Choco Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: The very best of dreamy-delicious premium chocolates produced by prizewinning Hungarian chocolatiers! Italian style coffee, ORGANIC 100% Arabica, Coffein free, & Balanced taste Robusta-Arabica coffees, locally baked croissants etc. Cafe house supply. Special Hungarian Cakes, Unique Wines, Fresheners. Child friendly
Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cakes and chocolates”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is such a nice place! It's really cosy inside and a must visit for every chocolate lover. There are lots of cakes, chocolates and hot chocolat milk to choose from. I've had the nutella cake and white chocolate milk with cinnamon and it was delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    20
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
292 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“divine”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

heavenly chocolates, cake and hot chocolate. right by basilica. staff friendly and nice amount of seating. huge choice of bonbons made deciding very hard. everything tasted delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dolphin60_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dessert H, Public Relations Manager at Choco Cafe, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear dolphin60_40,
you gained a lot of pleasure with your review for us. Thank you very much!
First of all we would like to thank for having made the choice of visiting our place.

We are very happy to read review like yours, because these feed backs are so important for us, as they confirmed us in our activities.
It is our pleasure if guest feels good at our place, and if someone write about it, that is very helpful. Every review is very important for us, but if someone who traveled and seen from the world as much as you are, than his/shies opinion means more support for us.
Thank you so much again and we sincerely hope that Budapest won’t be too far from Glasgow for you to come back and visit us once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best chocolate experience ever”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Our residence is in a Hotel near Hungaricum Dessert, and we have got welcome chocolates from the Hotel, which are delivered by Hungaricum Dessert. It was so nice, so we have to see it. Thank you Hungaricum Dessert!
They have approximately 200 types of fresh chocolate bonbons. You need a few days to discover. I have never seen such a stock, not even in Swiss, or in Belgium.
We tried 15 type from the actual stock, and it was fantastic.
Yes, out of the reality. The chocolates were all first class quality. (I must list them: balsamic tomato, wasabi, rose hip, lemongrass, terfezia truffle, anis-clove-cinnamon, lapsang tea, sechuan pepper, Jagermeister, plum palinka, unicum, tonka bean, extra pistachio, galangal) The tastes were so rich and unique.

The stuff was nice, the place not so stylish, but warm and friendly. We bought two bottle of premium wines which were also on the top of the line. The hot chocolate soup with a cream palinka chaser was a perfect catharsis.
Thank you again Hungaricum Dessert. This was our best sweet culinary experience in Hungary.
We definitely return to you time to time while we are in Hungary.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A place to return to”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We bumped into this place accidentally, and the wide range of the extraordinary flavour combinations made us curious to try some. In the end we could not resist spoiling ourselves with some afternoon treats and did not regret at all. :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prowler93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“keep us warm in the cold”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Came here after visiting the cathedral and Christmas Market nearby. A large variety of choices of different drinks, cakes and chocolates. If we weren't going to have dinner soon I would order more to try it out since it all looks very delicious on the menu. staffs are very friendly and were very happy to explained different drinks and cakes on the menu. I opted for the lavender hot chocolate as recommended by the staff. Very special drink that I had never have it anywhere before. It tasted very good too! Definitely worth visiting just to get yourself warm especially in the cold weather. And if you're a chocolate lover, this place is a must!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yanice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dessert H, Guest Relations Manager at Choco Cafe, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Yanice C,
thank you for your time to review us. Your words are very important for us, and we are very happy to read them.
It is our pleasure if our guests having fun with us. This is the main reason of our existence. We would always like to show the real experience of the premium chocolates if it is as drink, or fresh chocolate bonbon, chocolate bar, etc, and always try to hit our guest taste. We try to expose the differences between the poor and the high quality chocolates by our activity. And when it is succeed, than we are happy.
So thank you again that we were able to entertain you and hope see you next time to obtain more unique chocolate experiences.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Choco Cafe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing