We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect way to spend the week in Budapest”
other travelers have booked this property
Living room view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room view
Bedroom Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Living room view
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Living room
Living room
Living room
Living room details
Living room details
A fabulous stay in the Basilica Attic
Living room
Living room
Nespresso
Living room
Living room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
View
View
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2
Bathroom 2
Entrance
Elevator
Planimetry
Real night view form the living room: the Buda Castle
Building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Coastal69...
1 review
“Perfect way to spend the week in Budapest”
Reviewed July 16, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We just spend a fantastic week back in Budapest at the Basilica Attic - what a view! The Basilica literally right outside our living room window and the Budapest Eye outside our bedroom window. The area was safe and we could walk to almost everything or hop on the subway steps away from the apartment. The apartment was in fabulous condition. This is our 5th time renting an apartment in Europe on Trip Advisor. All the rentals have worked out great. Our host Michelangelo was fantastic. He reached out to us ahead of time to offer to help with airport transfers, met us at the property and explained everything including giving us great tips on where to go and where to eat - we used most of them and they were bang on. He followed up after a day to make sure we were doing well, texted us our departure info a day in advance and sent a nice thank you note after we departed. If we are in Budapest again we will for sure try to rent this apartment again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenh123
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant location and views”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This apartment is fantastic! The location and view of the basilica could not be bettered. The apartment has all the facilities needed for a very comfortable stay. Michelangelo was extremely helpful both before and during our stay, organised a taxi for us to and from the property. I had not realised how big budapest is! We stayed for six nights and still did not scratch the surface, so please do your research thoroughly before you go. Unfortunately my mum had died shortly before, so I did not get the chance to do this myself. I wholeheartedly recommend this apartment, and hope to someday return. Enjoy!

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarolH196...
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful apartment with awesome views and central location.”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We would definitely stay here again and tried to stay longer but were not able to. The apartment is nicely designed and furnished, it feels like a home and is just a relaxing place to be. We think it is the best place we have ever stayed on our travels. Because it is on the corner of the building it gets plenty of light. The views out the window toward the castle and Basilica are wonderful - just as pictured. The kitchen is well-equipped and there are cleaning supplies like laundry powder etc. We really appreciated the nice large towels and good supply of linen. We stayed for two weeks and cleaning was provided after one week. The apartment is very clean. The internet is fast and reliable. There is a charming old lift so you don't have to deal with steps with your luggage (also good if you have a disability or injury like me).
The apartment is central and on a main street so you will hear traffic and people, but with the windows closed the noise is muffled and did not bother us. There is a bus that stops by the Basilica which will take you to the Lukacs baths - which we recommend; these baths did wonders for my back problem. Other transport connections are very nearby as well. There is a big selection of places restaurants in the area - especially on October 6 street. The little grocery store downstairs in the same building is great and had really nice small csiga pastries. There is a bigger supermarket not far away

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marinus v
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“great location”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Very good location. Budapest a fun city to visit. Michelangelo was very helpful and informative. Very responsive to our needs. The only problems were a few infrastructure issues, ie air conditioning. Michelangelo aware and working on getting everything fixed. We would stay there again. 4 1/2 stars.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comeonyou...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb central apartment with fantastic views”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a lovely one week stay earlier this month at the Basilica view. It was clean and light and you could not wish for a better view or a more central location to explore all the main tourist attractions on foot. Micelangelo arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport and he is available 24/7 if you have any queries or problems. Happily, we didn’t. The apartment has good air conditioning (which we definitely needed as we stayed during a heatwave) and has a well equipped kitchen too. Michelangelo will configure the sofa beds as you want them. Our teenage son and daughter slept in separate double sofa beds in the living room, which is huge. We cooked most of our own dinners there as we are a family of four comprising two vegans and two vegetarians. The two bathrooms have skylight windows without blinds and can get very hot. After the second day I improvised a blind with a bath towel and it stayed much cooler.
We did find one excellent vegan restaurant which I can highly recommend - the Napfenyes. Not only did it prepare and serve a wonderful range of dishes, it was reasonably priced and had a superb jazz trio playing the second time we went there.
My tips. We got good value from the Big Red Bus ticket (given a 3 day family pass for the price of a 2 day by the nice sales guy from Wolverhampton) particularly the two river cruises. The public transport system is cheap, reliable and easy to navigate - make sure you get a family travel pass if there’s more than a couple of you. Don’t even think about hiring a car unless travelling further afield (roads in Budapest are pretty much gridlocked) and only hire Segways if you want to look like that ‘we’re not from here’ scene from Family Guy. We enjoyed the visit to the Memento Park, but it seems to be a Marmite thing in that you will either love it or hate it.
Finally, if, like my son, you want to watch a football match be aware that as a foreigner you need to take photo ID to the club first at least 24 hours before the game. We tried to watch FC Ujpest - the only team playing at home that weekend. We took our passports to the ground but found out the match was to be played behind closed doors in any case. The guy at the club didn’t speak much English but said that the fans had been ‘very bad’ at the previous game...

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SusiD1187...
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely well equipped apartment opposite the Basilica”
Reviewed June 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The apartment is perfectly placed to visit Budapest. Opposite St Stephen's Basilica it has a fantastic view of the city over to the Castle as it is on the top floor (with an elevator). Inside it is well laid out, very clean & thought has been put in to providing little touches that make a stay comfortable - the Krups coffee machine was particularly welcome!
We are especially grateful to Michelangelo as he managed to fit us in at short notice & responded to emails quickly. We definitely recommend this apartment & while we stayed for a long weekend it would also be comfortable for a long stay.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing