We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“young people hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of X Hostel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
X Hostel Budapest
Ranked #312 of 649 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
2 reviews
“young people hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

young and vibrate hostel.
Really chilling environment?lovely experience. Got what I expected. Nice place for young people and back packers?
Me and my friends stayed 3 nights in this hostel, and we had the best pub crawl the first day there.
Staffs are helpful and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Zhao C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    2
    7
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, there is a serious lack of signposting for this hostel. A tiny black bit of paper on the door (at the very top?! Weird) and even then the paper still has the name of the old hostel it used to be.

Weird things:
- no shoes in the hostel. If it was spotless then this would be understandable, but it isn't and my feet felt gross so I chose to ignore this stupid rule.
- staff sleeping in the dorms.

Cleanliness: didn't use the kitchen area but it looked very very basic and in Budapest it's probably easier and nicer/just as cheap to eat out. Rooms weren't that clean. Showers were okay, a lot of hair. This place definitely isn't cleaned on a daily basis.

Beds: terrible foam mattress and my boyfriends bed broke when he sat on it. Sheets were a bit stained but seemed clean.

There needs to be more than one small floor fan. Unbearably hot.

Atmosphere was pretty dire, wouldn't recommend this hostel when there are so many others in this great city. Some of the rooms look great, others are just bare minimum. Over all if you just need a bed for a night this is fine, but for a party atmosphere and a comfortable stay I would look elsewhere, the staff don't seem to know what's going on with anything at all.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Atkn93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

This is a fantastic hostel with a great vibe. I liked all the staff, the staff are also really good to go out with. The common area is comfortable and all the rooms are unique, what more could you want from a hostel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianKaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place is so good its my third time here and once again i cant stop extending, im still here!
Great chilled out hostel, this city is so crazy its nice to have somewhere to chill out after!
staff are friendly and helpful, common area is cosy, but not too loud so you have your own space, rooms are really cool. think i will be here for a while!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTeapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Very chilled and relaxed place with cool people, nice staff and very near to the centre of budapest!

I recommend you to go there when you come to budapest!!! It's good for meeting a lot of people from all around the world... it feels like home...

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

I cant rate this place any higher sadly because its not my kind of place to stay but may suit others. Its basically a party house with beds which would suit a young crowd who want to stay here to party and meet other people. The staff are really friendly and will always ask how your day is etc and help you find your way around, especially the blonde lady she is really helpful and polite. However im the exploring kind of person who likes to get up early and do things without the hangover, from my point of view: the location was great not far from many good spots :) the hostel itself i found quite dirty not as clean as im use to in hostels i felt even more dirtier wearing no shoes as peoples food attached to my feet from the floor this is the hostel rules no footwear! The hostel itself is quite grim alot of work could be done to make it better. It is a very laid back hostel and i felt relaxed, the staff like to drink more then there guests it seems and i think they live here :/ not really sure. The common room is a good area to meet others however you have to fit in to that party cliche they have going on with the staff that work there or you will get looked over! The smoking area is on top of the stairs which makes it look more un attractive to stay in,this could be improved. The showers and toilets i found dirty drains didnt get rid of the water quickly in the showers so you had to stand in the stale water and the floors constantly wet. The water wasnt always so hot. The bunk beds are uncomfortable and flimsy, it makes a creeking noise everytime someone moves so you wont get a good nights sleep, it would probably be fine if your so drunk and pass out. The bedding wasnt much good and didnt feel clean but they are made up for you ready. There are also no curtains in the room so you get blinded at 6am when the sun rises. The hostel doesnt look anything like it does in the pictures which i found decieving and thought i ended up in the wrong place at first and the name i booked it under was unforgettable nights but when i got here it was "x hostel". It also stated a good nights sleep, i have an early train to get in the morning at 4am and its now 10pm and the music still pumping and alot of drunk people. The reception is pretty much a table where the staff sit and do shots. The kitchen space is tiny and there isnt any facilties i didnt feel comfortable preparing food. There is music constantly playing all the time at stupid times. There isnt any consideration for people who want to chill out and sleep, i guess its great for people who want to party. I personally wouldnt stay here again as its not my scene but may suit people who want to spend there traveling time drinking.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emz91_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

The worst hostel I've ever stayed in Europe. The staff although well intentioned, do not have any preparation. The rooms are dirty, the bed linen is not changed, the toilets are filthy. On the last day, I could not even bathe. The staff seems to live in the hostel. When I arrived, their clothes hung in the room, it smelled bad. Run!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#99 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
Star Inn Hotel Budapest Centrum, by Comfort
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X Hostel Budapest

Property: X Hostel Budapest
Address: Rozsa utca 72, Budapest 1064, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 649 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — X Hostel Budapest 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
X Hostel is Budapest’s newest travelers CHILL-OUT HOSTEL, located in the heart of the city in the busy 6th district.Whether you are looking to party, relax, recharge, or meet other travelers, X Hostel Budapest is your destination of choice.Budapest is the gem of Eastern Europe that is popular destination all year round. In summer, Budapest is heavily traveled with festivals and events ever ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your X Hostel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing