We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, feel at home hostel”
Review of X Hostel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
X Hostel Budapest
Ranked #348 of 658 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly, feel at home hostel”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The courtyard of the hostel seemed intimidating at first but this is how most hostels in Budapest are situated. The hostel was very clean and had a home feel to it. Being able to take off your shoes at the end of a long day of seeing the city and chilling out in their big common room was very nice. Staff are super friendly and welcoming! Always asking me how my day was and suggesting things to go see and do. They just finished renovating the bathrooms and the hallway which looks really nice! I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    2
    7
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
1
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Positive note: Cameron was very nice. They refunded my money.

Negative notes: The hostel is a complete dump and I took pictures to prove it. There is a small white piece of paper in front of the door that has the hostel name on it. Once you walk through the door there is an overwhelming mold/mildew smell. A girl greets us at the door and tells us that there are no shoes allowed in the hostel. We asked her why the hallway was cold and she said it's bc they don't heat the hallways. FYI it was -8 Celcious outside. I only know that bc she kept saying that. Then we walk into the common area where they used the kitchen table to do our transactions. We looked around and nothing looked like it did from the website. The website said they had hot showers, laundry services and machines. What the website doesn't tell you is that there is limited amount of hot water(one shower), no laundry services or machines, very limited heating and the other two bathrooms are under renovation. Oh and did I mention that the bathroom ceilings were black from mold infestation? So is the entry and exit of the hostel. Sheets and blanket smelled like moldy and mildew. When I brought up the mold they looked at me like what mold? I don't understand the rating scale on hostel bookers or hostel world. No shoes? That place was disgusting. When she said no shoes I remember thinking seriously? Have you seen this place? I stayed one night and went back to Wombats. I woke up freezing my butt off. The Australian dude next to me wore all his clothes to sleep. I will never go back to this squat house.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SDJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We showed up about 10 pm and they had rooms. Really nice Australian staff - two guys. Can't say enough good things about them. The hostel was clean. Had lockers. Nice beds and showers. 4 toilets and showers however, one was being renovated. I took early showers so I had hot water but they did state that around check out time, the hot water may run out. The kitchen was nice and the common room was big. The wi-fi worked on my phone but I could never get it to work on my lap top. For one of the days, it was spotty at best. But the first day, it worked fine. The location is good. It is about a 5 minute walk to Oktogon square. The directions from the bus station were very good. Metro 3 to change to M1 Underground at the Deak Square and take to Kodaly Korond stop. It is a short 3 mins walk to 72. Rozsa street. There may be hostels that are really central, but it is pretty central. It is in a quite neighborhood so sleeping was easy. I am sure that you could find a party very easily but if you want to sleep, you can do that as well. Has a nice balance. If the wi-fi was more reliable, I would be excited stay there again. If I owned a hostel, I would hire the two Australian guys to work there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DONNA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riga
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The atmosphere is pretty good, but the rooms were so hot, so it was hard to sleep at night. I handed my laundry in to be washed and the next day when I went to check out, no one had done it. They offered to do it that day and I could come back and pick it up. I agreed. Big mistake. Not only was there a bunch on men's underwear in my bag, but at least 4 items were missing from my bag.. Which couldn't be located. Not happy at all.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The staff was excellent, rooms were clean, great price, fun atmosphere and good location! A ten minute walk to the pub crawl start, ten minute walk to the baths and lots of food options in the area. I'd definitely stay here again - we had such a great experience at X hostel. Thanks Cameron!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wonderful hostel, plenty of fun and new people to meet, really loved the staff and the nights out! Will definitely be back (soon hopefully!) Budapest is an amazing experience, thanks X Hostel for making it even better!

Room Tip: Dorms for socialising
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rip007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

OLD building n interiors. Place may be 'opened' last mth but it was formerly operating as Hostel Califonia Budapest so all the furnishings n outfittings are USED n worn out. Peeling paint, leaking showers, chipped furniture, dusty rooms, stained upholstery everywhere. Rooms are dimly lit n common room/ kitchen is EXTREMELY hot n stuffy. The smoking area is the stairwell leading to the hostel so one has to walk through a cloud of smoke to enter. Insuffient hooks in bathroom (ie NO hooks!) n nowhere to place toiletries while in the shower.
Only one power socket for each lower bunk bed so person in upper bunk doesn't have one. No personal reading light either. Only 1 pedestal fan which doesn't cool people sleeping in upper bunk which is awful in summer.
No footwear allowed in the hostel supposedly to keep it 'clean' so I guess they try. Staff organize activities every night so it can be good for single travelers to meet others.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,018 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#25 of 658 in Budapest
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#67 of 334 in Budapest
589 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#105 of 334 in Budapest
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to X Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X Hostel Budapest

Property: X Hostel Budapest
Address: Rozsa utca 72, Budapest 1064, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 658 Specialty Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — X Hostel Budapest 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
X Hostel is Budapest’s newest travelers CHILL-OUT HOSTEL, located in the heart of the city in the busy 6th district.Whether you are looking to party, relax, recharge, or meet other travelers, X Hostel Budapest is your destination of choice.Budapest is the gem of Eastern Europe that is popular destination all year round. In summer, Budapest is heavily traveled with festivals and events ever ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing