We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Spiler Original

Spiler Original
Ranked #241 of 3,204 Restaurants in Budapest
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Hungarian, Street Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Description: Bistropub offering high-quality street food, excellent wines and a wide variety of local beer served in a laid-back urban locale amid the courtyards of Gozsdu Udvar in downtown Budapest. Awesome electronic music played by DJ's between Thursday and Saturday.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hi Spiler!,

I could like to congrat you for the fantastic space created.

Last night we spent a very nice chating with some of my girlfiends. We were 7, did not make a reservation before, but the "maitre" was very helpful looking for a space for us even the bar was almost full. All of us are from Latinamerica then is/was usual to receive a service with smiling people, soft, easy going and that was that we found last night there. We felt really confortable. No issues!. (just the dessert a little bit tasteless) Good timing service, Nice wine, good body, taste and temperature (usualy here the wine is on the fridge no matter if it is Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Merlot... etc) I was surprised that even this detail you take care about it.

Please say thanks to your staff, (our waitress a lady with blond and short hair, did well too) and please keep up this service/ atmosphere level.

Budapest need more an more places with this standard, and not rude people giving bad service thinking that this is cool.

I wish you a long life!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    416
    404
    175
    66
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Like many restaurants in Ungary the food is a bit inconsistent in taste. Somethings are great (really great) but then you suddenly get something really tasteless or almost bad. Last time we visited I had the burger (which I didn't like because of the meat). My girlfriend had the tuna-burger (which she didn't like because of fishy taste of the tuna). However, everything else was so good (starters/drinks/ambience) that we decided to go back. This time we avoided these meals and we loved our visit. I love the sourdough bread and the pizzas. I had the ribs (great) and took the chèvre (ragu-something) for starter (wonderful). I really think the place is great and I will go back! Also I have to say that the service is great!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank poromaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good food @ atmosphear. Fast service an polite stuf”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very GOOD. cabbage !!
Good Hungarian beer and wine. The gulash was tender and tasty. On a Saturday night the place was almost full all the time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iany-erez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Quality food,great prices!! Lovely for lunch during the day,it nice and casual so not really suitable for a special evening meal!service is excellent and very chilled out pleasant atmosphere!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hurricane_Election
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing! fun and quality, the best”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Amazing! It's a bistro, a pub, a bar, a club, a hangout, a place for socializing, a place for people-spotting. Mostly locals, real people. Food is simple and great quality, yet ridiculously low priced. i had the most amazing juicy hamburger for 4,60 EUR! it beats anything i had from Paris, to London for 16+ EUR
They seem to be a fan of local microbrews as the place serves at least 15 of them plus may on tap. they also do cocktails and have a nice selection of wines all for some un-understandably low pricing.
There is a DJ in the evenings and he is some crazy-funky guy playing some really unusually great tracks.
Do not miss out when in Budapest!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zz013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiler Original also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Spiler Original? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing