We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Coffee Better People”
Review of Espresso Embassy

Espresso Embassy
Ranked #7 of 163 Quick Bites in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

Budapest is full of nice people and the people at Espresso Embassy are among them. This is an excellent place to get a coffee and pastry to start the day. It's quick easy and tasty. Or you can hang for a bit if you're having a slower morning. Beats all the chains.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Scapperdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

354 - 358 of 761 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Went in search of the best coffee in Budapest ...trip advisor delivers again! Great staff, great atmosphere, with the walk ...beautiful flat white!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank lhill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 27, 2016 via mobile

We went here for breakfast after reading some reviews. We were not disappointed! The coffees were delicious, as were the cakes. We had a Jewish cake (very naughty !) and moist banana bread. The only downside is that there were no savoury items available for breakfast but that is our personal preference. Staff spoke very good English and were laid back and friendly.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank sweatpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 25, 2016

Definitely one of the best coffeeshops in the city. The flat white is perfect but the cappucino could be better. The price is more reasonable in compare with another good coffeeshops. The only thing that is a bit wierd is that you get a flat white in the regular cup instead of a glass.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Krasnevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Tibor V, Owner at Espresso Embassy, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We always appreciate constructive criticism, and will pass around your comments on the cappuccino. We do strive for a rich foam and shiny foam on top, with at least 1cm depth, preferably more. But there is always room for improvement in terms of consistency!
Regarding the flat white, allow me to comment as a coffee lover to a coffee lover. It is true that in many places in Budapest, and beyond, the glass is the chosen vessel for it. However according to the only poll I read about the subject, in Australia and New Zealand the standard is indeed a ceramic cup. So while we respect personal preferences and embrace diversity in coffee, I wanted to explain our choice of ceramic. The rather entertaining poll can be easily found on the sprudge website.
We do offer a sister beverage, the double cortado. We serve it in a 160ml glass, with a double shot just like the flat white. Finally a third option is doubleshot latte in a singleshot latte glass, which may be similar to the flattie some of our friends are serving in other shops.
We're looking forward to crafting drinks to your preference in the future, and thanks again for the feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016 via mobile

Great coffee and nice desserts. I love this place which is in the heart of Budapest. Service was good

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Billie_Gin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Espresso Embassy also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Espresso Embassy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.