We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect steak at KNRDY”

KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar
Ranked #455 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: New York style Steakhouse in the heart of Budapest, near the Basilica. Proudly serving USDA Prime Black Angus cuts dry aged on premises, BMS 9+ Wagyu beef from Australia, Hungarian Mangalica pork, Bahamian rock lobster tails, Scottish salmon, Joselito Gran Reserva ham, etc. Our wine list offers beside the most important Hungarian wines an extensive selection of the world's most important wine regions.
1 review
“Perfect steak at KNRDY”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

One week ago in the KNRDY Steakhouse we had the best Tomahawk steak in town. It was cooked perfectly (crunchy outside and juicy inside). This steakhouse could compete with all the best American steakhouses I know. My beautiful dry aged bone in rib eye steak was from a USDA prime black angus beef, and I could pick it personally. The dinner was perfect, the only problem we had was, that they had only 2 kinds of our favorite wine, Malbec. I highly recommend this place and will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Urszan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    89
    46
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overbearing sales pitch and sharp practice!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

There is a clearly a difference between friendly and attentive service on the one hand and intrusive and overbearing attention by waiting staff. I am afraid that our experience last Saturday at KNRDY tended more towards the overbearing! Our waiter was clearly on a mission to elicit a high value order and rather overdid things by his regular and intrusive visits to our table. My wife's decision to accept his red wine recommendation ( and trust that this would be provided at reasonable cost) without any reference to wine list or price rather backfired at settling up time when the bill revealed a charge of 6000 HUF .... for 2 glasses of wine !!!
We found this sharp practise unacceptable and although the manager conceded our case and refunded the wine charge the damage had been done; the evening had been overshadowed by this unfortunate experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank indiansummer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoltan K, Owner at KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant. Also thank you for taking your time to write a review about us.
We are terribly sorry that you think 6000 Forints (20 Euros) is too much for two glasses (2x15cl) of high quality Hungarian red wine. Sauska 7 is one of the best selling Hungarian premium red wines. When the waiter recommended you that wine, the wine list was on your table. He could not think that you did not see the prices and this wine could be over your budget. We have a very extensive wine list and we are known for having fair wine prices.
As soon as my manager heard that you were not satisfied with the price of the two glasses of wine, she went to your table and removed the wines from your bill. More she could not do unfortunately.
Sorry that the incident left bad memories. I do hope that next time you visit us you will be satisfied with our restaurant.

Best,

Zoltan Konrady
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Fine Steak House, prices on the upper scale for Budapest”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Last week I have been at the KNRDY, since I read about it in the airline magazine.
In Short - the steaks are really great and I had the corn with it, which is really to recommend.
The waiter was attentive even though he tried to convince us 3x to take the most expensive choice from the menu - on food as well as from the wine menu, which we found very annoying.
The atmosphere of the restaurant is friendly.
The prices are on the upper scale for Budapest, so with two people you are easily going to make 100 eur + bill. I had the same quality food (no steaks though) for way less money.
Overall, if you are looking for a fine steak house, it is a good choice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thoelke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Steak House in Eastern Europe”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have to say the steaks here are good, service was great and the overall atmosphere is spot-on. I would have to say that Gaucho's in London is the best - but this is a close second.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mnw-rzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home,”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Budapest is offering many choices for dining, however having a good steak was always a challenge.
Simply over the years I just accept it, not even look for steaks during my frequent visits to the city.

So to my surprise, the place felt like an oasis for carnivores... The Billionaire burger as well as a straightforward New York strip was excellent ... from the sides; the corn as well as the Duck fat sautéed potatoes were great.

The location is business friendly and was convenient during our walks exploring downtown... Close to the statue of US Army's Brigadier General Bandholtz near Szabadsag ter, you just can't find statues of American War heroes so easily in Central Europe:)
KNRDY was also great as a watering hole, they even had my favorite Rose lemonade from the UK:)
The interior was pleasant and we enjoyed the people viewing through the large glass portals.
When you can feel the enthusiasm of the people surrounding you, you will leave with a positive vibe. We had that. I will be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowcloudx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to KNRDY American Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing