We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service beyond good”

Piszkos Fred Pub and Restaurant
Ranked #667 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service beyond good”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We tried to find this pub on our first night as it was recommended by the hotel, but were unable to find it. We got there on our second night and are so glad that we made the effort. The food was great, Goulash, steak and chocolate cake off of the set menu, although there is an extensive menu, something for everyone in our very fussy family. The waitress was amazing, she was on hand to give advice on the food and the wine, she was attentive although busy and she even laughed at my dad's bad jokes. If I were to visit Budapest again, I would definately find this pub again

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharons2941971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    39
    19
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were recommended to eat here by our hotel on a Sunday evening as quite a lot of restaurants are closed. It is down a side street and you clould quite easily miss it as there is a small entrance and it is in a basement. Very popular and it's easy to see why as the menu is quite extensive and caters for all tastes. The food is cooked to order and very tasty. The beer and vino complimented the meal and the price was extremely reasonable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris-rosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One soup is more than enough”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Great place on a sunday night when everywhere else was closed. Fast efficent service from anita. Snacks to meals. Sports or no sports the choice is yours in the restaurant. Not many sweets on the menu though.

Helpful?
Thank Benches50p
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“average food terrible service”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

if you want to run around asking for ketchup and check definitely go here. oh and partially warmed up "crashed" potato is a plus.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michellesyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delicious food at really good prices”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Can't believe this isn't higher on the ranking list. I think this is mostly down to few reviews. Mussels are gorgeous and about £5, about 8 different sauces for you to choose from. Salmon was also excellent and my partner had beef stroganoff which was equally as good. Not a large pub but well worth a visit for the food at unbeatable prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piszkos Fred Pub and Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Piszkos Fred Pub and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing