We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pastry I have tried in budapest-opened from 7am”
Review of Jegbufe - CLOSED

Jegbufe
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best pastry I have tried in budapest-opened from 7am”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Went to try their lovely cakes. For 185 c you can have the typical cake with cream.CHoice is great and everything looks very fresh from the day.Service is not the most pleasant but I guess it's tiring to explain all day all the different cakes to tourists like me
Recommend it as I found the quality very good in comparaison to everywhere around

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barbaraDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cake was OK but the service was poor”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

When we visited this place on a very sunny afternoon,we looked for a cool place as the name says. We entered a too warm pastry shop instead. My carrot cake was delicious, my girlfriend didn`t like her cake too much. I have been there the first time so I didn`t know the cahier system, the women let me know in a rude way.The neighboorhood is currently under construction so it is a double NO GO.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sztill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Delicious pastries and good cappuccino (not the best, but still very good). Moist cakes, ice cream, and light, flakey and fluffy pastries. A good mid-day treat or morning start!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We nearly missed this little "no frills" café because of major road works right outside. I believe this is where the locals choose to buy their cakes and pastries. There is some seating but it is more the sort of place where you drink your coffee standing up or buy something and take it with you. Incredibly helpful staff. I recommend the cherry and poppy seed pie.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank IsaSeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“TRY THE KAKAOS CSIGA!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best best staff here is the KAKAOS CSIGA specially when is fresh and still warm omg how delicious it is!!!
The POZSONYI DIOS KIFLI is the second best thing there and then comes pogacsa
Very old school place, staff is nice and you can see people getting up and down the bus:))
RECOMMENDED.
and please eat kakaos csiga here!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossettini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jegbufe also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing