We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Bus Tour”

Big Bus Tours Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.29*
and up
Big Bus Budapest Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #48 of 294 Tours in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The hop-on hop-off sightseeing tour of Big Bus Budapest immerses you in one of Europe’s most entrancing cities. Hop on for panoramic views of spectacular Heroes’ Square, elegant Andrassy Avenue and the magnificent Parliament building. Hop off to explore Margaret Island, the old Castle District, and discover Budapest’s hidden gems. Our hop-on, hop-off Budapest bus tours include a pre-recorded commentary, available in several languages. Blending fact, fun and fascinating insights, you’ll get a true taste of Budapest and its magnificent landmarks. Experience the city's charm from a different perspective as you tour Budapest at twilight. Our free Night Tour allows you to see the city's famous landmarks illuminated with beautiful lights in the evening. The bus ticket includes a Cruise along the Danube, offering unique views of Budapest’s Parliament Building, National Theatre, Chain Bridge and Royal Palace. Our free Walking Tours are led by knowledgeable tour guides, who will take you on fascinatingand fun walking tours on both sides of the city.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
“Big Bus Tour”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Friendly and helpful service. We were sorry the information was very limited as the depth and richness of the Hungarian history and culture is vast. Often the traffic was held up and we heard nothing while waiting to get near the next point of interest. It would be good if during these times extra recordings could be played, not adverts of other tours options.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zoe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    415
    200
    137
    116
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Ever Heard of Winter????”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have been on Big Bus tours in other cities such as Dubai and really enjoyed them but the same cannot be said of this one.

My biggest mistake was to book it online before we'd arrived and seen the vehicles that they used. We might have saved 4 Euros each by booking in advance but it really wasn't worth it.

The temperature was -2 as we waited for the first bus of the day and we were completely taken aback to see an open top vehicle arrive!!! There was no point in sitting downstairs where it was warm as you couldn't see anything so went upstairs and proceeded to freeze for 2 hours. I was so cold when I got off and tried to walk it was painful.

Having spent a couple of hours warming ourselves we crazily decided to inflict more pain on ourselves and to on one of the evening tours to see the lights which were advertised in the timetable we'd been given that day as departing at 6pm and 7pm. Thinking that there would be many other fools like us we turned up at the departure point in plenty of time for the 7pm trip but were surprised to find we were the only ones there. When the bus turned up we waited for everyone to get off the returning 6pm trip and were told when we tried to get on that there was no 7pm departure!!!! Ever heard heard of publicity Big Bus????

The second day of our 48hr ticket was slightly better but not much. This day they'd changed to buses to ones with a roof but no windows upstairs! Heating like on the other tour buses used by their rivals was not even installed so we'd gone with about 5 layers of clothing on just to survive intact this time.

We turned up for the 6pm night tour that evening which used the same bus which given that it was pouring with rain was a complete joke. Their answer was to give everyone a cheap plastic poncho which ripped the moment you made the slightest movement. Everyone got off wet and thoroughly miserable but were cheered but the sight of those stood waiting as we'd done in the pouring rain for the 7pm tour which wasn't running again!

If anyone is considering a bus tour of Budapest in winter I can thoroughly recommend it but not with Big Bus Tours! Wait until you get there and look at the vehicles being used by the other companies that have put some thought into the comfort of their customers and are enclosed with heaters that allow you to enjoy the experience. There are many sales stands all over the city where you can book them once you've made a choice.

If for some reason you still opt for Big Bus Tours don't say you haven't been warned!!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank BT0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cliffe Woods, Kent
Level Contributor
239 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Tour Designed our holiday”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

For us the bus trip set the schedule for our holiday. The staff were so helpful, the headsets were informative, the buses clean and driven at a leisurely pace to allow you to look around. As stated by a previous reviewer for £18.00 you have two days use, a night tour and a river trip - it was worth every penny. We used the bus tour to plan our visits and itinerary - thank you to all the staff - well done.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinG_53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Big Bus Budapest”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We used the big bus tour company Feb 2013 and really enjoyed the tours, for 6000 HF ( £18 ) you get two days hop-on hop-off open top bus , night bus tour and a river cruise.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the buses were clean and the headsets worked well with clear descriptions in English.

My only criticism would be that when we took the river cruise you can upgrade to include a buffet meal on board, However as soon as the door were closed on the boat and the food served all the windows steamed up and we could see nothing!! (See pictures)

I email'd the big bus company about this but never got a response which was a pity as this small problem ruined what could have been a perfect experience

I would however use them again but give the cruise a miss

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BigDrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazerp, General Manager at Big Bus Tours Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Hi
Thanks very much for writing a post about our tour. I am glad on the whole you enjoyed your visit to Budapest and felt our tour helped you see the city in the best way. Some how I did not get your original email about the negative side of the River cruise and apologise about that.
I have since contacted our business partners who operate the river cruise and we are trying to rectify the steamy window problem for the future.
Once again I thank you for your constructive feedback and hopefuelly see your back here in beautiful Budapest sometime soon.
Regards
Frazer Povall, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Give yourself plenty of time”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I concur with all the other complimentary reviews regarding Big Bus Tours, an international company. Just a couple of points to add:- plan what you want to see, and study their timetable beforehand; try to get on the first bus of the day (09.30 from Stop 1, Heroes Square) nearest to you, if you want to 'hop off' to visit any attractions. The last day-time bus (from Stop 20, House of Terror) is at 17.26 - I don't know where that takes you! During our visit in February, the frequency of the buses was every hour, which didn't give us much time. Even with the 'free' second day, it doesn't give much time if you want to do the cruise, which lasts about 1¼ - 1½ hours. Oh, and one last thing, most of the museums are closed on Mondays, as I found out, much to my disappointment!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LanmanWales_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Bus Tours Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing also viewed

 

Been to Big Bus Tours Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing