We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Italian restaurant”

Ciao Ciao Trattoria
Ranked #418 of 3,242 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $24
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good Italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stepped into this place just after 10 pm having been to the Opera. They told us they were shutting at 11 so after a bit of banter about how they would have to be quick we settled down to two pizzas, a risotto and a ravioli. The first three were by good, the pizzas were as good as any I've had in Italy. As others have pointed out - the ravioli was not so generous even though it was good.

Again as been pointed out there is a service charge included so no need to leave a tip. This is almost always the case in Budapest.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank markpjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    133
    38
    25
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No, Thanks”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Good place but WTH the "things" under the ceiling? We waited for a dinner too long. Ragout was full of small and medium pieces of bones. Pasta was average. My wife´s portion was too small.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mesi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had dinner here the day we arrived in Budapest. we had no idea where to have dinner and we stopped here with our children. The place was not very attracting and it seemed quite ordinary.
We had just Pizza and it was a surprise. The Pizza was real Italian Pizza, and you could jst be in a good Italian Pizzeria.
The service was very good and kind. The price is also good.
So everything is perfect if you wish a real Pizza in Budapest.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UDesideri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Couldnt fault the place”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my wife for a late lunch and a few drinks, upon arrival our very polite waitress showed us to our seat, she gave us a few minutes before coming back to take our drinks order. We then ordered our food which was absolutly beautful and very reasonable priced.
The service was very quick nice atmosphere and considering it was 4pm quite busy, i would definatly recommend coming here and its 2 minute walk to the opera and metro station

Helpful?
1 Thank scottemily
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The restaurant in well situated, The waiters were friendly, good english, The Food Washington great! I will recomand The restaurant!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CostacheElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Ciao Trattoria also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Ciao Ciao Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing