We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience in Budapest”

Caving Under Budapest
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.29*
and up
Small-Group Budapest Caving Tour
Ranked #2 of 34 Nature & Parks in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hungary’s capital, Budapest, is famous for its hot springs all over the world. Many people visit Hungary’s famous thermal baths, but only a few know that the hot water rushing up from deep underground created something else too. In the limestone mountains, under Budapest, the heated water formed a huge cave system, which is thought to be more than 100 km long. The spas and caves of Budapest are planned to be declared part of the UNESCO World Heritage. The longest cave of Hungary is the more than 30 km (20 miles) long Pál-völgyi-cave system located in the Duna-Ipoly National Park. It is a real multi-level labyrinth system with most of its chambers under the residental districts of Budapest. If you aren’t claustrophobic you can apply for our regularly scheduled cave tours which are guided by qualified caving guides. During the 2.5-3 hrs long tours you will often have to climb on walls and crawl through narrow passages so you have to be prepared for adventure. You will be supplied with overalls, helmets, and lights. You don’t need to have any previous experience in caving.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience in Budapest”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We did the adventure caving (3 hours of full-on wiggling through narrow cave entrances) and had a blast. Definitely wear shorts and a t-shirt or tank top underneath the overalls they provide, because you get really sweaty with the effort of getting around. If you have hiking boots, bring those, but if not regular tennis shoes will do just fine. I'm not super fit but do walk 20 minutes 3x a day and I was fine. Our guide was wonderful and shared lots of information about the caves and about Budapest in general with us.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stefanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    89
    18
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Must do and absolutely worth the money”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We chose the adventure caving option and it was the highlight of our trip in Budapest. Unlike what I expected, you actually get to do some amazing caving as you navigate through tight spaces. Although the website says suitable from 14-55 I would most definitely not recommend anyone who was unfit to attend this as many places are very slippery and there were many tight spaces.
If you take a camera inside, make sure it's at least waterproof as it will get very dirty (dust is everywhere and humidity is 100%).
Our guide was amazing and answered all the question everyone in the group had. We even had the option to take different routes depending on the preferences of everyone in the group.
Note that the meeting place for the tour is actually in the city center and you'll need to pre-book with your accommodation in order to attend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Olizhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“this is full on caving under buda not labyrinths as some seem to have got confused with”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

this is great,
full on caving with overalls and helmut light,
certainly not for the faint hearted or someone not physically fit.

i`m 44 and near the end of the recommended age bracket, however i walk over 20 miles a night in a physical job and i sweated buckets and the following day i ached in a few places with a few bruises to match so be wary.
we went in a group of 20 somethings and one of them really struggled, although a bit hungover.

some of the gaps are really tight although some have an alternative route, but a bit of wriggling and you are through albeit after a bit of a scary increased heart rate moment of getting stuck, panic attacks almost..

highly recommended though, go for it..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank martin_monaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent expreience”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This definitely was one of the highlights of our trip to Budapest....the tour itself was exciting and an amazing experience...and our guide was really good, had an amazing sense of humor and also gave a valuable insight about the cave...jus remember to wear full sleeve shirts and pants as although you will be wearing overalls u might still get bruises as you have to crawl in many places...highly recommended!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank husain111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“This experience rocked!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Loved every second of this caving experience (lies... Once or twice hating life because of slippery shoes - easily amended) but all jokes apart, this experience is truly something else. Best part, at each new step, you think your body cannot possible do what it's about to do, wrong. Absolutely wrong. Your body can and it feels great after. Tiresome and hands on experience, dirty I must say but so much fun. With a good tour guide and a great bunch of people, you are set to go for an experience of a lifetime, seriously do it! Do not underestimate the strength of your body. Enjoy the half way point (ish), the lights off and dead silence to enjoy the peace of an underground location so cut off from the rest of the world was beautiful!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dookheemaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caving Under Budapest also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Caving Under Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing