We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Evening”
Review of Hungarikum Bisztro

Hungarikum Bisztro
Ranked #18 of 3,160 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: District V / Inner City
Description: Traditional Hungarian Restaurant serving old fashioned Hungarian dishes following family's recipes.Open every day:11:30AM-3:00PM (LAST RESERVATION AT 2:00 PM!)6:00PM-11:00PM (LAST RESERVATION AT 10:00 PM!) Between 3:00PM-6:00PM is CLOSED! RESERVATION IS REQUIRED!
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant Evening”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We went for dinner based on the reviews on Tripadvisor and it more than lived up to the reputation! The staff were incredibly welcoming and attentive. Food was just great, the duck was fantastic and the goulash soup was the best we had in Budapest. The atmosphere was relaxed and fun, the wine was very good - surprised at the quality of Hungarian wine. A brilliant evening topped off with a shot of homemade plum Palinka! Highly recommended - be sure to make a reservation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brawnypompano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,831 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,102
    1,344
    293
    55
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional fare”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A great quaint lunch spot. Good value for the money and a lovely aperitif after lunch. Try and make reservations because it is a small very busy restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigi-N-Gage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I booked this restaurant on the strength of trip-advisor and it did not disappoint. A warm welcome from an all female team. A small but varied menu which was a good introduction into Hungarian cuisine for the uninitiated. The dumplings are more equivalent to gnocchi rather than the dough balls you would find in the UK and went well with the sliced sausage as a starter. My main course of pork loin wrapped in bacon was perfectly cooked. The restaurant also through in some free local bread and plum palinka (eaux de vie) as a pleasant added extra. The dry furmint and Tokaji 6 putts wines were perfect too. The place was busy and the man playing some pleasant tines in the background added to the atmosphere. All in all it was very good value at 7000 fr (£25) which was 3 courses, coffee, wine and tip per head. The lady who served us charming and attentive and recommended a few places to visit around the City. Excellent place!

Helpful?
Thank NeilRobertson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have always been surprised by the quality of the Hungarian cuisine and restaurants like Hungarikum Bisztro certainly contribute greatly to that reputation. My friend and I had a fantastic lunch in a great atmosphere. Definitely 5 stars! And unlike the awful owner of Ksipiac Biztro, the staff here were fantastic, friendly and helpful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Budapest”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This place is amazing, prices are very cheap, quality of the food is excellent, and service is just amazing. I went with a group of 4 people (MUST make a reservation) and we all enjoyed our diverse choices. Get the Hungarian appetizer, it comes with cheese, salami, and other selections, all very tasty.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patito8796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungarikum Bisztro also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Hungarikum Bisztro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing